We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tired & not Comfy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Town & Country Inn and Resort
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Gorham
Madison, AL
Level Contributor
109 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Tired & not Comfy”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Given its location, this resort is very reasonably priced. The service and accommodations, however, left much to be desired. Uncomfortable bed and linens, too few towels, a layer of dust on various surfaces in the room, dirty in-room coffeemaker, toiletries not replaced as needed, breakfast not included, very slow dining room service, very tiny in-room bathrooms, noisy heater and running commode. On the plus side, the apples in the lobby are a nice touch, and the meeting rooms are spacious.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ALALtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott L, Owner at Town & Country Inn and Resort, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Thank you for the comments. I would assume you attended a seminar over a few days here recently. If you found faults in your accommodations and our dining room, it would have been helpful to notify us and we would have rectified it immediately. Our dining room's breakfast menu is priced between $5.00 and $8.00, so we feel the price and value is more than reasonable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    131
    51
    35
    20
See reviews for
102
109
10
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
ASSARIA
Level Contributor
72 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2012

The hotel restaurant is a nice surprise - family friendly but classic in atmosphere. We had seafood that was well prepared and presented in a 4 star style. The room is comfortable with inside and outside access. Parking access and hallway access to the pool, arcade and exercise room is nice. The rate was very reasonable.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FourMoons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott L, Owner at Town & Country Inn and Resort, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Thank you for the kind words about your stay and our property. We are thrilled you enjoyed our dining room and the value we offer. We are family friendly because we are family owned and operated. We hope you will visit us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blairsville, Georgia, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 16, 2012

We stayed at the Town and Country Resort for nine nights in September. I am certain vacationing at this resort would be enjoyable year round. The setting is beautiful. We were very impressed by the services the resort offered. The staff was very friendly and met all of our requests. My husband hiked the AppalachianTrail for several days during our stay. I felt very comfortable staying there while he was away. Their talented chefs prepared incredible meals for us. We will definitely return next year. I already know what I want for dinner.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott L, Owner at Town & Country Inn and Resort, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Thank you for visiting us and we are so happy your family enjoyed your vacation here with us. We put a great amount of effort into our dining room and it is nice to hear positive comments.
We are also happy that you were comfortable here while your husband was hiking. We look forward to you visiting us next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2012

This facility presents quite well from curb appeal. The lobby, check in staff and general areas are quite nice. BUT--they have different levels of accomodations. Unfortunately, we arrived later at night and didn't know about the difference--nor were we told.

There is an ancillary building to the west of the main complex, and it is old, with no elevator, and hard to access. After 'lugging our luggage' up the flight of stairs we discovered a very old dated room, old TV, no chairs other than the 'hard backed' chairs at the desk. the most disappointing aspect was the quality of the beds. The heat did not work, we called the front desk and they "reset it" and after about 15 minutes the room warmed up.

The beds were the real problem, they were hard--we enjoy a harder bed, but this was beyond the limit. The bedding itself is very worn and old, some of it was torn and may have been in the place since the 1960's which must have been the vintage of the building.

The pillows need replacing, basically two really really hard rocks, and the towels are worn out. I don't know if this facilities other buildings are nicer, but you don't want to be in the 'far west seperate building'. BTW, the room we had was no less expensive than was any other room, so we didn't get some sort of a deal.

Breakfast was not included, but we did eat at their restaurant. It was just okay-- extra charge for 'real maple syrup' of $1.75 for a small ( 1 ounce +/- ) bottle. Rather disappointing policy on a somewhat pricey breakfast.

I think in the future we would stay in North Conway. Best advice, unless you really want to stay in Gorham, better to try to stay at the Royal Motel--in their new section-- or better yet stay in North Conway,

It is difficult to give much more of a positive recommendation for Town and Country in Gorham, NH. Sorry!

Room Tip: Stay in North Conway if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickshire
Level Contributor
127 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Having seen the website pictures we were looking forward to our stay here. When we arrived, the reality was something different. Instead of the bright, airy room with flat screen television shown on the Internet we were allocated a dark, chocolate brown decorated room with an old CRT set. It was even darker because the main light in the room was broken. Once that was fixed we could see to investigate the room more closely. The bathroom was not good, the woodwork was in poor condition, in need of a coat of paint and housekeeping had neglected to supply all the towels. The main part of the room was in better condition, (but why choose such dark colours in such a big room with little natural light?) though there was a lack of attention to detail, tops missing off switches, a backplate not properly attached.
The bed was comfortable and we had a good night's sleep, until that is, silly o'clock when the massed ranks of the bus party tourists were up and about, ready to be on the road when the first rays of sunlight peeped over the mountains.
The food was good value for money, a pity they could not provide any fresh fruit at breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank abcoldgit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 24, 2012

My husband is a golfer and stays at your facility every year. This year he and a friend decided to bring their wives back to your facility for a non-golfing adventure. We bought one of your package deals and must say we had a great time. I must say my favorite part of the whole visit was your food. We were very satisfied with all of our meals. The waitstaff were very professional and very friendly, even though gratuities were included we still tipped our waitresses because of their excellent service. The only complaint I have is that our bed was very squeaky! Thank you for making our visit a pleasant one!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank courtclerk1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
w
Level Contributor
48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Given the area (Gorham NH) and the quality of the room... The cost of $120 per night was pricey... $80-90 per night would have been reasonable...

Had breakfast each morning (not the buffet) in the restaurant... the food was good and the price was reasonable...

The really bright point was the staff... The young man at the front desk who checked us in was great... Very friendly and professional... Given his relatively young age, it was refreshing to see someone with such good people skills... The waitress we had each morning for breakfast was equally nice... very attentive and friendly... good at making small talk, just enough to make you feel welcome, but not so much that you wish she would go away... I would give the staff an A+

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vinca123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gorham
1.1 mi away
Royalty Inn
Royalty Inn
#3 of 7 in Gorham
445 reviews
2.1 mi away
Mt Madison Inn & Suites
16.8 mi away
The Inn at Thorn Hill & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Top Notch Inn
Top Notch Inn
#1 of 7 in Gorham
626 reviews
16.5 mi away
Omni Mount Washington Resort
Omni Mount Washington Resort
#1 of 2 in Bretton Woods
3,400 reviews
15.8 mi away
Eagle Mountain House & Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Town & Country Inn and Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Town & Country Inn and Resort

Property: Town & Country Inn and Resort
Address: 20 US Route 2, Gorham, NH 03581
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Gorham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Gorham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Town & Country Inn and Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Town & Country Inn and Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Town And Country Motor Inn Resort
Town & Country Motor Hotel Gorham
Town And Country Motor Inn Gorham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing