We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place, great staff”
Review of Top Notch Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Top Notch Inn
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Gorham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 13, 2012

Whenever I'm back in NH I try to stay at the Top Notch. Great location, great rooms, andof course Nordi the greeting dog. Bonus,it's within walking distance of great restaurants as well. Altho it is on Main street, the rooms are quiet and nicely decorated. Not quite sure why other reviewers pick on the towels. I always feel safe and secure parking my motorcycle there.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cathy s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TopNotchInnMgmt, Manager at Top Notch Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2012

Thank you for the great review Cathy! We know you frequent Gorham from time to time, and we’re flattered you choose us! We appreciate the business, and hope to see you again soon~

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (700)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

584 - 590 of 700 reviews

Reviewed September 12, 2012

I recently stayed at the Inn and the person that checked me in was very pleasant and helpful this was the first time I stayed there and I would stay again. I was only able to stay for the night had to leave early in am so couldn't use the pool or hot tub but hopefully will return in the future and use those things. Its located close by the stores and restaurants which is very convienant. I would recommend this place of what I saw of it on my short stay. Tammy D.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank tamjd69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TopNotchInnMgmt, Manager at Top Notch Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2012

Dear Tammy: Thank you for the compliments about the Top Notch Inn!
We’re happy that you chose us, and enjoyed your stay. We appreciate the recommendation also! Please come back and visit again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

We rode our motorcycles up there and had pre-booked the place (our friends did the booking) and our first impression was that the pictures of the rooms that were on their website we NOT of the rooms we had. All were the basic motel rooms, but with dark panelling, not the bright rooms in the pictures. There was a heavy smell of Febreeze in the rooms, but the other couples said theirs was musty/moldy. But ours was clean and neat. The towels were fairly thin, a complaint some others had. The bed sagged in the middle, evidence of an old mattress. No bedbugs. But here's where the owner will know who this review is from: the alarm clock went off at midnight...an oversite of housekeeping to check to make sure the alarm isn't pre-set to wake up guests when they don't want to. Then around 2 am the smoke detector started chirping that it needed a new battery (and it was a very old smoke detector: the plastic was old and yellowed). I checked and it was one of those that is hard wired and the battery was a 9V (I don't carry batteries on vacation with me, much less a 9-volt), and so I didn't want to disconnect it and risk setting off the alarm for the whole hotel. I tried calling the hotel number but only got an answering machine. Got dressed and went to the front office: no phone number to call. As the chirp was very loud, we ended up getting no sleep (the rock hard pillows offered no sound-proofing). When I went to the office in the a.m, the woman at the desk said that they don't post an emergency number because the owner doesn't want frivolous calls. She said I should have called the police as they would have known to call the maintenance man, who would have come from another town to fix the problem. I asked how in the heck would I have known to call the police, much less know their local non-911 number? It probably would have brought the whole fire department, sirens and all, waking everyone for miles. When I asked for my money back, she would initially only give me a 50% discount on the room saying that we used the place and housekeeping would still have to clean it, but after I asked again for 100% of my money back, she capitulated to 75%. I felt like I was on a reality show, bartering with her. So I accepted her offer and drove off wearily into the sunrise. I called the next day and asked for the owner. She recognized who I was and started apologizing profusely for my miserable night as she had gone to the room and realized how loud the chirp was and had already refunded me the last 25% of my bill. She was so nice and sincere the second day, I had only wished she was that nice the first day. Anyway, the other two couples hated their rooms, felt they were musty/moldy and wouldn't touch the place again. I'm sort of shocked by the great reviews, but I only gave this place a 2-circle rating because of how nicely I was treated--on the second encounter.

Room Tip: Don't expect anything close to a good chain hotel. The best rooms are by the main road, the bas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bowtiebiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travelinman6969, Owner at Top Notch Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2012

Previous guests reviews are evidence that we are a contentious, clean & updated establishment. We understand you are upset with the unfortunate experience you had. We have taken this opportunity to make improvements to prevent nothing like this happens again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

We recently spent 3 nights at the Top Notch Inn and loved every minute of our stay. The staff was so pleasant and helpful. We stayed in the Mt. Adams room which we really enjoyed because of the privacy. The pool and spa were great! The accessibility to Mt. Washington was a plus! We would definitely return for another visit!

Room Tip: The rooms on the outside perimeter (we stayed in the Mt Adams) afford a great amount of privacy with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travelinman6969, General Manager at Top Notch Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2012

We're so glad you enjoyed your stay with us! Hope you can return again for another visit soon :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

I choose this Inn due to it is close to entrance of auto road to Mt Washington for sunrise view. However, I was very dispointed of the towel in bathroom and they need to be replaced or bleached, because they are yellow. We were surprised it is close to cemetery, which is kind of creepy. Compare with other hotel, motel and Inn, the price is too high.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adrian Bilbo Ba... C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travelinman6969, General Manager at Top Notch Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2012

We appreciate your perspective and comments. The Top Notch Inn is fortunate to be one of the closest motels to the Mt Washington Auto Road. As for the towels, we are a certified green establishment. One of the prerequisites to be certified is that we do not use harsh chemicals including bleach. We switched to beige towels that some may call light yellow in order to be more earth friendly. The cemetery is diagonally across from us and most don't notice it's there since it's hidden by lilacs and other nice landscaping.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

This is our second stay at the Top Notch Inn, they have a really wonderful staff. Friendly, helpful people who go beyond trying to be helpful . Would recommend this Inn to anyone travelling with children and it is conveniently located to all attractions.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ToodSt_Stephen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travelinman6969, Front Office Manager at Top Notch Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2012

Wow! We are delighted to know how much you enjoy staying with us :) Customers like you make our day. Please come back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

We stayed here 3 days atving Jerico Park and siteseeing. the rooms were nice, clean and the beds were comfortable.The only reason I gave the motel 4 stars was the noise at night. We sat well off the highway but the trucks going by during the night were noisy because there was a bump in the road out front and when they hit it it sounded like the truck was in your room. But otherwise we had a great time and would stay here again. Also we noticed that the motel was full every night while other ones weren't this should tell you something.

Room Tip: Go for any rooms in the back of the motel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rwmurphy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travelinman6969, General Manager at Top Notch Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2012

We want to thank you for taking the time to write a review, and for all of your compliments. This is the first we have heard about the "bump in the night" and we are investigating what it may have been. Thank you for staying with us, we look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gorham
0.4 mi away
Mt Madison Inn & Suites
0.6 mi away
Royalty Inn
Royalty Inn
#3 of 7 in Gorham
544 reviews
1.7 mi away
Town & Country Inn and Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.4 mi away
The Inn at Thorn Hill & Spa
15.5 mi away
Omni Mount Washington Resort
Omni Mount Washington Resort
#1 of 2 in Bretton Woods
3,672 reviews
16.4 mi away
Nordic Village Resort
Nordic Village Resort
#4 of 12 in Bartlett
513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Top Notch Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Top Notch Inn

Address: 265 Main St, Center of Town, Gorham, NH 03581-1510
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Gorham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Gorham
Price Range: $89 - $217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Top Notch Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
$ave! Book direct we can avoid commissions, and pass the savings onto you! Great location in the center of town, walk to restaurants, café & wood fired pizza! Close to Story Land, Santa's Village, Mt Washington and many tourists' favorites. All rooms have free high speed WIFI, 32" HDTV, fridge, coffee maker and microwave. We have rooms with kings, queens or doubles. Groups and families love the NEW Mt Moriah Cottage next door, with 5 bedrooms sleeping up to 10 & the Family Suite with fully equipped kitchen, spacious living room, and three bedrooms that sleep 8 comfortably. We are dog friendly in select rooms and 100% smoke-free throughout with newly renovated and Eco-Friendly rooms and cottage. Close to: MT WASHINGTON STORY LAND SANTAS VILLAGE MOOSE TOURS HIKING,BIKING,RAFTING AND ALL THE NATURAL OUTDOORS HAS TO OFFER! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Top Notch Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
a Top Notch Hotel Gorham
a Top Notch Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing