We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My cup of tea.....”
Review of Joe Dodge Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gorham
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Joe Dodge Lodge
GreenLeadersGold level
Glenmoore, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“My cup of tea.....”
Reviewed April 16, 2014

I love this place for what it is: a clean place to rest your head in a great location with fantastic food. A no frills no glitz atmosphere with a first class staff willing to help, treat you kindly and answer any questions that you may have. It sits at the base of natures playground so you can roll out of bed and be into adventure 50 yards from your doorstep. My favorite by far is that for $2 bucks extra you get their meal plan served at the visitor center and the food is excellent, I mean excellent and all fresh (wild mushroom ravioli, potato leek soup, beef tenderloin.....) The executive chef comes out to say hello and ask if everything is ok or if you have any special requests, come on for 2 bucks! Puts a smile on my face just thinking about the experience. After dinner they play a movie related to the season, we saw something on an Everest expedition, very cool. I can't say enough about staying here. If your expecting the Four Seasons you'll be disappointed but if you like a convenient home base that's clean, inexpensive and full of diversity this is your place.

Room Tip: If you book early enough you can get a private room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    34
    8
    3
    5
See reviews for
35
26
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
New Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
30 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2014

I have been an AMC member for a long time. I hadn't been up to the Whites since before I had kids, and decided it was time to get up there again. My husband couldn't join us (work!) so I decided to head up with the kids. We spent 3 nights/4 days in August, 2013. Thanks to amazing adventures available right out the door andAMC staff hints, guidance, cheery, friendly, knowledgeable advice, we all had a great time. My kids were 10, 8 and 5 at the time - we hiked, did some family programs, met some other fun families, ate mountains of delicious food, relaxed, played, and had a great time. We stayed in a bunk room with a shared hallway bath and it was fine. The bunks and rooms were comfortable and well equipped. We were tired after our busy days, and slept easily. We are now planning another trip for this coming summer. Thanks AMC - what an amazing experience!

Room Tip: We stayed in a bunk rooms with shared bath, midweek. There was never anyone else in the shower when...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MNLMOM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NH
Level Contributor
79 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2014

I stayed here on new years eve to have an old fashioned lodge experience and be close to all the winter activities in the Pinkham Notch area. The rooms are basic, just as you would expect an AMC lodge to be, but they were warm, clean and had all kinds of shelves and hooks that were so convenient when you have lots of gear. We chose the private 2 bedroom bunk room with shared bath. What was really nice about this lodge were the common areas- a library and a living room, both with gas fireplaces. The living room also had a small kitchen area for guests with a tiny fridge. Very convenient. Everyone at the lodge and the visitor center next to the lodge (where the meals are served) were friendly and helpful. Looking forward to coming back for some hiking in the spring as well!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashland, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Fun place to be, especially when you're with Camp Tel Noar! Water was absolutely disgusting and the showers really suck, but otherwise, it was fantastic! Love ya girlies! Hiking staff was great, especially Whitney the best hiking guide ever! Even though we all wanted to die by the end of the hike, it was still really fun!

Room Tip: 213 all the way ;)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
143 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2013

Joe Dodge Lodge offers rooms on the edge of The White Mountains. I
Rooms come in a full range of private to bunk rooms. Baths are shared - very clean and spacious.
Unlike a hostile, there are linens provided, and no common kitchen. There are 2 lovely common rooms - one The Library that has a nice selection on books and maps about the area. cozy chairs and tables and a gas fireplace. The other also has a fireplace and comfortable sitting but more of a family atmosphere with games available.
Meal plans are available, served in the building next door. We had the breakfast and it was all you can eat, starting at 6:30 a.m. eggs, bacon, beans, French toast, fruit, mussili, bagels - they had it all and it was yummy. During breakfast someone came around and asked if we needed any advice about hikes in the area, and also provided current weather forecasts.
A good value in an unbelievable location!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Louise833
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SD, USA
Level Contributor
45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

I booked a room at the lodge hoping I would not regret it when I got there. Our entire experience was enjoyable and pleasant. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The room and bathroom were very clean. The meals were fabulous in every way! We loved the nearby hiking and highly recommend the Jioe Dodge Lodge to everyone who warnts to get lucky and stay in a wonderful place in the White Mountains of NH!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank celebr8life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johns Creek, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
92 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013

We spent one night at Joe Dodge Lodge while hiking the Whites. Our room and bed were both very comfortable. Both our dinner and breakfast were AMAZINGLY good!!! Great, great breakfast buffet!!! The staff were incredibly accommodating as we were running late getting off the mountain in time for dinner. We called ahead and they set aside 4 dinners for our group.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brenda Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gorham
8.8 mi away
The Inn at Thorn Hill & Spa
10.1 mi away
Mt Madison Inn & Suites
8.4 mi away
The Wentworth
The Wentworth
#2 of 4 in Jackson
797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
Town & Country Inn and Resort
9.8 mi away
The Lodge at Bretton Woods
The Lodge at Bretton Woods
#2 of 2 in Bretton Woods
278 reviews
9.9 mi away
Royalty Inn
Royalty Inn
#3 of 7 in Gorham
444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Joe Dodge Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Joe Dodge Lodge

Property: Joe Dodge Lodge
Address: Route 16, Gorham, NH 03846
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Gorham
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Gorham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pinkham Notch has been a hub for hiking, climbing, snowshoeing, and skiing on the Presidential Range of the White Mountains since the 1920s. With access to Tuckerman Ravine and the Wildcat Range just outside your door, Joe Dodge Lodge provides the perfect opportunity to tackle more challenging terrain while offering beginner hikers, climbers, and skiers a chance to practice their skills. The Lodge is located on the Appalachian Trail in the White Mountain National Forest. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Joe Dodge Hotel Gorham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing