We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great place to stay we will be back”
Review of Top Notch Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Top Notch Inn
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Gorham
Certificate of Excellence
Roseboom, New York
1 review
“great place to stay we will be back”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

walked in after canceling at another local place and was happy to get a happy desk person and a very nice totally updated comfortable room .I will back again without question! I will recommend TOP NOTCH to anyone staying within 50 miles of Gorham . thanks again for to wonderful stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TopNotchInnMgmt, General Manager at Top Notch Inn, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
We're so happy you found us, and enjoyed the accommodations. Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

603 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    349
    183
    43
    17
    11
See reviews for
188
246
29
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Plaistow, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Once again, a wonderful stay at the Top Notch Inn. This trip was for 4 nights, and we were very pleased, as usual. This has got to be the best place to stay in the area, hands down. The newly refurbished rooms are great! State of the art Toto dual flush toilets, solar heated pool, and the air conditioners are super quiet. The pool was just right for the temperature, and the hot tub was nice for relaxing after a long day of touring. The staff is very nice, and even helped with the pictures we took next to "Sirstandsalot". If you are in the area, this is the place to stay.....

Room Tip: ours was room 115. at the back away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank T-Birdtravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TopNotchInnMgmt, General Manager at Top Notch Inn, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
It was lovely having you stay with us again! We enjoyed your skilled photography and wanted to thank you for all the photos you took while here at the inn. Come back and visit us again soon. Sirstandsalot will be waiting...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Punta Gorda, Florida
Level Contributor
99 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013

It was a last-minute decision to stay here, but I think it was a good decision. The hotel is in the middle of Main Street so we were close to everything. The staff was very helpful and made several recommendations on places to eat and things to do.

PROS: Newly refurbished! We had a king bed which was very comfortable. It was convenient to have a fridge, microwave and coffee pot in the room. There were also laundry facilities!

CONS: Our room was not cleaned our second day (we were there for 2 nights). I was in the room when the maid stopped by and provided new towels and coffee. I told her I'd be out of the room in about 10 minutes so she'd have an opportunity to come back. I returned about 3 hours later and nothing had been done to the room.

The bathroom must have been designed by a man. The mirror was placed about 8 inches above the sink and had a shelf jut out at it's bottom. With the sink and toilet set in front of it, it was difficult to get close enough to put on my mascara. The bath towels are very thin, are somewhat small, and feel cheap.

The new HDTV was a nice addition, but it was set on the wall not far from the ceiling. It was uncomfortable to watch it unless you were laying in bed.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blare246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TopNotchInnMgmt, General Manager at Top Notch Inn, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Happy to hear you enjoyed our newly refurbished rooms! We enjoyed having you stay with us, and appreciate the details given in your pros, and cons. We will make some changes to accommodate those who need to be closer to the mirror in the bath. Thanks for your review, and we hope to see you back here soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Grove, TN
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed one night in route from Maine to Vermont. The room was very nice. The people were so gracious and friendly. The recommendations for supper and breakfast were perfect. I particularly enjoyed my morning coffee sitting in one of the Adirondack chairs on the lawn. Just a great stay for a reasonable price. We really enjoyed Gorham. The parks and rec offer moose tours. We saw 11 on ours!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Happygal101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TopNotchInnMgmt, General Manager at Top Notch Inn, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Thank you for your nice review of us! We hope that you are enjoying your tour of New England & that you can come back and visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Stonington, Connecticut
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Loved our stay. Would stay here again. The room and bathroom was very clean. The room was a nice size so we were able to set up our sons pack an play and still have room to move around. The front desk person was very nice and helpful. Plan on staying there again next year when we visit Story Land and Santa's Village.
Lori U.
June 17&18 2013
room 106

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lori U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TopNotchInnMgmt, General Manager at Top Notch Inn, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
And we loved having you stay with us! Looking forward to your return next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
quad cities, IA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We came across this hotel while at the visitor information center and decided to stay there. The front desk person was friendly and the room was super comfortable, neat, and clean. We would definitely stay there again the next time we're in Gorham.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jenick2h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TopNotchInnMgmt, General Manager at Top Notch Inn, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
We're happy the visitor information center recommended us and that you enjoyed your stay. See you the next time you are in Gorham!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Room was extremely clean, with a very pleasant and restful decor. Bathroom was spotless and modern. I was also impressed by the attention shown to environmental impact - two-flush toilet to save water and recycle facilities for trash were especially impressive. Easy walk to restaurants, including some very good ones and to nearby Gorham airstrip - fine for landing a small plane.

Best to book ahead, we had booked for only one night and, when we wanted to add a second night, found they were full.

Room Tip: I stayed in a newly redecorated room. You might want to request one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TopNotchInnMgmt, General Manager at Top Notch Inn, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you so much for staying with us, and taking time to write us a great review! We're happy that you noticed and mentioned our environmental practices that we have committed to. Please come back and visit again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gorham
0.6 mi away
Royalty Inn
Royalty Inn
#3 of 7 in Gorham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mt Madison Inn & Suites
1.7 mi away
Town & Country Inn and Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.4 mi away
The Inn at Thorn Hill & Spa
17.1 mi away
The Wentworth
The Wentworth
#2 of 4 in Jackson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 791 reviews
22.6 mi away
Bartlett Inn
Bartlett Inn
#1 of 12 in Bartlett
4.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Top Notch Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Top Notch Inn

Property: Top Notch Inn
Address: 265 Main St, Center of Town, Gorham, NH 03581-1510
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Gorham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Gorham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Top Notch Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
$ave! Book direct we can avoid commissions, and pass the savings onto you! Great location in the center of town, walk to restaurants, café & wood fired pizza! Close to Story Land, Santa's Village, Mt Washington and many tourists' favorites. All rooms have free high speed WIFI, 32" HDTV, fridge, coffee maker and microwave. We have rooms with kings, queens or doubles. Groups and families love the NEW Mt Moriah Cottage next door, with 5 bedrooms sleeping up to 10 & the Family Suite with fully equipped kitchen, spacious living room, and three bedrooms that sleep 8 comfortably. We are dog friendly in select rooms and 100% smoke-free throughout with newly renovated and Eco-Friendly rooms and cottage. Close to: MT WASHINGTON STORY LAND SANTAS VILLAGE MOOSE TOURS HIKING,BIKING,RAFTING AND ALL THE NATURAL OUTDOORS HAS TO OFFER! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Top Notch Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
a Top Notch Hotel Gorham
a Top Notch Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing