We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home Away from Home”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bernerhof Inn Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 5 Glen B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 23, 2014

Bill and I needed a break from worrying about my up-coming mastectomy, so at the height of the 2014's Polar Vortex we headed north to New Hampshire. We're we crazy? No -- We left the cancer at home. We spent four days at the Bernerhof Inn. Although the weather outside was frightful, inside it was as warm and welcoming as you can possibly imagine. It was as if we were in our own home (only cleaner :-) and we didn't have to cook.)

We went cross-country skiing, slept late, read to each other, went shopping, enjoyed the double jacuzzi in our room, borrowed DVDs from the Inn's library, and had a couple's massage. (Okay, we fooled around too.) Our second day there, I walked into the Inn and asked why does it always smell like fresh-baked cookies in here? Steve, the co-owner, said, "It better smell like that." And sure enough there were fresh-baked chocolate chip cookies in the breakfast nook. Yum! The home-cooked breakfasts were varied, creative, and delicious -- pancakes, French toast, egg Benedict, etc. There were numerous great restaurants nearby for lunch and dinner. The temperature outside ranged from 10 Degrees F to minus 39 Degrees F at times, but there was always a fire going in every fireplace and the opportunity to share good conversions with Steve and his wife Katey and with the other guests. Even the dog, Holly, was welcoming with her tail wagging. These folks are professionals who know how to make you feel at home away from home. The only problem we had was, with it being so cold outside, our room was sometimes too warm at night. Better that, than too cold.

So, for us, it was the perfect. The cancer stayed at home and we relaxed! So, if you're looking for a romantic winter get away, try the Bernerhoff Inn. (I know this review might sound like I work for Steve and Katey, but I don't!)

Room Tip: We were in the front room, number 5, but we also looked at room 11 and 12 and they were gorgeous too...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Scorpion100_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteveandKatey, Owner at Bernerhof Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2014

Dear Clara and Bill: Words cannot express how special we feel about being a little part of your respite prior to your surgery. You both made for some great guests and truly some nice memories of your laughing and perhaps similar views re: Washington and other topics. This nice recap you've shared is breakfast for champions in our view as well, thank you very much.

As you know we've been conversing on email since your heading back to Princeton and needless to say our invitation to please come visit over the summer remains standing. Alittle Saco River slow tubing and some moose safari time together would be perfect for you both.

Again, thank you for your choosing The Bernerhof Inn as your White Mountains Home away from home - we'll be excited to see you back when you return!

PS. We'll keep tabs on Bill's writing online and you can bet some reviews of our own will make his day as well :)!


Katey and Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (847)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

578 - 584 of 847 reviews

Reviewed January 22, 2014

My boyfriend and I like to go to North Conway to celebrate our Christmas together. This is the 2nd time we've stayed at the Bernerhof Inn and it's perfect for our winter getaway. When we arrived, the Innkeeper, Steve, was building a fire outside in the snow for afternoon hot toddy's. The common areas in the Inn are warm and welcoming and the rooms are clean with comfortable beds, a fireplace, and a jacuzzi. It was snowing and we didn't want to go too far after dinner, so we went back to the Inn where we found Steve and the other guests hanging out by the fire in the pub so we joined them for a friendly game of Cards Against Humanity. We had a lot of fun getting to know the other guests, which made for an interesting breakfast the next morning. The Innkeepers are welcoming and helpful, and the breakfast does not disappoint. The location is convenient to downtown and restaurants, as well as the outlets. We will continue to stay at the Bernerhof for our annual trip.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jacqui B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteveandKatey, Owner at Bernerhof Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2014

Thank you for another annual visit! Your quality time together then spent with us as well were enjoyed by us as well...The review you've posted made our Friday and will surely be the spirit that we welcome you back in everytime you venture to the inn. Thank you also for the humor and conversation shared, we had fun being part of 2014 Winter getaway for you both, come back for a semi-annual visit and we'll stay up late playing cards again as well!

Katey and Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2014

What a perfect place to enjoy rest and relaxation while staying in the White Mountains! Conveniently located a short drive from North Conway, the Bernerhof Inn offers a lovely getaway to travelers of all seasons! Whether you are heading to the White Mountains to ski, hike, shop or explore, this is the place you want to stay! The beautiful clean accommodations include spacious guest rooms with Jacuzzi tubs, fire places, and comfortable beds. The warm and welcoming staff is there to help make you feel right at home. Inside common rooms include a warm and inviting sitting room, fireplaces throughout, tiffany style lighting that creates a charming ambiance, the Black Bear Pub where you can sit and enjoy wine or beer, and a pretty breakfast area where guests can enjoy a delicious meal in the morning. I would highly recommend this bed and breakfast inn and I look forward to going back again soon!

Room Tip: All the rooms appeared to be just as nice as the next. We were on the third floor and found it to b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MGeaumont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteveandKatey, Owner at Bernerhof Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2014

Dear Mr. and Mrs. Geaumont: We enjoyed reading your visit's recap from the title to end! Thank you for coming to our Inn and spending time with us while you relaxed. The photos you took are great, probably going to be on some of our advertising as well. Thank you for becoming new friends - when you come back in '14 we'll pick up where we left off. Until then: stay warm and have a great winter - spring!

Katey and Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2014

My wife an I visited from 1/13/14-1/16/14. We were on a winter getaway and chose this bed and breakfast based on location and previous reviews I read on here. Steve and Katey far exceeded what our expectations were. We had a beautiful room with a Jacuzzi which we never had a chance to use. We spent our free time chatting for hours with Steve and Katey. Every recommendation they gave us was spot on. I cannot recommend this enough and will tell friends and family that if they are going to the White Mountains to stay here. It just felt like home except here I could wake up to an incredible breakfast made just for me. That doesn't happen at home. We also tried a couples massage which I would recommend. I accidentally hit the rating for fitness center and could not remove it as there is no fitness center.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kps7987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteveandKatey, Owner at Bernerhof Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2014

Dear Kevin and Jody: Your absolutely made our week! We had a blast letting you choose your favorite accommodations and our time spent together...you both deserve credit for making the most out of your stay between surprise sled dogging, snowmobiling, spa visits and sampling some of our fav restaurants! We are going to take you up on the invite to visit you in PA, maybe we can house swap some weekend :), We'll trade on a sell out though....as for the Blue/Orange Nerf Ball challenge - we hope you remembered to pack him back home with you, otherwise we'll deliver it and then take you both back to the White Mountains before you know it.

Have a great winter and thank you so much for being our guests and now road warrior friends!

Katey, Steve and Holly as well

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014

The Bernerhof Inn is really the greatest. We had a lot of things to do planned last weekend, and once we got there and saw how nice it was, we found ourselves wishing we had given ourselves more time to hang around. We stayed in the Intervale, which was spacious, clean, well appointed, and warm. The breakfast and afternoon treats were delicious both days, and the always available coffee/tea selection is a huge plus. The bar has a good selection, and it's a comfortable place to hang out… The upcoming food menu will only add to the convenience and comfort here. Steve, Katey, and Holly (the dog) are SUCH great hosts. They were very accommodating, and we had a lot of laughs with them in the evening. We felt like the Bernerhof could be whatever we wanted it to be- we could spend time alone or socialize, and we were always comfortable, happy, and well fed. Thank you Steve and Katey!!!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jemima p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteveandKatey, Owner at Bernerhof Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2014

Dear Newport friends: How great was last weekend? We thoroughly enjoyed meeting you and having your quality time get matched with having some fun with others. The beauty of our Inn you mentioned perfectly, there's some overdue private time for couples and yet there's some new friends to be made in The Black Bear Pub! Thank you for engaging us in some great reminiscing with Newport's offerings as well as yourselves venturing out to explore our valley and report back to us! We cannot wait to see you back and just think, Holly will only be a year and half or so when you revisit with us, still full of wags and desires to show off our hiking spots...

Your compliments were great for us to read and we heartfully Thank You both for coming to our inn!

See you back;

Katey and Steve ( and Holly )

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2014

We really didn't know what to expect. Normally we are traveling with children and I booked this as a getaway for my husbands belated birthday (kid free). We had always talked about going to a B&B but, had fears of not having privacy and feeling out of place in someone's home. This was far from the case at the Bernerhof.The innkeepers Steve and Katey really make you feel welcome in there beautiful Inn. The rooms were beautiful with modern touches. The breakfast was gourmet and absolutely delicious. Steve and Katey always have delicious freshly baked goodies for an afternoon snack and there is always good evening converstaion and drinks in front of the fire in the
common space or at the Black Bear Pub. We truely enjoyed our stay and felt at home in this beautiful Inn with wonderful hosts. We will be planning another stay soon. I would book now if you are looking for a relaxing getway in a 5 star B&B you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BCBradford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteveandKatey, Owner at Bernerhof Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2014

Dear Bradford Family: We had as much fun having your company in our Inn as you did getting some quality time together! Thank you for letting us be your first Bed and Breakfast experience and now we've got some friends for life...forgetting that we spent some good time talking about EASY buttons and the best mattresses available - your endorsement on our bedding was awesome considering the years of experience you brought to our inn as a mattress professional! The review made our day and certainly you've made our friendship where you'll pick up where we left off this winter upon your return!

Have a great rest of winter and we'll see you back maybe with the two young adults in tow next time too :)!

Katey and Steve ( and Holly!)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2014

The Inn is a perfect balance of large & small -- it can be intimate if you want, but there are a dozen rooms so if you desire to socialize, the bar and board games can make it happen. Steve and Katey were flexible, welcoming, and friendly -- not to mention Holly. I don't know if I've ever seen a dog as excitable as her!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mabrown1028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteveandKatey, Owner at Bernerhof Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2014

Dear Matt;

Thanks a million for spending the post-New Year with us and we hope you and Sara had the maximum fun/quality time together you could! Your awesome headline is a bumper sticker for us, we pledge to repeat the fun when you find time to both come up from Somerville and unplug again!
We may have to trade off some White Mountain Cider Co food for the Everette Brazilian dishes as a swap next time...

Thank you again for the opportunity to be your Inn away from home - we loved having you both up!

Katey and Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glen
3.2 mi away
The Inn at Thorn Hill & Spa
3.5 mi away
The Wentworth
The Wentworth
#2 of 4 in Jackson
869 reviews
3.4 mi away
Inn at Ellis River
Inn at Ellis River
#1 of 11 in Jackson
578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Cranmore Inn
Cranmore Inn
#1 of 21 in North Conway
563 reviews
3.5 mi away
Snowflake Inn
Snowflake Inn
#2 of 11 in Jackson
591 reviews
4.2 mi away
Nordic Village Resort
Nordic Village Resort
#4 of 12 in Bartlett
518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bernerhof Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bernerhof Inn Bed and Breakfast

Address: 342 US Route 302, PO Box 240, Glen, Bartlett, NH 03838-6315
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Bartlett > Glen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Glen
Price Range: $119 - $190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bernerhof Inn Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New - Electric Car Charging! Free dual station at our Bernherhof Inn Bed and Breakfast. 12 Rooms with all the modern amenities to include Wi-Fi, Apple Computers and Printers for Guests on each floor. Free use of IPADs. English style pub for guests. Excellent full hearty morning breakfast. Spa, walking/fitness trail and more! We now have electric car charging station! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Bernerhof Inn Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bernerhof Hotel Glen
Bernerhof Inn b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing