We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“needs a little work”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Storybook Inn & Suites
Ranked #5 of 5 Glen B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 9, 2005

We just spent 2 nights at the Storybook resort-my extended family ages 9-42. We had 3 rooms in the hillside building. We have been visiting the White Mtn. area almost annually for about 20 years, and usually stay in North Conway. This resort is approximately 10 miles from town (and the outlets!), right off rt. 302, formally a Best Western. We found the staff particularly friendly and accommodating. This was especially true when my sister had to change her room due to a moldy/mildew smell. She was quickly changed to another room in the same building on the 2nd floor, where the smell was greatly reduced. It rained all weekend, so this probably added to the problem of the smell. The rooms have 2 queen sized beds, room for a roll-away, a mini fridge, microwave and a patio (ground floor)/covered balcony for the rooms on the 2nd floor. The rooms appeared to be clean, the beds very comfortable. There were some water spots on the ceiling and stains on the carpet--which might be the origin of the mildew/musty smell.
We found the small restaurant on property nice--again staff very friendly. Some of the group used the indoor pool which they liked, there is also an outdoor pool and playground. We paid $165.00 per night which I thought was a little steep. For comparison, we stayed at the Holiday Inn express last year for $188.00/night and the facilities, except for a smaller pool, were much nicer. The price also included a continental breakfast (at the Holiday Inn). I don't like to give negative reviews as I didn't stay in all the rooms at the resort--maybe some of the newer buildings had nicer rooms (without the smell) and our situation was just unfortunate. I would stay here again if I could get a better price, as most hotels in North Conway are very expensive during leaf-peeping season, and we don't really spend much time at the hotel anyway.
Again, I have to compliment the staff, everyone from the front desk to housekeeping, was very nice.

  • Stayed: October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank geekie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (94)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

84 - 90 of 94 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
220
Reviewed September 7, 2004

Although the staff at the front desk was friendly and helpful, we found that the rooms were too old and not updated. The towels were very rough and we could not use them on our face (too scratchy). The bed was very uncomfortable and the shower wasn't too bad. The room was a bit pricey! We certainly did not get what we paid for!!

However, the location of Storybook Resort is in a perfect location as it is conviently located to anywhere you may need to go

19  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2004

Stayed at the Storybook Resort on August 21, 2004. Staff at the front desk was very friendly and accommodating, and we took the last room available. The room was in the Inn portion of the property and was roomy, but that is the nicest comment we have. The condition of the room was run down, with ripped or missing window shades, wallpaper ripped and actually peeling off the walls, and the overall condition of the room and furnishings can only be described as threadbare and worn out. Location is teriffic, but many other choices for lodging in the area to look at first!

  • Stayed: August 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank Pete151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Billerica, MA
18
Reviewed July 25, 2004

I travel around New England quite a bit and found that, for the money, this was a great place. I found it to be clean and service to be quite friendly. I will definitely return when I am in the White Mountain area for the foliage season.

My boyfriend and I also found the indoor pool area to have a nice, wooded spa like feel to it.

8  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2004

The location of the INN is very convenient, especially if you are taking the kids to the StoryLand. There is convenience store across the street and BBQ pits are on the property.

Room was okay, comfortable and clean. For the price you would expect something better though.
Staff was very cold. Did not seem knowledgeable regarding the area information OR may be did not want to spend the time.
And those of you who have little ones remember they charge for providing a Basonet!!!
Most INNs/Hotels would provide a courstesy late check out. They charge an additional fee. Reason they give is because people with next day reservation start coming in...however, late-checkout does not seem to be a problem if additional fee is paid.

Overall you get a commercial feeling rather than of comfort.

7  Thank ExploreBostonNow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2004

Do Not waste your money here! The staff was rude, the accommadations shabby - worn out linens, curtains didn't fit windows so would not close and fell off hooks, moldy smell in rooms. For the price you would expect a quality operation, not a half baked ski lodge.

21  Thank weR4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: Die Zimmer im hinteren Berich grenzen direkt an ein Waldgebiet. Diese sind dadurch sehr ruhig mit to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank bern71marg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glen
6.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites North Conway
6.0 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites North Conway
2.5 mi away
The Wentworth
The Wentworth
#2 of 4 in Jackson
848 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Nordic Village Resort
Nordic Village Resort
#4 of 12 in Bartlett
514 reviews
4.4 mi away
Attitash Grand Summit Hotel
1.2 mi away
Swiss Chalets Village Inn
Swiss Chalets Village Inn
#2 of 3 in Intervale
576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Storybook Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Storybook Inn & Suites

Address: at the junction of Rtes 302 & 16N, Glen, Bartlett, NH 03838
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Bartlett > Glen
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Glen
Price Range: $106 - $226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Storybook Inn & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of the White Mountains in Glen, NH, our 76-room hotel offers great location near Storyland and Mt. Washington. Additionally some of the most beautiful scenery for hiking, biking, canoeing, golf and more, plus tax free shopping and restaurants. Let us be your vacation destination! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Storybook Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Storybook Hotel Glen
Storybook Inn And Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing