We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Basic but good” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Royalty Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Royalty Inn
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Gorham
Certificate of Excellence
McLean, Virginia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Basic but good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

Have stayed here for many years when in Gorham. Hotel is pretty basic, but the rooms are huge with two beds that appeared to be king size in our room. No breakfast, and no coffee machine in room, but coffee provided in lobby and was always ready by 5:00 a.m. Hotel has an outdoor pool, which was cold but guest may also use the indoor pool in the health club next door which is very large with lap lanes about 40 yards long. Easy walk to Mr. Pizza, which despite name is an all around very good restaurant with a full menu and daily specials which are a very good deal. Hotel has plenty of parking and is located right in the middle of town.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyaltyGorham_NH, General Manager at Royalty Inn, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We are considering some future changes to make your stay more enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    152
    55
    25
    14
See reviews for
165
102
26
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
mason
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

Every year, my wife, two kids, and I stay a night or two in the northern part of NH, Gorham typically. This year, we decided to stay at the Royalty Inn. There price is right around the same price as everyone else on this strip at $100. However, the difference between this Inn and other hotels in the area, is they offer an indoor pool and jacuzzi. This turned out to be invaluable! It rained and thrunderstormed while we were there and temperatures were in the high 50's and low 60's. The pool area was exceptionally clean and staff was very friendly!

We also ate at the restaurant attached to the parking lot, Boott Spur. Their food was excellent and reasonablly priced! I recommend eating there if you're in the area.

I will make this review short and sweet by listing the pros and cons

Pros:
1. Indoor Pool, Jacuzzi, and Sauna
2. Cleanliness of room and pool areas
3. Friendly staff
4. Reasonable rates

Cons:
1. Thin walls in the room allow you to hear the neighbors rather clearly
2. Could use an update in the rooms
3. Beds were not the most comfortable

Although the above cons are listed and don't sound appealing...I highly doubt you would be disappointed with a stay at this Inn and our next trip up to the Gorham area will most certainly include a stay at this Inn again and eating at Boott Spurs.

Santa's Village is about a 25 minute drive that includes only one left turn, the rest is straight. Also, if reading this and planning on going to Six Gun City, it appears they are closed. Which, trust me, is not disappointing. You'd be better off just buying a cap gun at Walmart and letting your children loose in a dirt parking lot, it's about the same experience and saves you money!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hilemanj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyaltyGorham_NH, General Manager at Royalty Inn, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Thank you for your visit. Looking forward to seeing you with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
walliingford, ct
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

I stayed at the Royalty Inn back in April of 2013. I was road weary when I arrived at the desk in the evening and was greeted by friendly and professional staff. This staff member seemed to intuitively know the exact room that I needed to get a good nights rest and the room was reasonably priced for my budget minded pocket. I was impressed with the cleanliness of the room and the Inn's facilities. I would highly recommend this Inn to all travelers. Even the maid service had smiles on their faces. To me this is a sign that this Inn not only pleases it's customers but is sensitive to the needs of their staff as well. I can not comment on the spa or the restaurant because I did not try either amenity.

Room Tip: Provide the desk clerk with information on the type of room you are looking for and ask the desk cle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank charlotte k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyaltyGorham_NH, Owner at Royalty Inn, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We have a great staff here and it is always nice to hear it from a customer. Please come back again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013 via mobile

The rooms are large and reasonably clean. The motel appears to have been updated. The one unusual thing about this motel is that the beds are very squeaky like the sound of two balloons being rubbed together. This is not a subtle noise. When one of us rolled over at night and woke the other one up in the next bed. Given the other choices in town this appears to be one of the better places.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Northerntraveler123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyaltyGorham_NH, Owner at Royalty Inn, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thanks for the feed back. I am not sure why bed would squeak but I will have maintenance look into it. Please come back soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, Maine, USA
Level Contributor
55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stayed at the Royalty in March 3, 2013. The room was a good size but decorated by a blind person. Amazing how boring the decor, you can call it decor. The price was ok, not inexpensive or expensive. The beds were comfortable, the small tv was hung too high for comfort but it worked as did everything else in the room. It is acceptable but I can't say it is a good value. No breakfast but they have an adjoining restaurant. We had dinner there. It was okay. 2 stars for that

Room Tip: See if you can get away from the restaurant side. They attract a lot of motorcycles or did that nigh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Donald L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyaltyGorham_NH, Owner at Royalty Inn, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you for your review. Sorry the room was not decorated to your taste. I hope everything work and was extremely clean. One thing I can not understand is your room tip. Were there motorcycles in March? Thanks again. I hope you try us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
46 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

Have always had a great stay at the Royalty (sorry for lack of review earlier.) The rooms are neat and spotless. The staff is very friendly. I am glad to see that they added a restaurant on the premises, you don't have to go too far and the food is awesome! (to serve breakfast at the new restaurant would be a great benefit!) One thought, if the rooms can accommodate you with a fridge and microwave, why not a coffee maker? It's nice that they have coffee in the lobby however going to the lobby in your comfies early in the a.m. isn't a highlight to the morning :(

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank paws28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyaltyGorham_NH, Owner at Royalty Inn, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thank you for your review. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Please come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carbondale, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

Had the opportunity stay there last week while moving my son to Berlin and was very pleased. The room was spotless and the staff very friendly. Asked for some extra items and received them quickly. Chatted with the owners and found them to be very friendly and knowledgeable about the area. We will definitely stay there again when we visit. One thing really surprised me is they have the world's best heating source, good old Pennsylvania coal!!! PS THE FREE COFFEE IS GREAT.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyaltyGorham_NH, Owner at Royalty Inn, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Thanks Jim for taking the time to write a review. It was great meeting you and showing you around the facility.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gorham
1.1 mi away
Town & Country Inn and Resort
1.0 mi away
Mt Madison Inn & Suites
16.9 mi away
Lodge at Jackson Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Top Notch Inn
Top Notch Inn
#1 of 7 in Gorham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
17.9 mi away
Nordic Village Resort
Nordic Village Resort
#6 of 12 in Bartlett
4.0 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
19.7 mi away
Swiss Chalets Village Inn
Swiss Chalets Village Inn
#2 of 3 in Intervale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royalty Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royalty Inn

Property: Royalty Inn
Address: 130 Main St, Gorham, NH 03581-1684
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Gorham
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Gorham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Royalty Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"White Mountains Best Value" 88 room hotel conveniently located in the middle of Gorham within easy walking distance to restaurants and other services. Guests have unlimited access to indoor and outdoor pools, Jacuzzi, sauna, racquetball, basketball, extensive weight room, Cardio room, game room and guest laundry. All guest rooms feature refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker and free WIFI. The Royalty Inn is close to all the attractions that make the White Mountains the ultimate vacation destination. Mt. Washington, Wildcat ski area, Tuckerman's Ravine, Great Glen Trails are only 10 min away. Storyland and Santa's Village only 20 min and Attitash, Bretton Woods and Sunday River ski resorts 30 min. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your Royalty Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royalty Hotel Gorham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing