We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spectacular location, clean rooms, friendly staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Joe Dodge Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gorham
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Joe Dodge Lodge
GreenLeadersGold level
Boston
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Spectacular location, clean rooms, friendly staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

First, let me be clear that Joe Dodge Lodge is more like a hostel than a hotel, with shared (very clean) bathrooms down the hall. If you're not comfortable with that sort of arrangement, then this place is not for you. However, if you are OK with that, this place is near perfect. I stayed with my husband and 2 kids (ages 4 and 6) and we loved it. The rooms are clean and well-appointed, beds are comfortable (if a little on the hard side), linens and towels are provided, and several large common rooms are really lovely and comfortable, plus there's a little nature discovery center for kids. Our family room had 2 bunk beds, with one bottom bunk being a double bed. The food at the communal meals (breakfast and dinner) was surprisingly good (delicious, really), with lots of options and no problems accommodating the kids. The staff was amazingly friendly and helpful, as well as knowledgeable about the area. Last but not least, the location is spectacular, right at the foot of Mt. Washington, with wonderful hiking trails right out the front door, free tubing and cross-country skiing available up the road (with a pass from Joe Dodge), and Wildcat ski area even closer. We're already planning a return trip.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
Helpful?
2 Thank dreamoftrains
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    33
    7
    2
    5
See reviews for
35
26
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
217 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

You have to love AMC! What a balance they've found in welcoming folks to the pristine magic of the White Mts while kindly educating folks on the fragility of the environment.
It's downright phenomenal to hear the QUIET in this serene setting yet to have the perks of great food and like minded company. Strangers become friends in a heartbeat.
The lodge is cozy and comfy and yes, walls may be thin but most are so tired that it's rare to be kept up by noisy folks. BYOB .. so nice to sip wine over healthy dinner cooked to perfection. The staff is delightful and helpful. Didn't hurt to see a glorious bull moose with giant rack quite close/across the street at dusk. The hiking is par none.
Join and support AMC and Joe Dodge is great. We are so blessed to have the hut and lodge system in NH.

Room Tip: Top floor, away from the stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NewHampshirePeppie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
60 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here and hiked for three days. The staff here are very helpful and informative. We went on a guided hike which was free with a chap from the AMC. He was incredibly knowledgeable and made the hike up to the ledge a real experience! The food is much better here than The Highland Centre. I really enjoyed dinner each night and the breakfast muffins are worth getting up for - despite aching calves. There is a real homely feel here with a very comfortable bed and fireplace lit (gas) Each evening. However my criticism is we stayed in the room dubbed Beech. We could hear absolutely everything going on in the staff room next door. I would never stay in that room again as we could hear drawers being opened, talking on the phone, etc they really need to do something about insulating the rooms as the walls are paper thin.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank perrygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMC L, General Manager at Joe Dodge Lodge, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Thank you for your thoughtful review. We’re very pleased to hear that you enjoyed the free, guided hike to Square Ledge as well as the meals and atmosphere that we offer at Joe Dodge Lodge. We apologize for any inconvenience as a result of the sound issues specific to the room you stayed in, and would like to let you know that we're in the process of an ongoing effort to minimize noise in the lodge. Our additional soundproofing efforts will ensure that future stays at Joe Dodge Lodge are relaxing and that sound disturbance will be kept to a minimum for all guests.

--Vinnie Spiotti, AMC Joe Dodge Lodge Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwell, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

I'd be the first to say - Joe Dodge may not be for everyone. But, if you're an outdoor enthusiast, or simply enjoy being connected with nature (and with other people who are connected with nature), it's a joy.

Joe Dodge lodge rooms are rustic feeling, but not old. The furniture seems to come right out of the LL Bean catalog. The rooms are a little small, but very comfortable. We also found the shared bathroom (just down the hall) to be just fine. Showers were hot, and bathrooms were clean.

We also love how Joe Dodge includes your meals -- something often overlooked. It also makes the prices seem much more reasonable, when you factor in dinner and breakfast with the room rate. Being AMC members also saved us a bunch.

Probably the best thing about Joe Dodge -- you're right at Pinkham Notch, so whether you're beginning your day or ending your day, you don't need to drive anywhere, which is great.

So again, not for everyone, but for us, this place is a god-send...and we're happy it's there. Nice job AMC.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeffrey W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
east coast
Level Contributor
80 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012

Recently renovated rooms, convenient location, with fireplaces in the library and sitting area. Communal meals (breakfast especially good-oatmeal, eggs, bacon, pancakes, yogurt, cereal, muffins/coffee cake) . Breakfast till 9:00 am, dinner at 6 pm. Given tickets for each meal when you register. Very clean bathrooms down the hall. Negatives-thin walls, dinner at set time, and no fruit/healthy dessert. Hiking trails right outside.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rednissan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012

Joe Dodge often figures in the center of our hiking itinerary, and our most recent experience did not disappoint one bit. My husband and I stayed at JD on the night prior to traversing the presidentials, and on the night that we fininshed. I can't even tell you how awesome it was to come down out of the mountains after four days of strenuous climbing to the welcoming room, hot showers, excellent food choices, and the unwritten but clearly understood policy of being quiet and respectful after hours. We have stayed at JD often, but this was the first in the dead of summer, and I thought it would have been noiser. We were pleasantly surprised. A clean room, towels, hot showers, comfortable lounge areas, social hours, and two amazing full meals; as AMC members, it continues to be the best value around. Perfect!

Room Tip: There's more than just dorm room accomodations, and the value is still very good. Private rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Connie989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2012

We just returned from our family (myself, husband and 4 year old) vacation at the Joe Dodge Lodge. I almost canceled our reservation after reading a review stating that there had been a bed bug issue. So glad I didn't! I called and spoke with the manager who assured me that measures such as detectors, visual inspection, specialized trained sniffing dogs, exterminators, and renovations, have all been (and continue to be) a part of assuring NO BED BUGS! What more could you ask for? I only wish that all the rentals I go to would take such precautions. Needless to say, we did not detect any bugs of any type to be a part of our family vacation.
This was our first stay at an AMC lodge. Although we enjoy the outdoors, we did not choose the lodge with hiking in mind. We actually chose this vacation because of the price! It was the most affordable family vacation I could find, that actually included breakfast and dinner.
The dinning hall was a big part of the charm for us during our stay. Dinner is served "family style," allowing opportunity to meet interesting people from all over the USA, and abroad.
Dinner started out with homemade bread (so good), followed by delicious soup, salad, and then the main course that always included a vegetarian option, and then dessert. I can't say that I always loved everything that was served, but with so many options, I never felt dissatisfied. Breakfast was "serve yourself" with many options from cereal to pancakes. The staff made me special egg whites every morning- with a smile.
The staff was eager to give advice on hikes, activities that fit our families needs. We really enjoyed a trip to the Glen Ellis Falls that is down the road from the lodge. No need to take a car as it is a short distance to the tail head. Another day, we took a more difficult hike that took about 2 hours and led to Lost Pond. Beautiful!
Our days consisted of breakfast, hiking, back to the lodge for lunch (you have to purchase lunch), finding swimming holes, dinner and then bed. We did not drive anywhere for three days, and had no problems finding family fun. We were oh so very sad to leave-
Thanks Joe for the memories!

Room Tip: The bedroom doors SLAM when opened and shut. We were woke many times in the night, and we had 2 box...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sunshinegirl39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gorham
10.0 mi away
Town & Country Inn and Resort
9.9 mi away
Royalty Inn
Royalty Inn
#3 of 7 in Gorham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
8.4 mi away
The Wentworth
The Wentworth
#2 of 4 in Jackson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
The Inn at Thorn Hill & Spa
16.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites North Conway
9.2 mi away
Omni Mount Washington Resort
Omni Mount Washington Resort
#1 of 2 in Bretton Woods
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Joe Dodge Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Joe Dodge Lodge

Property: Joe Dodge Lodge
Address: Route 16, Gorham, NH 03846
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Gorham
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Gorham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pinkham Notch has been a hub for hiking, climbing, snowshoeing, and skiing on the Presidential Range of the White Mountains since the 1920s. With access to Tuckerman Ravine and the Wildcat Range just outside your door, Joe Dodge Lodge provides the perfect opportunity to tackle more challenging terrain while offering beginner hikers, climbers, and skiers a chance to practice their skills. The Lodge is located on the Appalachian Trail in the White Mountain National Forest. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Joe Dodge Hotel Gorham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing