We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First time at Glen Ellis, already booked for next year”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Glen
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Glen Ellis Family Campground
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Glen
Certificate of Excellence
Chelmsford, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“First time at Glen Ellis, already booked for next year”
Reviewed August 31, 2011

My sister had raved about camping at Glen Ellis last year and had booked for a week in August. My family decided to try and book for the 2nd weekend of their stay, but all of the camp sites were booked up. The front desk person on the phone (very nice) suggested that I try calling back over the next few days to see if there were any cancellations. On the 2nd try not only did they have a site; but it was on the river, and as luck would have it, right next to my sister's family. Weird, but really lucky. We stayed on site #158. The river was very low, but all the kids had a great time playing in the water, catching minnows and exploring the low pools. The swimming hole and rope swing were only a short walk away and a lot of fun. Grounds were very well maintained, bathrooms clean. Site were level, which was appreciated as we are in a tent. The campground is in a great location. It sits between 2 rivers, one being the Saco, so it is a long peninsula. You fee like you are in the middle of the woods, but very close to Storyland, shopping and restaurants. We liked it so much we booked for 5 night next August on the same sites. Looking forward to coming back.

Room Tip: River sites, especially the tent sites are worth getting if you can. The view is beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrYellek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    18
    4
    2
    4
See reviews for
54
5
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2011

We just sated here for the first
time after being referee here by a friend. The campground is huge. Site are well placed. We had lots of privacy and space. The bathrooms and showers were clean. The river was awesome. Great for swimming and tubing. I will come back here again and again.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mduch777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ct
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2011

We booked to spend a week here at the end of June going into July. We were in site 65 which was right across from the river. The site was large enough for our popup and our screen home. We found this camp ground to be spotlessly clean, the staff was so friendly and very informative about things to do in the area. It was the first campground we have been to where I felt absolutely fine about the kids hopping on their bikes and exploring. The pool was pristine (but cold) and the the kids enjoyed it! There is a small game barn with some games and an air hockey table.
You can rent tubes and float down the river. The tubes are 5 dollars for 4 hours but they are so large that we only took two and each adult grabbed a kid and went! It was fun, a short float, out a little walk and then do it again and again.
The showers were clean, they are metered so bring some quarters but they were hot and clean. I only had to wait one morning for a shower and that was only about 5 minutes.
The laundry that is attached to the campground is spotless and monitored by a very nice woman who keeps it tidy.
I read another review who said that the golf carts were noisy. I found it to be the opposite, they did patrol every hour and half or so but I thought it was great. On our first night a nice teenaged boy was patrolling and letting everyone know that a momma bear and her baby had been seen in the campground and reminding us to put away our food so that we didn't have a mess to clean up in the morning!. I also had to laundry really late one night and when I drove back in I saw the golf cart was parked in the middle of the campground with a man sitting in it monitoring, which made me fell very comfortable.... could be why it is such a well run QUIET family campground!!!
We loved it so much we added an extra night and have already booked for next year!

Room Tip: Sites near the river are wooded and gorgeous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank teachrmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2011

We tent camped at Glen Ellis. Our site was #85 which is along the river. The site was very private and spacious. We had out own fire pit and picnic table and our view was amazing. The campground did not feel cramped and congested. Service was great and friendly. Be sure to pack the bikes for the kids and fishing poles. The only thing I would improve on is that I wish they had more family planned activities. The was only karaoke and my kids aren't really into that.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Livanoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2010

Pros:The view from this campground is breathtakingly beautiful... The river is spectacular.. Great location..

Cons:Dumpsters were overflowing..staff was unproffesional.. Loud golfcarts driving around late at night.. Took an hour to figure out our bill very unorganized bookkeeping.. Traveled with children yet there were no activities expect a couple of hours of Karoake on Sat night..

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank tammyl9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRANBY, CT
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2010

Glenn Ellis Campgroung is an awesome place for a family camping experience. We have two children 13 & 11 and had a river side tent campsite #74. It is a family owned and operated with that family feel.
They have so many things for kids and adults to do and see, which makes it fun. Kids ride bikes and have an activity barn complete with ice cream at night.

They keep the facilites clean and fresh which is hard when they have over 150+ campsites. Everything from tent sites to RV full service sites. Full lanudry mat on site.

Location is easy, 7 miles from downtown North Conway, 1 mile from Storyland, 2 miles from Attitash area.

Give them a call and enjoy the fun.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DJM526
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, MA
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2010

We went tent camping there on a visit to story land and loved our stay. The campground was so quiet and peaceful despite being a very full weekend (around 90% full). The sites were very level and roomy. The proximity to story land was a huge plus. The firewood they sold was dry. The kids loved the playground. The coffee house/rec center looked new.
As far as the bathrooms go - they were very clean but ran out of paper towels on Friday night. The showers are coin-operated. This usually is a big negative for me, but the water came out hot immediately and the cost was 25 cents for 5 minutes. The showers themselves were nice and roomy but the ante room could have been bigger.
Upon check-in they warned us that bear are in the area every night so we shouldn't eat in our tents or leave food out. We took proper precautions and never saw any evidence of any bears.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jay E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glen
6.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites North Conway
5.3 mi away
Red Jacket Mountain View Resort & Water Park
2.9 mi away
The Wentworth
The Wentworth
#2 of 4 in Jackson
804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Nordic Village Resort
Nordic Village Resort
#3 of 12 in Bartlett
482 reviews
1.4 mi away
Swiss Chalets Village Inn
Swiss Chalets Village Inn
#2 of 3 in Intervale
558 reviews
4.0 mi away
Attitash Grand Summit Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glen Ellis Family Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glen Ellis Family Campground

Property: Glen Ellis Family Campground
Address: Route 302, Glen, Bartlett, NH 03838
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Bartlett > Glen
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Glen
Number of rooms: 216

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing