We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Notch Inn - Fantastic Find for Fall Foliage”
Review of Top Notch Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Top Notch Inn
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Gorham
Certificate of Excellence
Clarion, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Top Notch Inn - Fantastic Find for Fall Foliage”
Reviewed October 24, 2013

We have now stayed at Top Notch Inn several times over the years making our reservation from home all but the 1st year. What drew us to Top Notch Inn1st was their outward appearance - excellent curb appeal and main street location, followed by friendly and knowledgeable check-in personnel, well organized lobby, very fair pricing levels and extremely clean, comfortable, quiet and roomy accommodations. Parking is right in front of one's room with ample turning and driving room. All these reasons, especially our room accommodations, are why we always stay and return to Top Notch Inn in Gorham, NH. I must also mention the restaurant and lounge next door walking distance to Top Notch Inn - "J's Corner Restaurant and Lounge", a superb restaurant to relax in while enjoying dinner with the option of seating in the lounge which is a quiet sports bar atmosphere. Next time you are traveling this area of Maine and New Hampshire, give Top Notch Inn a try - you will not be disappointed!

Room Tip: All rooms we have stayed in have been superb. Additionally, the owners are adding newer "Green...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TopNotchInnMgmt, Front Office Manager at Top Notch Inn, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Thank you for a great review! Our landscapers pride themselves on our gardens and grounds and are always happy for the compliment. We’re glad you enjoyed this year’s trip and we look forward to seeing you next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

677 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    405
    199
    45
    17
    11
See reviews for
221
273
32
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
maine
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

The Top Notch Inn is just that "Top Notch." We just returned from a four day getaway with friends to the White Mountain area of Maine and New Hampshire. We stayed two nights at The Top Notch Inn in Gorham, NH. Upon arrival the staff welcomed us and made us feel right at home. We were told we had been given an upgrade from our online reserved rooms to two of their newly renovated rooms. The rooms # 111 & 112 were perfect. The decor was warm and comfortable with king beds, flatscreen tvs, microwaves, refrigerators, & coffeemakers. We were told we could make phone calls anywhere in US or Canada, we were given 10% discounts to restaurants in town, one being next door to the inn. It can't get much better than that. I would highly recommend Top Notch if you are in the Gorham area. We loved it and would stay there again without question.
We did not have an electric car, but did notice that there was an electrical plug in for those needing to recharge their vehicles during their stay.



We did not have an electric car, however we

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lawgram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TopNotchInnMgmt, General Manager at Top Notch Inn, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Thank you for the great review! We're glad the staff helped you feel at home, and that you enjoyed the accommodations we saved for you. We welcome you to come back and stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longueuil, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

The Top Notch is my home away from home when hiking in Mount Washington's area. Clean rooms with large fridges (perfect for keeping water cool before the hike and beer cool after the hike). A couple of restaurants within walking distance, and a few more just a couple of minutes away in car, such as the Boot Spur Grill which offers very tasty steak and seafood fare with beer on tap (notably 60 Minutes IPA, an all-time favourite of ours).

The staff at the Top Notch is super friendly, the guests quiet, and the view in the morning on the looming mountains breathtaking. Beds are comfortable, there's a microwave in the room, and handmade soap in the shower (life is in the little details).

Highly recommended, we will be back for many more years as there are still many interesting summits and hikes to discover in the area!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank martinhandfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TopNotchInnMgmt, General Manager at Top Notch Inn, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
We're happy to be your home away from home! Glad you enjoyed the accommodations and found great hiking and beer here in Gorham! See you next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed October 21, 2013

We learned that a great hotel doesn't have to have a brand name. We were looking for a good night's sleep in a clean hotel in the Gorham area because of the travel we needed to do over into northern Maine to be with friends. We read the reviews and so glad we did. OK, the phone reservation we tried to make wouldn't work due to a bad phone signal, but the on-line web registration worked fine. Warmly welcomed by the owner, she got us settled in our clean room with a super comfortable bed, big screen TV, microwave-fridge, and plenty of space. In fact, a better night sleep than we have had in a chain hotel for some time. For the price (actually less) we would have paid for that chain. (We did the Mt Washington Country Room). My wife commented on the extra decorating touches. I liked the good customer service and attention to things like dusting and no mildew. Located next the street, yes, there were a fair amount of lumber trucks passing by. But go and stay at any hotel in the NH North Country on a highway and you'll find the same. The lights of the street did bleed into the room, affecting her sleep but not me...every sleeper is different with light, right? Great restaurant next door. We walked over and did take-out and enjoyed the big screen TV in our room. Well done, Top Notch Inn, we come by again, you're our spot.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TopNotchInnMgmt, General Manager at Top Notch Inn, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
We're happy to be your new 'spot'! Thank you so much for your attention to detail, and sharing with other viewers. We take pride in being a meticulous place to stay, and want all of our guests to be comfortable. We hope to see you again next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chocorua, New Hampshire
1 review
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Last weekend I stayed at the Inn for a mountain biking event held there, and had a wonderful time! My newly renovated room was comfortable and much more than I expected. I had a microwave and refrigerator in the room. The shower was HOT and the showerhead had a great spray! Love the techy toilet flusher too-never used one before. The complimentary coffee was good in the AM while I flipped through channels on the flat screen TV in front of the bed. I don't have TV at home, so that was a treat. The service was impeccable!

The weather was fantastic for Oct 19/20th, the late season foliage was absolutely stunning and temps in 60's, it was a fun time. Gorham is a beautiful area in the White Mountains and has lots of outdoor activities. The MTN Biking trails have improved substantially since last year's event.

I will definitely be back next year!

Room Tip: I was on the back wall next to the ICE machine room, and I slept perfectly. It was quiet and comfor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MountainBiker123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TopNotchInnMgmt, General Manager at Top Notch Inn, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Thanks for the compliments, and taking the time to write a review! Glad to hear you enjoyed your newly renovated room and the amenities here. There was a lot going on in Gorham that weekend. We had ATV's, hikers, Mt bikers and folks touring around taking in the views. We have had a great fall, and we're glad you got to join us for a wonderful weekend. See you next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Foxboro, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed October 16, 2013

The staff was very nice and helpful. Especially since I was not from that area and they gave us 10% coupons to go to places that we could eat.
I also was able to get a room that had just been redone. Flat screen tv.
The room was very clean and tidy.
Great place to stay!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Toroloco1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TopNotchInnMgmt, General Manager at Top Notch Inn, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thank you so much for your wonderful review! Glad you enjoyed our newly renovated rooms, and the 32' HD TV's. We are fortunate to have a nice variety of restaurants offering discounts to our guests. We're glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranston, Rhode Island
1 review
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We brought our twin boys up to visit Santa's Village for their Birthday and completely enjoyed our stay at the Top Notch Inn. The Staff was extremely kind and professional and the rooms were very clean. I would recommend the Top Notch Inn to anyone looking for an affordable place to stay that provides excellent service.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TopNotchInnMgmt, General Manager at Top Notch Inn, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
We thoroughly enjoyed having your family here, and thought it very creative of you to have the twins birthday at Santa's Village! Thank you so much for the great review. It was a pleasure having you stay here, and hope you return for many birthdays to come~
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gorham
0.4 mi away
Mt Madison Inn & Suites
1.7 mi away
Town & Country Inn and Resort
17.4 mi away
The Inn at Thorn Hill & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.1 mi away
The Wentworth
The Wentworth
#2 of 4 in Jackson
814 reviews
17.1 mi away
Lodge at Jackson Village
18.1 mi away
Nordic Village Resort
Nordic Village Resort
#3 of 12 in Bartlett
487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Top Notch Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Top Notch Inn

Property: Top Notch Inn
Address: 265 Main St, Center of Town, Gorham, NH 03581-1510
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Gorham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Gorham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Top Notch Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
$ave! Book direct we can avoid commissions, and pass the savings onto you! Great location in the center of town, walk to restaurants, café & wood fired pizza! Close to Story Land, Santa's Village, Mt Washington and many tourists' favorites. All rooms have free high speed WIFI, 32" HDTV, fridge, coffee maker and microwave. We have rooms with kings, queens or doubles. Groups and families love the NEW Mt Moriah Cottage next door, with 5 bedrooms sleeping up to 10 & the Family Suite with fully equipped kitchen, spacious living room, and three bedrooms that sleep 8 comfortably. We are dog friendly in select rooms and 100% smoke-free throughout with newly renovated and Eco-Friendly rooms and cottage. Close to: MT WASHINGTON STORY LAND SANTAS VILLAGE MOOSE TOURS HIKING,BIKING,RAFTING AND ALL THE NATURAL OUTDOORS HAS TO OFFER! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Top Notch Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
a Top Notch Hotel Gorham
a Top Notch Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing