We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Very Nice Hotel”
Review of Top Notch Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Top Notch Inn
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Gorham
Certificate of Excellence
Edison, New Jersey
1 review
“A Very Nice Hotel”
Reviewed July 30, 2010

The Top Notch Inn is very clean, well run, and very nice place to stay. It appears to be be well managed. The staff is very courteous.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HikeGeneral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

625 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    367
    187
    43
    17
    11
See reviews for
195
254
31
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sunderland, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed July 20, 2010

We have stayed at Top Notch in Gorahm, NH several times. Always clean, microwave and 'fridge in the room so you can make coffee and get off to an early start. About 10 to 15 minutes to trailheads if you're hiking. A hot tub is outside with pool, nicely maintained and landscaped. Quiet, even though it's near the road. Very comfortable beds and pillows. Several decent restaurants are in walking distance. I was emailed a notice for discounted days, and was very happy with the good value.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MML1806
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 14, 2010

Fantastic entry way with beautiful flowers everywhere. The rooms are extremely well kept and the cleanest I have ever seen. The staff is very friendly and helpful as well as very well informed about all the area attractions. As you drive down Main Street in Gorham NH the Top Notch Inn stands out above all the rest.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SueR2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint-Jean-sur-Richelieu, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2010

We went hiking on Washington mountain. It was a great place to stay, close to both grocery stores and restaurants. Only 15 minutes from the mountain. All amenities were good. We had the Pinkham house. Very spacious with 3 bedrooms and 1 hide-a-bed. The king bed is HUGE!! I will certainly go back next time I go hiking. Staff was friendly and helpful with our special request.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marc_du_Qc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashua, New Hampshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2010

a delightful inn! the property is extremely clean...spotless!!! some of the rooms are newly renovated - which is where we stayed ...beautiful. staff were very friendly and helpful. and the attention to detail - including the flowers.......a great place to stay. thank you!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank flintlock35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2009

We had a great stay at A Top Notch Inn. We were offered the Mount Jefferson room as an alternate to their standard motel room and the room was great, the staff was extremely courteous and helpful and the price was right. Our only regret was we couldn’t stay longer.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank larry5099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northeast
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2009

This place probably hasn't changed since the 80's, our room was very dusty especially under beds and in air unit which was above one bed.Thankfully we had brought our own comforters as theirs were a polyester of some sort and actually stained with what looked like old blood. Also, unable to connect to internet. We arrived late and in the morning brought our complaints to the manager who did nothing and had no suggestions to impove the situation. Although we had prepaid for two nights we promptly left after one. Never to return.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gkis4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travelinman6969, Manager at Top Notch Inn, responded to this review, January 29, 2010
We here at the Top Notch Inn take great pride in our exceptionally clean rooms. We were surprised to find your review mentioning dust under the beds, etc. Our housekeeping staff each have their own section to care for, and we feel they do a outstanding job and take great pride in their rooms. We guarantee high speed wireless connection, and have had this policy since 2007. We have been told by many customers that our front desk staff has outstanding customer service and are extremely helpful. We do improvements every year, and our rooms are modern, and comfortable. Please come back and try us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gorham
0.4 mi away
Mt Madison Inn & Suites
0.6 mi away
Royalty Inn
Royalty Inn
#3 of 7 in Gorham
444 reviews
1.7 mi away
Town & Country Inn and Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.4 mi away
The Inn at Thorn Hill & Spa
22.6 mi away
Bartlett Inn
Bartlett Inn
#1 of 12 in Bartlett
290 reviews
15.5 mi away
Omni Mount Washington Resort
Omni Mount Washington Resort
#1 of 2 in Bretton Woods
3,399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Top Notch Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Top Notch Inn

Property: Top Notch Inn
Address: 265 Main St, Center of Town, Gorham, NH 03581-1510
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Gorham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Gorham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Top Notch Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
$ave! Book direct we can avoid commissions, and pass the savings onto you! Great location in the center of town, walk to restaurants, café & wood fired pizza! Close to Story Land, Santa's Village, Mt Washington and many tourists' favorites. All rooms have free high speed WIFI, 32" HDTV, fridge, coffee maker and microwave. We have rooms with kings, queens or doubles. Groups and families love the NEW Mt Moriah Cottage next door, with 5 bedrooms sleeping up to 10 & the Family Suite with fully equipped kitchen, spacious living room, and three bedrooms that sleep 8 comfortably. We are dog friendly in select rooms and 100% smoke-free throughout with newly renovated and Eco-Friendly rooms and cottage. Close to: MT WASHINGTON STORY LAND SANTAS VILLAGE MOOSE TOURS HIKING,BIKING,RAFTING AND ALL THE NATURAL OUTDOORS HAS TO OFFER! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Top Notch Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
a Top Notch Hotel Gorham
a Top Notch Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing