We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, and great staff.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Town & Country Inn and Resort
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Gorham
Reviewed August 8, 2012

We spent 3 nights in at this Inn, and were overall pleased with our stay. We found the Inn while trying to find a place, on the internet, to stay near Mt. Washington. We were pleasantly surprised with the Inn as we had driven past many other motels on our drive up that were in sad need of care. The grounds are beautifully maintained. The buildings themselves are old, but well maintained and updated. Great location for day trips to various natural wonders of the area.

We had an incident with our room when we checked in, but the manager (Tyler) and another employee (forgive me for forgetting your name) came in and rectified the situation immediately, and gave us 2 free breakfasts to make up for the error. We were overall happy with the room size, except the bathroom was quite tight, close to cruise ship tight.

The diningroom is affordable and the food off the regular menu is quite delicious. I had the ricotta cheese stuffed eggplant which was good in it's presentation and taste. If you eat breakfast there off the regular menu, spring for the extra 1.75 for authentic VT Maple syrup. It's worth it! With that said, the breakfast buffet left us feeling less than satisfied. The prepared too much food at one time, so when we ate, the food was dried out.

The highlight of our stay there was the staff. They did everything they could to make sure our trip was enjoyable, responding to our every request with a can do attitude, and a smile. You can not go wrong by staying here when in Gorham.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are quite large. Pick rooms toward road side for great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Johnny1262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (367)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

248 - 254 of 367 reviews

Reviewed July 25, 2012

No big name hotels in the area, but this one is very popular. We wanted to be near Mt Washington and this was just that. Ok, it's not the most updated place in the world, but it was clean, roomy, and everything worked. The property was well kept. The price was about half what we would normally spend somewhere which made us hesitant to book, but I look at it now as quite a bargain. The people there were very friendly and hometown kinda folks. We pulled in late at night and the fellow, Moh, was really nice as he checked us in and filled us with some local places to eat breakfast the next day.
If you need a place with 42" LED TVs, fancy furniture you won't use, or artsy things on the walls, pass on it. If you want a nice clean, friendly, comfortable, place to stay, pull in here. Trust me. If my wife liked it, it's got to be good.....really.

Room Tip: Lower level rooms are probably your best bet. There are several levels, but no elevators. The interi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bob K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

We spent two nights here while attending a softball tournament. Our room was dated but the beds were very comfortable and the view was incredible. The grounds are beautifully maintained. We stayed at another nearby hotel this past weekend and we said we wished we had stayed at the Town & Country again. A friendly small-town motel.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank State of Mainer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott L, Owner at Town & Country Inn and Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2012

Thank you for writing the review and we are happy you enjoyed our property, our amenities and were pleased with the value offered. We hope that next time in our area that you will visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

My husband and I stayed here with a small group of friends while we were on a sight-seeing trip. It was a very pleasant property located in a rural area where I did not expect to find such an attractive, scenic, moderately-priced resort. It is family-run. Our room was clean and comfortable with the added attraction of having a balcony where we could read in the warm summer evening. There is a very nice restaurant, and an indoor swimming pool. The food was good and there was plenty of it. The Sunday buffet had numerous choices, and was an unexpected treat. The waitstaff and dining room manager were very accommodating and courteous. This is a scenic, nicely maintained property which is family-owned. This is a good place to kick back and relax.

Room Tip: Get a second floor room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KayTee9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott L, Owner at Town & Country Inn and Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2012

Thank you for finding our property, enjoying the lodging, food and all that we offer. Comments, weather positive or negative are appreciated to help us offer a better experience to our guests. Thank you for taking the time to write one.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2012

My husband and I booked for one night based on a friends recommendation and were so pleased with the location, service and inn itself, that we extended our stay for another evening. The rooms are clean and comfortable, the location is relaxing and scenic and the on-site dining does not disappoint! We ended up eating at the on-site restaurant both evenings and the service was impeccable - lots of staff on hand (each with a specific job) and the food was fantastic; beautiful window view both evenings with a great server (Shelby). It was one of the highlights of our motorcycle trip and we stayed in five different locations over an eight day period - given this, I would like to dispute one posters comment regarding the price of accommodations; it was well worth the price we paid.
If you do travel to the area - be sure to stop by Welsh's Diner in town for lunch...fantastic food (with homemade bread) and great service; Ben was a great server during our repeat visits for lunches.
We will definitely be returning again!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott L, Owner at Town & Country Inn and Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2012

Thank you for staying with us and we are very pleased you enjoyed our hotel, dining room and the amenities offered. Thank you for also writing a positive review and felt that you received a good value for your money. We hope to have you visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

It delivers exactly what it promises as a motor inn, although it is much larger and cleaner than any motor inn I know. The rooms are in good condition and comfortable. Pricing is a bit high, but perhaps par for the area. Overall, staying there was a pleasant experience.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rexpig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott L, Owner at Town & Country Inn and Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2012

Thank you for staying with us and also taking the time to write a review. We are pleased that you were comfortable with your accommodations and hope that when visiting the area in the future, you will choose to stay with us at the Town & Country.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2012

Reasonable value for the money. The dining room was very noisy but the food was good. Struck as old fashioned. Had a cocktail waitress who would not get us water - she said she was the cocktail waitress only. Server was attentive once she got to us.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dmcHouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 5, 2012

Thank you for joining us at the Town & Country and submitting a review. We hope that you were comfortable with your stay. The dining room is an very important part of our resort and our service should be very efficient. We will continue to try to improve on our service to our guests. We are pleased you enjoyed the food.
We hope you'll visit us again when in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gorham
1.1 mi away
Royalty Inn
Royalty Inn
#3 of 7 in Gorham
545 reviews
2.1 mi away
Mt Madison Inn & Suites
1.7 mi away
Top Notch Inn
Top Notch Inn
#1 of 7 in Gorham
700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.8 mi away
Nordic Village Resort
Nordic Village Resort
#4 of 12 in Bartlett
514 reviews
2.5 mi away
Moose Brook Motel
Moose Brook Motel
#5 of 7 in Gorham
43 reviews
21.8 mi away
Attitash Grand Summit Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Town & Country Inn and Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Town & Country Inn and Resort

Address: 20 US Route 2, Gorham, NH 03581
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Gorham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Gorham
Price Range: $95 - $249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Town & Country Inn and Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Town & Country Inn and Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Town And Country Motor Inn Resort
Town & Country Motor Hotel Gorham
Town And Country Motor Inn Gorham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing