We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I would like to return for a longer visit....”
Review of The Tides Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Tides Motel
Ranked #27 of 41 Hotels in Hampton
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
“I would like to return for a longer visit....”
Reviewed September 7, 2012

We stopped in Tides Motel on our way to Acadia National Park. Of course, i found it on TripAdvisor. I went early June and the price was excellent.

The rooms are clean, not updated-ish, but comfortable. There is a mini fridge, which is nice to have. The rooms are large. Ours had a bed and a pull out couch. It had a small table, chairs, and a large dresser. The bed was a bit on the hard side, but my husband's back did not bother him after sleeping the night as it sometimes does when sleeping on too firm of a mattress. The walls are dark and the lighting is not real bright, but the room is cozy. Clean too.

Parking is right outside the door of the room. it is kind of tight, but space is at a premium on this street.

We had a downstairs room and you can hear the people walking in the room above, but it was never bothersome.

The Motel is CLOSE to the boardwalk. It's just a two minute walk and bam! You are at the ocean. The boardwalk has many things to do. We didn't venture too far because when we were there happened to be torrential downpour that we happened to be following up the coast. I would really like to return to the hotel and the area for a longer than one night stay and spend some time in better weather.

Room Tip: If you don't like to hear people walking above you - just choose an upper room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bal1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    22
    12
    9
    12
See reviews for
22
30
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
St-Bruno-de-Montarville
1 review
Reviewed August 28, 2012

We just want to thank Sam, our Host, for our stay, everything was perfect and comfortable, the location is awesome too.

The difference between Tides Motel and the others is Sam! His smile and His kindness made the difference.

I forgot things in my room and He offered me to send them back to me in Canada and it is more than appreciated.

Thank you, Sam, again and be sure that next time I will book again at Tides Motel.

My appreciation for our stay?? 10/10!!!!

Mrs. Vu and daugther from St-Bruno-de-Montarville, Québec.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank korylou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonesport, Maine
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

This motel was perfect for what we were looking for, a girls weekend out in Hampton Beach. The beds were nice clean, we had a fridge and a microwave, and chairs and a table on the front balcony. The location was also perfect, just a block away from everything you will want to do, the beach, restaurants, and live entertainment. The front desk was very helpful and accommodating when looking for another hotel for our friends, got them a place. The only downfall of this place was the one parking spot, if we had had more than one car, we would have had to pay for parking. Also, our pull out sofa-bed was the worse three nights sleep I have ever got, take turns on that one. Over all much better than I had anticipated, my standards were not set very high for this place, but The Tides truly impressed me.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms have a much nicer view, and you get a little more privacy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
us
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2012

OK for a mini-stay; 4 of us stayed 1 night. Nice and close to the center of the action. Room and beds were clean - a bit dark due to limited lighting. Only had 2 sets of towels even though it sleeps 4 - but I never needed or asked for more. Nice to have the mini-fridge in the room - too bad we had to move our car and pay to park elsewhere the second day.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mandj T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolet, Québec
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2012

Nice place to stay for hampton beach. Loked both matresses, no bed bugs! bathroom clean, sheets clean...Near everything: kids playground, night movie on the beach, groceries, outside show, restaurants, shopping. Evething is about 5 minutes walking. As said many times, Sam at the office is very welcoming, accomodating and pleasant. We also enjoyed a balcony with 2 chairs and a small table wich allowed us to make dinner with our grill. BUT, if that motel was anywere else on the planet, you wouldn't pay 165$ /night for a two double beds. carpet was very dirty with a lot of stains. many spiders web on lamps, and corners...seemed like vaccum had been pass years ago! It smelled so bad in the room when we arrived, we had to ask for febreeze to maintenance, but then, it was ok. Again, for hampton beach , it was perfect for us and it was the cheaper motel being decent. If you are going to sleep and for showers and spending your days at the beach, go ahead, if not, go somewhere else for 200$/night and more.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melodie55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Thanks tide's motel !!!! great place it's in a very good location ... We loved everything the rooms are very clean ,excellent service we will came back next year !thank you for a great loved time ....

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deyvid e camill... R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor Locks, Connecticut
2 reviews
Reviewed July 9, 2012

It was located 1 block from beach/playground, perfect for children. rates were good, accommodations were dated but clean. In using our debit card we had an auth put on it, then at the end of our stay the card was run again for the whole amount! Had to wait 5 days for the
$500 + to come off! Make sure if you use a debit card they only charge for the whole stay once.
Sam at the front desk was very helpful and I would recommend this hotel to anyone that is budget minded.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hampton hotels
2.9 mi away
Hampton Village Resort
Hampton Village Resort
#11 of 41 in Hampton
84 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hillcrest Inn
Hillcrest Inn
#22 of 41 in Hampton
68 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ashworth by the Sea
Ashworth by the Sea
#5 of 41 in Hampton
898 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Nautical Motel & Suites
Nautical Motel & Suites
#29 of 41 in Hampton
135 reviews
0.1 mi away
Marguerite Motel
Marguerite Motel
#9 of 41 in Hampton
301 reviews
0.8 mi away
Breakers by the Sea
Breakers by the Sea
#16 of 41 in Hampton
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tides Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tides Motel

Property: The Tides Motel
Address: 95 Ashworth Ave, Hampton, NH 03842-3438
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Hampton
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Hampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — The Tides Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Otel and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Tides Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Tides Hotel Hampton
Tides Hotel Hampton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing