We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“do your homework” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Top Notch Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Top Notch Inn
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Gorham
Certificate of Excellence
Tucson
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“do your homework”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2009

We stayed one night, it is a old hotel, seems built on wooded floor, where some might think it is old cigarette smell, the room smelled stale, old, the bathroom is quite small, sitting on the can, the toilet paper holder is in your shoulder, and the sink has no ledge or counter, making it difficult to put your toiletries on the toilet cap. The housekeepers leave a "tip" envelope for you, hoping you are delighted with the room enough to leave them a tip,, Well sorry I paid 100 bucks for the room, ask for a raise.

as long as you realize it is just a room with a bed, shower ( shampoo sucked ) you wont be disappointed,, if you are hoping for a hair dryer, iron, ironing board, forget it
I thought the internet pictures were nice, thought it would be a cute place to spend one night with my GF On our vacation.

check around,, the only super great thing was a place called Mr. Pizza, a huge variety of food, and alot and super great taste and quality,, we ate there twice.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rich2481
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

602 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    349
    182
    43
    17
    11
See reviews for
188
246
29
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2009

Adorable updated and very clean motor court inn. Super clean rooms, wonderfully polite, professional and helpful staff. Quiet yet "center-of-the-action" location in adorable Gorham. Reasonable rates too. Right down the road from both Mt. Washington Auto Road and moose-watching! We have already planned our return trip next year!

Oh and they were true to their word: very nice about the doggies staying there too!

Interesting note: Great food next door and down the road...oh and FANTASTIC FOOD BY MIKE at his diner at the gas station (was it the Shell?) across the street from the old train trestle...just terrific people and food there! Plus, you can see the Black Bears that raid their dumpster out back if you're there at the right time of day!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Auntmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
69 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2009

The name of this "inn" as well as the photos on their website are misleading. The furnishings and decor of the room I stayed in (room #108) was very motel-like. No character. $109 per night is a high price to pay for a motel in this area I think. On the bright side, the front desk was exceptionally nice and friendly, and the room was spotless.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BostonFlamingo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2009

Contrary to some of the negative reviews people have written about this facility we could not have been more satisfied with our stay here

Top Notch Inn is obviously an older style motel but has been tastefully updated and it is a pleasure to stay here. The rooms are comfortable, quiet and clean. Staff are very pleasant and are helpful in answering questions as to what the area has to offer.

The pet friendly feature is a very important attraction.

We would definately stay here again and would have no qualms about recommending the Top Notch Inn to our friends.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank williecanuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
55 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2009

What a great place to stay, close to the Mt Washington Auto Road where we were headed the following day. Friendly staff, clean and comfortable, and although on the main road, the rooms we had were very quiet. It has a really nice pool and hot tub to relax and unwind in, and they provide free pool towels too. There are several eating places nearby, so breakfast or dinner is no problem!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EasyBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester NH
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2009

We stayed in one of the newer rooms with bunk beds for the kids. Very clean, good service, nice location for Story Land and Santa's Village. The rooms aren't huge, but they are nice, and everyone was very friendly. You can walk next door to Js resaurant, and you get a coupon for $10 off at the desk. Good food there, and breakfast is right down the street if you want it. We didn't use the pool, but it looked clean. Overall a very good expirence.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ManchesterNHTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, MA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2009

I travel overnight occasionaly and stopped here on the way from Maine to Vermont. I had stayed here several years ago and the difference is significant- remodeled rooms and exceptionaly clean, and beautiful landscaping. Rain prevented any use of the amenities so I can't comment on those, but I highly recommend for the room and friendly staff.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Walkingwlkr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gorham
0.6 mi away
Royalty Inn
Royalty Inn
#3 of 7 in Gorham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mt Madison Inn & Suites
1.7 mi away
Town & Country Inn and Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.4 mi away
The Inn at Thorn Hill & Spa
17.1 mi away
The Wentworth
The Wentworth
#2 of 4 in Jackson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 787 reviews
15.5 mi away
Omni Mount Washington Resort
Omni Mount Washington Resort
#1 of 2 in Bretton Woods
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Top Notch Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Top Notch Inn

Property: Top Notch Inn
Address: 265 Main St, Center of Town, Gorham, NH 03581-1510
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Gorham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Gorham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Top Notch Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Book direct with us and $ave! We can avoid commissions, and pass the savings onto you, our guest. AAA approved, great location in the town center. Walk to restaurants, café & wood fired pizza! Close to Story Land, Santa's Village, Mt Washington and many tourists' favorites. All rooms have free high speed WIFI, 32" HDTV, fridge, coffee maker and microwave. We have rooms with kings and bunks or doubles and twin & deluxe king rooms. Groups and families love the NEW Mt Moriah Cottage next door, with 5 bedrooms sleeping up to 10 & the Pinkham House with fully equipped kitchen, spacious living room, and three bedrooms that sleep 8 comfortably. We are dog friendly in select rooms and 100% smoke-free throughout. Mt Washington Auto Road and Great Glen Trails are 10 minutes away, discount available. Story Land, Santa's Village, hiking, rafting & Moose tours all close by. Newly renovated and Eco-Friendly rooms and cottage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Top Notch Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
a Top Notch Hotel Gorham
a Top Notch Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing