We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very clean room and property”
Review of Top Notch Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Top Notch Inn
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Gorham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Our visit was very nice, except for the weather, the family room we stayed in (room 123) was very clean with a spotless bathroom. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The inn is right in the middle of the area attractions, Storyland, Santa's Village, Mt. Washington. the grounds of the inn were very well kept and attractive. The outdoor pool looked very clean as well, although we didn't swim due to the rainy week we experienced. Our housekeeper, Emily, was awesome, our beds were made to perfection, our bathroom was kept spotless, she even folded my daughters clothes she left on her bed. First class place to stay. Again, due to the weather, we cut our trip short by one day, the front desk gladly refunded us one day and apologized over and over again for the weather.

The area has a super Walmart about 2 miles from the inn which was helpful for groceries and forgotten items. The Inn has a laundry but the soap and other items are located at the front desk, not a big deal I just wish we had known before we bought a medium sized bottle of tide when we only needed enough for one load of laundry. This place is a must stay if you enjoy small towns, mountains and quiet living.

Room Tip: Room 123 has a king sized bed, bunk beads for the kids and is located at the back end of the inn but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveler6201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TopNotchInnMgmt, General Manager at Top Notch Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2013

Thank you so much for your detailed review! We love the feedback, and all the positive attributes!
Emily is a wonderful housekeeper, and we are so fortunate to have her and to have guests like you! Come back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (700)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

559 - 565 of 700 reviews

Reviewed July 11, 2013

We returned to the Top Notch Inn to find all of the staff had returned for another season.
We so support small local privet owned small business.
Over the winter many upgrades were made to the Inn.
Many of the changes are good green changes.
The pool is now heated by solar.
Our room had a new Toto water saving hopper installed.
The entire grounds are as neat and clean as can be.

Room Tip: all the rooms are at ground level. All are neat, clean, have a tv, fridge, microwave.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank margobcollins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TopNotchInnMgmt, General Manager at Top Notch Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2013

It was a pleasure having you stay with us again this year. Thank you for recognizing all of our improvements and commenting on them. It's customers like you that make what we do so enjoyable!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

walked in after canceling at another local place and was happy to get a happy desk person and a very nice totally updated comfortable room .I will back again without question! I will recommend TOP NOTCH to anyone staying within 50 miles of Gorham . thanks again for to wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TopNotchInnMgmt, General Manager at Top Notch Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2013

We're so happy you found us, and enjoyed the accommodations. Hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Once again, a wonderful stay at the Top Notch Inn. This trip was for 4 nights, and we were very pleased, as usual. This has got to be the best place to stay in the area, hands down. The newly refurbished rooms are great! State of the art Toto dual flush toilets, solar heated pool, and the air conditioners are super quiet. The pool was just right for the temperature, and the hot tub was nice for relaxing after a long day of touring. The staff is very nice, and even helped with the pictures we took next to "Sirstandsalot". If you are in the area, this is the place to stay.....

Room Tip: ours was room 115. at the back away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank T-Birdtravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TopNotchInnMgmt, General Manager at Top Notch Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

It was lovely having you stay with us again! We enjoyed your skilled photography and wanted to thank you for all the photos you took while here at the inn. Come back and visit us again soon. Sirstandsalot will be waiting...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

It was a last-minute decision to stay here, but I think it was a good decision. The hotel is in the middle of Main Street so we were close to everything. The staff was very helpful and made several recommendations on places to eat and things to do.

PROS: Newly refurbished! We had a king bed which was very comfortable. It was convenient to have a fridge, microwave and coffee pot in the room. There were also laundry facilities!

CONS: Our room was not cleaned our second day (we were there for 2 nights). I was in the room when the maid stopped by and provided new towels and coffee. I told her I'd be out of the room in about 10 minutes so she'd have an opportunity to come back. I returned about 3 hours later and nothing had been done to the room.

The bathroom must have been designed by a man. The mirror was placed about 8 inches above the sink and had a shelf jut out at it's bottom. With the sink and toilet set in front of it, it was difficult to get close enough to put on my mascara. The bath towels are very thin, are somewhat small, and feel cheap.

The new HDTV was a nice addition, but it was set on the wall not far from the ceiling. It was uncomfortable to watch it unless you were laying in bed.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blare246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TopNotchInnMgmt, General Manager at Top Notch Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

Happy to hear you enjoyed our newly refurbished rooms! We enjoyed having you stay with us, and appreciate the details given in your pros, and cons. We will make some changes to accommodate those who need to be closer to the mirror in the bath. Thanks for your review, and we hope to see you back here soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed one night in route from Maine to Vermont. The room was very nice. The people were so gracious and friendly. The recommendations for supper and breakfast were perfect. I particularly enjoyed my morning coffee sitting in one of the Adirondack chairs on the lawn. Just a great stay for a reasonable price. We really enjoyed Gorham. The parks and rec offer moose tours. We saw 11 on ours!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Happygal101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TopNotchInnMgmt, General Manager at Top Notch Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2013

Thank you for your nice review of us! We hope that you are enjoying your tour of New England & that you can come back and visit us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Loved our stay. Would stay here again. The room and bathroom was very clean. The room was a nice size so we were able to set up our sons pack an play and still have room to move around. The front desk person was very nice and helpful. Plan on staying there again next year when we visit Story Land and Santa's Village.
Lori U.
June 17&18 2013
room 106

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lori U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TopNotchInnMgmt, General Manager at Top Notch Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2013

And we loved having you stay with us! Looking forward to your return next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gorham
0.4 mi away
Mt Madison Inn & Suites
0.6 mi away
Royalty Inn
Royalty Inn
#3 of 7 in Gorham
545 reviews
1.7 mi away
Town & Country Inn and Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.4 mi away
The Inn at Thorn Hill & Spa
15.5 mi away
Omni Mount Washington Resort
Omni Mount Washington Resort
#1 of 2 in Bretton Woods
3,674 reviews
16.4 mi away
Nordic Village Resort
Nordic Village Resort
#4 of 12 in Bartlett
514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Top Notch Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Top Notch Inn

Address: 265 Main St, Center of Town, Gorham, NH 03581-1510
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Gorham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Gorham
Price Range: $89 - $217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Top Notch Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
$ave! Book direct we can avoid commissions, and pass the savings onto you! Great location in the center of town, walk to restaurants, café & wood fired pizza! Close to Story Land, Santa's Village, Mt Washington and many tourists' favorites. All rooms have free high speed WIFI, 32" HDTV, fridge, coffee maker and microwave. We have rooms with kings, queens or doubles. Groups and families love the NEW Mt Moriah Cottage next door, with 5 bedrooms sleeping up to 10 & the Family Suite with fully equipped kitchen, spacious living room, and three bedrooms that sleep 8 comfortably. We are dog friendly in select rooms and 100% smoke-free throughout with newly renovated and Eco-Friendly rooms and cottage. Close to: MT WASHINGTON STORY LAND SANTAS VILLAGE MOOSE TOURS HIKING,BIKING,RAFTING AND ALL THE NATURAL OUTDOORS HAS TO OFFER! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Top Notch Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
a Top Notch Hotel Gorham
a Top Notch Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing