We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Winter SnowCoach ride to the treeline was awesome!”

Mount Washington Auto Road
Ranked #1 of 15 things to do in Gorham
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Since 1861, a spectacular, steep eight-mile scenic road that leads to the top of Mount Washington, the highest peak in the Northeast. Drive yourself or take a 2 hour guided tour in company vans. Mt. Washington State Park and the Mt Washington Observatory are at the summit.
Deerfield, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
67 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“The Winter SnowCoach ride to the treeline was awesome!”
Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

We went on the SnowCoach for a 1 1/2 hour trip that went half way up Mount Washington. Our Coach driver Kate had told us you either get a weather day or a view day. We got a weather day and experienced some of the power of a Mount Washington winter. The trip was well narrated, with lots of information. We were also delighted to see around 20 antique snowmobiles descend from their annual trek up the auto road (a one day a year event). I would like to do the trip again on a "view" day.
The Glen Trails Lodge has a cafe, shop, and a spectacular view. You are welcome to bring your own picnic lunch in as well.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank AMB555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,225 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    884
    241
    47
    18
    35
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
46 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Surprise Gem”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

It shouldn't have come as a surprise really. After all, I had seen the bumper stickers on cars for decades from NH to Washington, D.C. But I always figured the people who drove up were people who were not fit enough to hike up and preferred not to do the cog railway for whatever reason. Boy, was I wrong. The drive is interesting, if you listen to the recording they give you on CD, and you pay attention to what is going on 360 degrees around your car. The view changes every few minutes. There are lots of pull-overs to stop and spend more time. Bring binoculars. It will really help if you are somewhat familiar with the area so you know what you are looking at from the summit and points on your way up.

On the way down, be careful about braking. Use low gears. If you don't know how to use low gears on your automatic transmission, read the manual. You won't be sorry.

I don't recommend eating at the summit snack bar. Enough said. Bring your own food. Save money and your stomach.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ONTARIO
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“THE SAFEST HIGHWAY IN AMERICA”
Reviewed March 27, 2013

I did some research. Turns out there really have been only two fatal accidents in the entire, long history of the Mount Washington Highway. One was in the pre auto era, the other took place near the very bottom. I don't wish to make light of these accidents, and the lives that were lost[the nineteenth century example was caused by a drunk driver, which demonstrates our consistent ability to be colossally stupid], but a shocking truth emerges; there has never been a tragic car accident on the frighteningly horrific dirt section. So take that, all you dirt cowards. This introduces a new concept in highway safety; the narrow, unimproved, 150 year old road, without guardrails, and dropoffs to infinity. These rate driver attention, concentration, and raw knuckles to the perfection that we all believe ourselves to possess. The perfect results speak for themselves. If you are under 30; you'll enjoy the experience BECAUSE of the conditions. Over 30? Just chant continuously that the statistics are on your side, even though you won't believe it.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
8 Thank ARTONTARIO_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campton, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
110 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Amazing scenery”
Reviewed March 23, 2013

I have been an avid hiker in the White Mountains for years. I have hiked Mt. Washington many times before having driven up the auto road. Hiking is of course very strenuous and takes hours.
The drive is of course easy and fairly quick. The best thing about the drive is that you see much more terrain than when you hike, The road is in fact narrow and takes concentration. One should pay close attention especially upon decent to stay in a low gear. I have driven a motorcycle, a truck and a car to the summit. Low gear is crucial on any vehicle, even more so on a motorcycle.
I would not recommend this drive for skittish or timid people but if you are up to it, the beauty is worth the cost.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank MountainsRock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High View, West Virginia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Beautiful views and scenery!”
Reviewed March 5, 2013 via mobile

Mount Washington is a beautiful place to visit! If you take the drive with you own vehicle, the road is very steep and they tell you that you drive no faster than 10 miles per hour and in first gear all the way up and down. The views are breathtaking! Just don't drive up on a day that rain is expected. The mountain seems to have its own weather system!

Helpful?
Thank Mysti G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mount Washington Auto Road also viewed

 

Been to Mount Washington Auto Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing