We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place run by wonderful people - J Nunez”
Review of Inn at Smith Cove

Inn at Smith Cove
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gilford
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Inn at Smith Cove
Ranked #1 of 3 Gilford B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 2, 2014

The inn is located right on Smith Cove on New Hampshire's best lake, Lake Winnipesaukee. It is peaceful, quiet, and exceptionally clean. I particularly enjoy sitting on the gazebo (located right over the lake) and enjoying the evening breeze. The innkeepers are always very friendly and helpful and go out of their way to make you feel at home. While the inn is not advertised as a bed and breakfast, I should point out that a lovely breakfast is provided each morning. This was a very pleasant surprise that was enjoyed by all in residence. My advice is to come and enjoy the inn's beautiful beach and give this place a try. There are many places to dine and visit in the area. The innkeepers are glad to provide advice and coupons to many of the local attractions.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank julenunez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (33)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 33 reviews

Reviewed June 28, 2014

Lovely Victorian guest house sitting right onthe edge of the lake. So peaceful sitting in the gazebo watching the boats go slowly by. The room was nicely decorated and spotless. However disappointed at poor provision of breakfast (a piece of cake and a coffee out of a thermos in a polystyrene cup!) and it would have been nice to have access to tea and coffee making facilities and drinking water. Great getaway for exploring the lake though.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lettymay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2014

We found this Inn while looking for a quaint place to stay the night after a late concert at the Meadowbrook pavilion in Gilford. We traveled up early in the day and had a delious dinner a walk's away from the Inn.
The owners are very friendly and the quality and care that goes into making one's stay here is apparent. Very clean, with sweet little rustic details gives each room a character all it's own. Crocheted coverlets on the beds, lace curtains at the windows. Antique furniture, beautiful pine paneled walls It is the quintessential New England lake house.
Go here to disconnect, take in the quiet peaceful setting as the sun dips below the horizon,
enjoy the swells of the water lapping the small beach. get comfy, pull up a chair in the gazebo over the water, and laugh, have a glass ,wiggle your toes, and watch the boats glide past, or read a book.
A few pastries and hot coffee to sit on the porch & read the paper before heading out to start your day is perfect to tide you over till your ready to go local and get a hearty breakfast.
We stayed in the owners original room, The Ruggio Room with it's warmth and personality. Made it a most pleasurable stay.The bathroom very nice with great toiletries and fluffy towels.Very CLEAN!
The place is located on a cove, the boats travel slowly past and there is no loud disturbances. I think the peace and quiet is invaluable.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ljd s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

We found this spot though a family member native to the area and it is packed with local charm.

It's hard on a picturesque cove where you can sit under a covered roost and watch boats go in and out of the cove off Lake Winnipesaukee - a large inland lake with water clear down beyond 20 feet deep.

There are some restaurants nearby and the usual discounts are available for guests, but the lake has multiple great eateries surrounding it so venture out. We found Mame's to be very nice. There are abundant pastries and coffee in the mornings for these that can't wait until they get to a restaurant.

The rooms are comfortable and the two beds we used were in good shape. Each room has a theme and a unique look (You might ask them how they were named). It may be a bit spartan for "city dwellers" in keeping with that New England frugality, but there's a tv and AC in every room if you need them. And, yes, they do have wi-fi for those that start to shake when disconnected.

This is rustic but staffed by great people who are flexible and eager to have you enjoy their spot. Think of going to the mountains 30 years ago, but with comfortable updates and little touches like having a fridge on the porch where you can keep wine and snacks.

If you want a luxury hotel then go elsewhere and don't spoil it for the rest of us. I spend 100+ nights a year in hotels and this was a really delightful change.

But if you want to relax and unplug in a gorgeous setting then this is highly recommended.

And be sure to ask Bob if he has that old radio fixed.

Room Tip: Only one room is on the first floor so be prepared to climb the stairs at least one if not two fligh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Bob and his wife have done a wonderful job rebuilding an old Victorian Home into a small Inn right on Smith Cove on Lake Winnipesaukee. In addition to the main Inn, there is a delightful two story lighthouse with a spiral staircase to the bathroom and jacuzzi tub on the second floor and a small cottage with room for three and a private bath. There is only one room on the first floor and it has a gas fireplace and jacuzzi tub. There are about nine rooms on the second and third floors, including some of the most spacious. Bob puts out coffee, tea and sweets each morning, but you'll still need a regular breakfast somewhere nearby. The rooms are slightly pricey, but are very pleasant. There is a large porch with wonderful chairs facing the cove and a delightful covered deck right on the water. There is a small beach for swimming and docks for rent if you have a boat. All the rooms are air conditioned, something we used every day.

Room Tip: If you have trouble with stairs ask for the Emma Room or the cottage. Otherwise you are into climbin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank William G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Stayed 2 nights in June 2013. Great location--we were catching a show at Meadowbrook and the Inn is maybe 7-10 minutes away. Clean rooms, management was nice, but breakfast was as other reviews had said, pretty lame...I can't say I was expecting a lot but it was some cut up squares of stale cake and some coffee...that was it.

Rooms are nice, quaint, obviously decor is Victorian and kind of grandma-ish, but it goes with the Inn and this wasn't really a complaint.

Privacy was a little bit of an issue, could hear people upstairs from us very clearly, and we were concerned about how much people could hear of our conversations, etc. But it's an Inn, and thats to be expected.

They had a nice seating area in the cove where you could hang and just watch the boats, that was cool. And the toiletries were upscale, herbal organic type things. Somewhat insignificant, but it's important to point out since the owners took care to provide quality in that area.

Only complaint--rooms are advertised with a "water view" and the view is of the cove, not of the lake, and I felt that was slightly deceptive, since it wasn't much of a view.

Still, a positive experience, not sure if we'd stay there again, only because of the lack of privacy, which is not the owner's fault, not for any of the other things I mentioned.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank tl88932
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

This Inn is beautifully located and the managers are nice people. We have stayed here twice.

However the service is remote as the managers live in a separate home. There are no in room coffee facilities or such a facility available in the common area. Breakfast was a muffin. Beds are small and hard.

So much could be done to improve this beautiful Inn in such a great location.

If those improvements occur I would be happy to return.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Comparisons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gilford
0.7 mi away
Fireside Inn & Suites at Lake Winnipesaukee
3.3 mi away
The Margate Resort
The Margate Resort
#4 of 13 in Laconia
770 reviews
2.2 mi away
Gunstock Inn & Resort
Gunstock Inn & Resort
#3 of 3 in Gilford
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
TownePlace Suites Laconia Gilford
0.5 mi away
Belknap Point Inn
Belknap Point Inn
#3 of 6 in Gilford
101 reviews
1.1 mi away
Misty Harbor and Barefoot Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Smith Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Smith Cove

Address: 19 Roberts Rd, Gilford, NH 03249-7605
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Gilford
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Gilford
Price Range: $90 - $170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Inn At Smith Cove Hotel Gilford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing