We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Traffic & Train Noise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mt Madison Inn & Suites
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Gorham
Certificate of Excellence
Bellevue, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Traffic & Train Noise”
Reviewed November 19, 2011

We selected Mt Madison Inn based on Trip Advisor and were disappointed. Room was really small, and not well insulated. It is at the intersection of Hwy 2 and Hwy 16 with lots of trucks starting and stopping. There are train tracks behind the Inn and a train goes through each night, tooting its horn to cross the road. Our room was clean and the bed was fine. The internet worked well which is essential for us. This could still be one of the best lodging in town. We did appreciate the recommendation for Mr. Pizza which is a great all-around restaurant.

Room Tip: Some 2nd floor rooms--ask for 1st floor if that is an issue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GardenVisitor_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

951 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    566
    268
    71
    24
    22
See reviews for
411
274
51
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Greenwich, Connecticut
2 reviews
Reviewed November 6, 2011

Room was excellent! New beds! (Slept lilke a baby) Pleasant people, very helpfull suggestions for sighting Moose and day excursions.
We will definately come back next year.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chiefbrutus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2011

Room was basic but pleasant. Staff was extremely friendly. Close to shopping areas. We would definetly stay again!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelinMomma09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis Valley, Nova Scotia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 2, 2011

Room was clean, even though the bathroom needs to be updated, would stay again. I give this place A.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scotiajane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macks Creek, Missouri
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2011

Lovely little motel with nice hot tub. Very helpful when we asked, where to eat. Mr. Pizza was the best place on our trip. The name would fool you. They have everything. We had shrimp & fish. Was great. Be sure and shop at the antique store on Main street. The four of us loved this little town & the friendly people..

Room Tip: We had two bedrooms & they were a little snug, but ok.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank memerose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
673 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2011

One of the beds had a mattress about 6" thick and it was like sleeping on the box springs. The carpet was so dirty it turned our feet black. We could not wait to get out of there the next morning.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dil345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mtmadison, Owner at Mt Madison Inn & Suites, responded to this review, March 14, 2012
To the customer who complained about room 8?
You were absoulutly right about this room! I actually slept in this room for a night and agreeded with you!
So here's what we did, We completely Renovated this room from top to bottom!
All new Thomasville furniture, New Plush Carpeting, New light Fixtures, New oversize Mini Fridge with Microwave, New art work, all new Wall Treatments and best of all the door opens wide and freely with no obstruction!!
You had every right to complain and WE LISTENED!
Thanks for addressing this problem!
Ron Dagesse/Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2011

We chose this Inn as it was the tripadvisor #1 choice. Well... It began with the smell of cigarettes from the distant past, or was it mold?. the bathroom was, what's the word...cozy! Difficult to turn around in, but it had most of the essentials. that is until morning when at 8:00 AM I tried to shower, but alas no hot water! Mountain cold water is truly cold. The rather small room was filled with a king size bed that left little room for anything else although they had tried for more with a table and chairs that could not be used as there was no room to pull the chairs out. The walls were paper thin which alllowed one to enjoy the serenade of the passing transport trucks through the very long night. $320.00 for 2 nights, Nothing else available as this was a holiday weekend. If this is the best choice for Gorham New Hampshire, I would suggest moving on to Lincoln, or North Conway or Conway as the choices are much better.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mollie47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mtmadison, Owner at Mt Madison Inn & Suites, responded to this review, March 14, 2012
As to this customers response, We understand that we cannot please all people all the time.
We apolagize if you were unhappy with your room and would recomend that you notify our front desk at time of check-in so that we may address any concerns you may have with your room.
We understand we cannot please eveyone who stays with us, however if you don't let us know that you are unhappy with your accomadations at the time of your stay, then it becomes hard to address any problems you may have with your room.
As for the water problem, We rarely have problems with our system, everything is brand new!
However I did call our local heating guy to come and do a complete Inspection of our system and will take care of any problems that he will suggest.
Thanks for letting us know your about your concerns.
Ron Dagesse/Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gorham
2.1 mi away
Town & Country Inn and Resort
17.7 mi away
The Inn at Thorn Hill & Spa
16.1 mi away
The Lodge at Bretton Woods
The Lodge at Bretton Woods
#2 of 2 in Bretton Woods
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Top Notch Inn
Top Notch Inn
#1 of 7 in Gorham
677 reviews
22.3 mi away
Attitash Grand Summit Hotel
18.4 mi away
Nordic Village Resort
Nordic Village Resort
#3 of 12 in Bartlett
487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mt Madison Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mt Madison Inn & Suites

Property: Mt Madison Inn & Suites
Address: 365 Main St, Gorham, NH 03581-1117
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Gorham
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Gorham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Mt Madison Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Book Direct with us and Save 15% on your entire stay! Avoid paying the 15% commissions with other sites. Mt Madison Inn and Suite is rated #1 on TripAdvisor out of 8 hotels in Gorham. Were located in the heart of the white mountains of NH, near all attractions! All rooms are modern with all the latest amenity's, All rooms feature an oversize fridge, microwave and in room coffee. We offer the fastest WiFi in town with speeds up to 100 mgb up and down. New Direct TV HD quality 250 channel lineup with 32" flat screen TV's. New heated pool, hot tub, fire pit and bounce house. Poolside BBQ gas grills and picnic tables. Guest laundry and much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Mt Madison Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mt Madison Hotel Gorham
Mt Madison Gorham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing