We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A great holiday cottage”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
8 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Caynham, Shropshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
JonathanI...
Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“A great holiday cottage”
Reviewed July 3, 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Arrived to find milk in the fridge, a bottle of wine plus some delicious home baked blueberry and lemon drizzle cake plus tea. After a 6 hour drive this was a great start to our stay! The cottage has two bedrooms. One bedroom has double bed and is quite spacious. Beware, the door closes with a bang! we left it open. The second bedroom has two single beds. The bathroom and toilet are downstairs. There is a Mira shower over the bath with the option for a handheld shower or an overhead drench shower which my wife loved. I prefer the handheld shower so we were both happy. There was plenty of hot water and loads of towels provided. This cottage opened in 2015 and so you might think things would be getting a bit worn by now. But no everything was in perfect condition with complete and matching cutlery and crockery. There is a TV, wifi, oven, dishwasher and a large fridge freezer. Everything was in immaculate condition and this is one of the best holiday lets we have stayed in. Added to that the owners Rob and Louise are extremely friendly and helpful. Be warned, however, using the grill can set off the fire alarm even if the extractor fan is on! Louise keeps the bird feeder full which allowed us to watch woodpeckers, blue tits, sparrows etc while we ate breakfast. Finally they have the friendliest border collie called Pip who makes you feel welcome and keeps an eye on you during your stay.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 5, 2017
We’re glad you enjoyed your recent stay at Stone House in Caynham. Thank you for leaving a review, it is greatly appreciated. We hope you think of Sykes Cottages again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorraine...
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Top notch property with character”
Reviewed May 24, 2017 for a stay in May 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Was welcomed with a tray with tea and cakes and milk in the fridge which was a great start after a long drive ,lovaly cottage ,well kept modern interior lovaly album of photographs of the renavation on the property,what a change ,loved are stay ,friendly dog pip who also welcomed us .owners also lovaly .

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Happy2Bre...
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Recently renovated and immaculately clean cottage on a working farm”
Reviewed April 9, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

The friendly owners left us a welcome gift of wine, milk, tea, flowers and cake. A good start to an excellent week in this delightful cottage. It was completely recently renovated to a high standard. Hence you get the benefit of a new bathroom with powerful shower (albeit downstairs), and a well equipped kitchen. It was immaculately clean and warm. Outside there is a pretty enclosed patio plus views of the fields and masses of bird life.
Quiet location on a working cattle farm (lots of calves born during our stay, but the busy farmers still had time to chat to us about their farm). Easy access to Ludlow plus numerous National Trust and English Heritage properties.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Super_Six...
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Gorgeous cottage, thoughtfully equipped - highly recommended!”
Reviewed February 17, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

On arrival we were greeted by the friendly and helpful owner and his adorable, immaculately behaved sheepdog. Inside the cottage, the wood burner had been lit, the heating was on, and a tea tray was set out for us with beautiful cakes. There was milk in the fridge, wine and fresh flowers on the table.
The attractive cottage has been beautifully renovated in a simple rustic style. The cottage adjoins the owners' home and is on a working farm. It is extremely quiet and the beds are so comfy... I can't quite believe how well I slept here (I'm an insomniac and can't usually sleep in strange places!) The cottage is very clean and well-equipped, including Wi-Fi, dishwasher, and a good size fridge-freezer (NB. no washing machine, but I think I read in the welcome notes that owners will do washing for you if needed). It sleeps up to four (one double, one twin).
Stone House is in a small village, not far from the attractive town of Ludlow. There is plenty to do in the area. I would not hesitate to recommend this beautiful cottage to anyone wanting to visit the lovely county of Shropshire.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jlnrees
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautifully Restored Shropshire Farm Cottage”
Reviewed January 24, 2016 for a stay in December 2015

Having decided to spend New Year in the Ludlow area (good for food and walking) we booked the cottage for its good website presentation and its reasonable rates.
Our arrival to a warm cottage (courtesy of a great log burner) and christmas cake and wine was met with pleasure. We found the cottage lived up to expectations, especially the open plan groundfloor and the attention to detail was much appreciated, particularly in the well equipped kitchen.
We loved the birdlife attracted by the feeder (haven't seen a nuthatch for years) and the oak tree gathered a huge flock of wood pigeons, squirrels and pheasants, all feeding together.
The owners' communication was first class (directions etc) and they have found a good balance between friendliness & respecting a holiday maker`s need for privacy (having said that, I really enjoyed the long chats with the owner on his way back from feeding the cattle.)
The area caters not only to walkers and foodies, but also to book-lovers who would enjoy spending an hour or two at Aardvark Books, Brampton Bryan, & there`s always Hay on Wye! We fully intended to visit Birmingham but found so much to do in the immediate area that we need to delay that destination for another time. The only downside was the damp weather so I think a re-visit is called for!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The comfort
Liked least: The rain
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincsgirl...
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely cosy cottage near Ludlow”
Reviewed September 24, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We are so glad we booked this holiday cottage. It is a lovely cottage set in beautiful countryside. It is situated on a working farm however the area around the cottage is very quiet. It was lovely to be welcomed with a tea tray with home made cakes, a bottle of milk in the fridge and a lovely bottle of wine. The owners are very friendly and welcoming. This cottage has recently been renovated to a very high standard by the owners, it is in excellent order throughout with a lovely woodburner in the lounge area. Everywhere was spotless. The kitchen is well equipped with a good double oven and electric hob, fridge/freezer, dishwasher and microwave. The bathroom is downstairs and has a really powerful shower over the bath. There are two upstairs bedrooms both a good size, one double and one twin. There is a pretty small garden with a picnic bench, and there is a bird feeder in the garden where we enjoyed watching the constant stream of blue tits, great tits, robins and even on one occasion a woodpecker. There is good parking off road next to the cottage. The road outside the cottage is fairly quiet and from the cottage you cannot hear the traffic at all. The cottage is situated just three miles from Ludlow and conveniently, just before you arrive in Ludlow itself, there is a very good park and ride service which takes you right into the middle of the town for about the same price as a short stay in a car park. Ludlow is a very pretty town and is well known for its foodie reputation and it certainly lives up to this with some lovely delis and restaurants also the Ludlow Food Centre which is well worth visiting. Ludlow is situated about twenty/thirty minutes from the borders of Herefordshire, Worcestershire and over to Powys in Wales and is a great place for sightseeing and walking. All in all a great place to stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beautiful cottage set in fabulous location.
Liked least: Very slight negative in bathroom downstairs
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sara G
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“What a treat!”
Reviewed April 13, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We loved the pictures of this cottage on line and were delighted to find that it was still available for our Easter break. We arrived late afternoon after a fairly long journey to find that the cottage was warm and welcoming - the wood burner had been lit, there was tea/coffee (milk in the fridge), home-made Easter buns and a bottle of wine on the table. There were Daffodils and other flowers in stone vases on the table and window sill. It was already clear that we were going to like this cottage a lot!!

We looked round the cottage and found that it was exactly as photographed (how many times have you arrived some where to find that the photos didn't somehow manage to tell the whole story?!). We loved the downstairs in particular; the open-plan living worked really well for us - we could cook, eat and relax in the same space. The inglenook fire and the bread-oven have their own lighting - in the evening we settled down to watch TV with the only light coming from the wood-burner and these lights - very cosy!! There is a full basket of dry wood on arrival, with kindling and fire-lighters too. Additional baskets of wood with kindling are available for £5 - a complete bargain compared to tiny nets of wet un-burnable wood from a garage!

The beds were extremely comfortable, with nice linen and bedspreads. Good quality (and in our case new!) towels were provided. The cottage has gas central heating controlled by a thermostat on the landing - we were warm at all times, and there was no threat of running out of fuel. There was plenty of hot water at all times - I know it's all 'small stuff' but we've been to places where these things couldn't be taken for granted and it made a big difference!

The Kitchen is well laid out with everything we needed to cook meals in the evening. In fact this was probably the best equipped kitchen we have ever found in a holiday cottage - there were even cutters - maybe some people are much more dedicated than us and make their own scones whilst on holiday!

The cottage is newly refurbished, everywhere is freshly painted and spotlessly clean. It felt like we were the first people to stay there (even though there are other reviews on the website we booked through). The cottage is situated on a farm and calves were born while we stayed! There are views of the meadows surrounding the cottage - although owing to the old-fashioned high windows, you can't see these once sat down!! The owners were very welcoming and friendly and gave us ideas for places we could visit.

In short we had a fantastic stay - we really loved the cottage and hope to come back one day!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing