We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most Beautiful Motel in the North Country”
Review of Top Notch Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Top Notch Inn
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Gorham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 14, 2010

Fantastic entry way with beautiful flowers everywhere. The rooms are extremely well kept and the cleanest I have ever seen. The staff is very friendly and helpful as well as very well informed about all the area attractions. As you drive down Main Street in Gorham NH the Top Notch Inn stands out above all the rest.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SueR2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (704)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

661 - 667 of 704 reviews

Reviewed June 21, 2010

We went hiking on Washington mountain. It was a great place to stay, close to both grocery stores and restaurants. Only 15 minutes from the mountain. All amenities were good. We had the Pinkham house. Very spacious with 3 bedrooms and 1 hide-a-bed. The king bed is HUGE!! I will certainly go back next time I go hiking. Staff was friendly and helpful with our special request.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marc_du_Qc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2010

a delightful inn! the property is extremely clean...spotless!!! some of the rooms are newly renovated - which is where we stayed ...beautiful. staff were very friendly and helpful. and the attention to detail - including the flowers.......a great place to stay. thank you!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank flintlock35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2009

We had a great stay at A Top Notch Inn. We were offered the Mount Jefferson room as an alternate to their standard motel room and the room was great, the staff was extremely courteous and helpful and the price was right. Our only regret was we couldn’t stay longer.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank larry5099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2009

This place probably hasn't changed since the 80's, our room was very dusty especially under beds and in air unit which was above one bed.Thankfully we had brought our own comforters as theirs were a polyester of some sort and actually stained with what looked like old blood. Also, unable to connect to internet. We arrived late and in the morning brought our complaints to the manager who did nothing and had no suggestions to impove the situation. Although we had prepaid for two nights we promptly left after one. Never to return.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gkis4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travelinman6969, Manager at Top Notch Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2010

We here at the Top Notch Inn take great pride in our exceptionally clean rooms. We were surprised to find your review mentioning dust under the beds, etc. Our housekeeping staff each have their own section to care for, and we feel they do a outstanding job and take great pride in their rooms. We guarantee high speed wireless connection, and have had this policy since 2007. We have been told by many customers that our front desk staff has outstanding customer service and are extremely helpful. We do improvements every year, and our rooms are modern, and comfortable. Please come back and try us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2009

We stayed one night, it is a old hotel, seems built on wooded floor, where some might think it is old cigarette smell, the room smelled stale, old, the bathroom is quite small, sitting on the can, the toilet paper holder is in your shoulder, and the sink has no ledge or counter, making it difficult to put your toiletries on the toilet cap. The housekeepers leave a "tip" envelope for you, hoping you are delighted with the room enough to leave them a tip,, Well sorry I paid 100 bucks for the room, ask for a raise.

as long as you realize it is just a room with a bed, shower ( shampoo sucked ) you wont be disappointed,, if you are hoping for a hair dryer, iron, ironing board, forget it
I thought the internet pictures were nice, thought it would be a cute place to spend one night with my GF On our vacation.

check around,, the only super great thing was a place called Mr. Pizza, a huge variety of food, and alot and super great taste and quality,, we ate there twice.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rich2481
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2009

Adorable updated and very clean motor court inn. Super clean rooms, wonderfully polite, professional and helpful staff. Quiet yet "center-of-the-action" location in adorable Gorham. Reasonable rates too. Right down the road from both Mt. Washington Auto Road and moose-watching! We have already planned our return trip next year!

Oh and they were true to their word: very nice about the doggies staying there too!

Interesting note: Great food next door and down the road...oh and FANTASTIC FOOD BY MIKE at his diner at the gas station (was it the Shell?) across the street from the old train trestle...just terrific people and food there! Plus, you can see the Black Bears that raid their dumpster out back if you're there at the right time of day!

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Auntmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gorham
0.4 mi away
Mt Madison Inn & Suites
0.6 mi away
Royalty Inn
Royalty Inn
#3 of 7 in Gorham
554 reviews
1.7 mi away
Town & Country Inn and Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.1 mi away
The Wentworth
The Wentworth
#2 of 4 in Jackson
861 reviews
15.5 mi away
Omni Mount Washington Resort
Omni Mount Washington Resort
#1 of 2 in Bretton Woods
3,749 reviews
16.4 mi away
Nordic Village Resort
Nordic Village Resort
#4 of 12 in Bartlett
516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Top Notch Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Top Notch Inn

Address: 265 Main St, Center of Town, Gorham, NH 03581-1510
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Gorham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Gorham
Price Range: $85 - $121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Top Notch Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
$ave! Book direct we can avoid commissions, and pass the savings onto you! Great location in the center of town, walk to restaurants, café & wood fired pizza! Close to Story Land, Santa's Village, Mt Washington and many tourists' favorites. All rooms have free high speed WIFI, 32" HDTV, fridge, coffee maker and microwave. We have rooms with kings, queens or doubles. Groups and families love the NEW Mt Moriah Cottage next door, with 5 bedrooms sleeping up to 10 & the Family Suite with fully equipped kitchen, spacious living room, and three bedrooms that sleep 8 comfortably. We are dog friendly in select rooms and 100% smoke-free throughout with newly renovated and Eco-Friendly rooms and cottage. Close to: MT WASHINGTON STORY LAND SANTAS VILLAGE MOOSE TOURS HIKING,BIKING,RAFTING AND ALL THE NATURAL OUTDOORS HAS TO OFFER! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your Top Notch Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
a Top Notch Hotel Gorham
a Top Notch Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing