We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisy and Too Much Like Being in a Dorm”
Review of Joe Dodge Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gorham
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Joe Dodge Lodge
GreenLeadersGold level
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Noisy and Too Much Like Being in a Dorm”
Reviewed May 29, 2011

We've stayed here from time to time when needing to get an early start for an adventure in the area. It may just be bad luck, but last two times there have been groups of very loud people (e.g., college kids partying) who interrupt sleep at weird hours (e.g., 3 AM).

I'm used to staying in ski dorms, etc., so don't mind the group bathrooms and overall communal living. But usually there's an innkeeper with a strong presence, and there's a culture of respecting others. Here, both seem to be missing (and I suspect they're related).

Lastly, little amenities you expect in a place to stay are poorly thought out or missing. E.g., no cups or towels in the kitchenette area, only electrical outlet in the rooms are oddly placed above the beds, etc. (To mention a plus, I was surprised and delighted that they went to the trouble to offer free Wi-Fi.)

For the money, I think one is better off at a B&B.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jon44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    34
    8
    3
    5
See reviews for
35
26
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2011

I would think twice about staying here! We stayed here and two chaperones were infested with bites! Once home, our school called the Joe Dodge Lodge to let them know about the bites and were told that they have had a bed bug infestation. Don't you think they should have mentioned that before we stayed there????? I would pitch a tent somewhere in the woods......

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank libby049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abrais, Manager at Joe Dodge Lodge, responded to this review, June 4, 2011
Bed bugs are a problem for the hospitality industry throughout the region and the country, and AMC is committed to following best practices and remaining vigilant in our efforts to prevent or eliminate bed bugs or other pests.

AMC maintains an aggressive monitoring and prevention program at our lodging establishments to combat such pests as bed bugs. If such pests are suspected, our policy is to engage a professional pest control company to assess and resolve any problems.

If we receive a report of such pests, the room in question will be taken off market, inspected by a professional pest control company, and treated, if necessary. It will not be made available to guests until we are confident any issues have been resolved.

In addition to monitoring and preventive measures, our staff is trained in identifying signs of these pests so that treatment measures may be taken as necessary. To help ensure that we remain proactive, housekeeping staff inspects rooms for signs of bed bugs as part of their regular duties.

Customer satisfaction is very important to us. We continue to work with this group to resolve any outstanding issues related to this stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Ma
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2011

The rooms are at best. Spartan. Oh, they're clean enough and if your intention is to jump right onto a trail in the morning, the location is handy. The bathrooms and showers however, are down the hall and you have to be willing to share. It's a hostel/dormitory style living with little in the way of ordinary amenities. At $125 a night for double bunk beds it is far from a bargain. A specialty Experience? Certainly but a good deal for the money? Not a chance! There are plenty of decent hotels n the area even cheaper that provide more comfort and privacy.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank undergrounds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abrais, Manager at Joe Dodge Lodge, responded to this review, May 20, 2011
We're glad you liked Joe Dodge Lodge's location steps from the trails, but we are sorry to hear our rate didn't offer the value you were looking for. The rate you mention includes a family-style dinner and full breakfast, something typically not offered as part of standard motel or hotel rates. The next time you're visiting the White Mountains, you might consider our room-only or B&B rates. Happy trails!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2011

What a wonderful lodge. The staff make this place and the Carter hut a wonderful experience. We stayed first night at lodge and hiked to Carter hut the next day. The hike was beautiful. The hut inviting and fun. The caretaker, Mike, was so accommodating and very interesting! We had such a positive experience, we returned two weeks later with friends! Sleeping in zero degrees is not that bad! Bring zero rated bag and water bottle to fill with hot water. Put in bag one hour before bed and u will be warm as toast! Really!

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rambledog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
71 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2011

AMC's Pinkham Notch lodge is the best place in the White Mtns for every winter activity, hiking, back country skiing, ski touring, snowshoeing, downhill, etc. in the most beautiful place in NH. Be prepared for informality and friendliness in the lodge and the dining hall. Shared meals (and bathrooms!) with people who love these winter activities. The food is very good and the people who work there are helpful, knowledgeable, and very friendly. You don't need to get in your car once you arrive but Jackson and North Conway are close by if you are so inclined. The AMC has lots of activities if you want to participate. No jacuzzi. The ethos is conservation.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank quietvisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
1 review
Reviewed March 5, 2011

If you love friendly people, healthy outdoor activities, and hanging around the fire on a dark night, you will love Joe Dodge.
I have visited several times over the years, usually with one or more children. This time it was with a friend and her 17 year old daughter and mine, a "mother-daughter" weekend. As usual, the food was healthy and delicious, the cross-country skiing at nearby and gorgeous Great Glen (free trail pass with your stay!) was great, and we had fun on borrowed snowshoes as well.
Best of all is the community feeling--something so needed and yet rare in our busy, city lives.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Betsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
72 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2011

I have stayed at Joe Dodge Lodge (aka AMC Pinkham Notch) three times and have always found it to be a great experience.

Things that I like:
1. the food is fantastic - plenty of hearty home cooked food (I learned over the weekend that the chef has worked there for 30 years - long may it last!)
2. the staff are fantastic - very friendly and an excellent source of information on all things outdoors. I have been hiking for more than 20 years and I always learn something new everytime of stay
3. the location is excellent - you are right on the AT and within a couple mintutes drive from other hiking, downhill skiiing and cross country skiing activity

If there were things that I would change:
1. the restrooms and shower facilities are a little old and could do with some renovation
2. how about a bar before dinner like at some of the other AMC lodges?

Overall though I love staying here.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Horseboxhero2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gorham
10.1 mi away
Mt Madison Inn & Suites
8.8 mi away
The Inn at Thorn Hill & Spa
8.4 mi away
The Wentworth
The Wentworth
#2 of 4 in Jackson
797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
The Lodge at Bretton Woods
The Lodge at Bretton Woods
#2 of 2 in Bretton Woods
278 reviews
10.0 mi away
Town & Country Inn and Resort
9.2 mi away
Omni Mount Washington Resort
Omni Mount Washington Resort
#1 of 2 in Bretton Woods
3,402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Joe Dodge Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Joe Dodge Lodge

Property: Joe Dodge Lodge
Address: Route 16, Gorham, NH 03846
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Gorham
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Gorham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pinkham Notch has been a hub for hiking, climbing, snowshoeing, and skiing on the Presidential Range of the White Mountains since the 1920s. With access to Tuckerman Ravine and the Wildcat Range just outside your door, Joe Dodge Lodge provides the perfect opportunity to tackle more challenging terrain while offering beginner hikers, climbers, and skiers a chance to practice their skills. The Lodge is located on the Appalachian Trail in the White Mountain National Forest. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Joe Dodge Hotel Gorham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing