We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Way to Spend A Winter Day!”

Great Glen Trails Outdoor Center
Ranked #2 of 15 things to do in Gorham
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Family outdoor recreation center in the middle of the White Mountains. Cross country skiing, snowshoeing, snow tubing and SnowCoach rides up the Mt Washington Auto Road and a ski shop to outfit you for the fun in the winter; private carriage road type trail system for biking, running, birding and nature study in summer along with kayak and canoe trips and an outdoor shop.
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
192 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Great Way to Spend A Winter Day!”
Reviewed February 11, 2014

Went snowshoeing with friends recently at Great Glen Trails. The friendly staff helped us with rentals (equipment was in good shape and a great fit) and selecting our adventure! We opted for the Aqueduct loop an intermediate trail that took us 3 miles and about 1.5 hrs to complete. The trail was well marked and the views along the way were breathtaking. The lodge is warm and inviting, restrooms very clean (even have changing rooms and hair dryers), and there is an onsite cafe. We will definitely go back and explore some of the other trails in this area.
Hint: Fridays is two for one (there are some blackout dates).

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank DodgerMom668
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    24
    0
    1
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Hopkinton, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Peak Experience on the Great Glen Snow Coach”
Reviewed February 9, 2014

My wife and I were staying in Pinkham Notch the day of the first February 2014 snow storm. The next day happened to be sunny and windless, so we planned to go to Great Glen for cross country skiing on new powder and groomed trails. When we went to get our passes (free when you stay at AMC's Joe Dodge Lodge in Pinkham), the GG agent suggested we ride their Snow Coach up the Auto Road on Mt. Washington and ski down on our x-cntry skis (no downhill skis allowed though). We signed on for the trip, so for the price of a dinner for two in Jackson, we threw our skis on the Coach (a big van with snow cat-type tracks). Perfect weather + perfect snow + the Snow Coach made for us a terrific outdoor experience. The vistas were stunning and the skiing was awesome for anyone who can snowplow for 3 miles. Many picture opportunities en route. To make things even better, Great Glen had groomed one side of the Auto Road for x-cntry skiing and the Snow Coaches stayed to the opposite side. Our Snow Coach driver/guide Kate was personable, helpful, informative about White Mountain history, the topography and all things natural. If you x-cntry ski, you should try this! If you do not ski, it's still a great ride.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Gloucester, Maine
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Great Glen Trails - AWESOME!!”
Reviewed January 26, 2014

We love Great Glen Trails! XC Skiing in winter (or snow shoeing). Running, hiking, mountain biking in the rest of the seasons. Friendly, wonderful atmosphere, inside and out. Lots of fun events to partake in, but you can also just enjoy the quiet by yourself. Great for families. Great to just show up solo and enjoy a good workout and camaraderie. Trails are always maintained to perfection. The shops sell the BEST gear and clothing! Cafe is great too. Employees are always there to be helpful! Views of Mt. Washington are unsurpassed from the wonderful, big yet cozy lodge. Worth a visit (and again and again)!!!! And, as a bonus, you can even take a hot shower!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank mlou4hike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alton Bay, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Amazing Staff”
Reviewed January 18, 2014

I have been to Great Glen Trails many times, and I have always loved Cross-country skiing there because their trails are well-groomed and maintained, they usually have great snow cover, and they are in a beautiful setting. In addition, what they have over other x-country ski areas is their incredibly helpful and knowledgable staff. They are all cross-country skiers who love the sport and love to help you enjoy the sport. They have a great shop there as well.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Momofteens2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malden, Massachusetts
2 reviews
“Terrible for Tubing”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

The hill wasn't even a slope - maybe incline is even too generous a word. We couldn't get even halfway down it without a push. Waste of $15.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Laura K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Great Glen Trails Outdoor Center also viewed

 
Gorham, White Mountains
Gorham, White Mountains
 

Been to Great Glen Trails Outdoor Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing