We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best view on the Lake”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Belknap Point Motel
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Gilford
Leominster, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Best view on the Lake”
Reviewed September 12, 2011

This is a mom and pop owned and operated very clean motel with surely one of the grandest view of Lake Winnipesauke and White Mountains that can be found. The motel itself is situated on the hill above with the efficiency suites below on the lake level. Yes, the guest rooms and bathrooms are a bit small and outdated but they are clean, functional and reasonably priced.

We had a small efficiency suite with 190-degree view of lake on the shared common outside full-length balcony. You can have your early morning coffee on the balcony and watch the water skiers, sail boats, motorboats and the Mt. Washington pass by in an endless parade. The water lapping up against the retaining wall could be heard constantly during the day as speed boats continually passed by. Our room had all the required essentials such a fridge, cooking stove, coffee maker, toaster, microwave, dishes, utensils, pots and pans. There’s a small sandy beach on the bluff end of the motel with beach chairs and stairs descending to the water with even a diving deck. There are several tables with umbrellas and chairs by the beach for those who want to enjoy their meals outside. If you are looking for a four star luxury hotel, there are plenty to be found nearby and in Laconia. But if you’re looking for a quiet, no frills, off the beaten path place to stay with a million dollar water view at a reasonable price, this is your place.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms in the motel above the late have very small bathrooms for those taller and bigger...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jostravels42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    19
    11
    5
    1
See reviews for
20
55
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Southwick, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed September 6, 2011

Camped at Gunstock Mountain campground in August 2010 for the Timberman Ironman 70.3 triathlon. This year wanted to be closer to the action and stay on the water. Found the perfect spot for us. Granted, not going to get a family in the efficiency on the water, but it is perfect for couples. If you sleep walk, be careful, you may find yourself swimming. The water is steps from the door. Quiet, clean, and family owned. It shows they care about the place. I would tell everybody about it, but I want to make sure I get my week reserved first.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sjakuboski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2011

We stayed for four nights in late July in one of the efficiency units right on Lake Winnipesaukee. The view is amazing. The room is very basic and probably not updated in decades. Clean but tiny bathroom with a tiny plastic shower stall. Don't plan on a 'spa' night in this room. Upon arrival, we noticed that the toilet was very difficult to flush and the handle broke while we stayed here. The owner was very responsive and happily we were not there most of the day so we only had to wait a short while for him to fix it. The chambermaid probably should have noticed this problem before we arrived and it could have been addressed earlier.
The location cannot be beat. Great road for runners. We saw lots of people walking, running, cycling. Very limited parking. The beach is a tiny patch of sand above a retaining wall with steps down into the water. It is clear that this place appeals to a mature audience, many of whom have been coming here for decades. No restaurant but nice little kitchen in the room. We chose to eat breakfast at Kitchen Cravings down the road. Great!

Room Tip: Get an efficiency in the lower building. You're right on the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveler456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaufort, South Carolina
Level Contributor
61 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2011

The BPM is like a step back to a time before charmless concrete econoboxes took over the motel business. BPM provides an authentic Lake W-kee experience. The location affords a good bit of privacy from adjoining properties. My friend and I came for a concert at nearby Meadowbrook, which is about 5 minutes away by car. We had a room right on the water. The tiny beach provides a great spot to swim, though the ducks who hang out on the float seem to use it for their poop platform. The efficiency room featured a full sized refrigerator and is fully equipped for a longer stay. Assuming that the weather is good and you can get out of the room, you can be comfortable for an extended stay. You can see the love of place that the owners (17) apply to their property. Try that at a Hampton Inn. I took an early AM swim and felt like I had the place and the lake all to myself....peace and quiet!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2011

You can't get any closer to Lake Winnepesaukee then this motel. We had an efficiency right on the water. The views were magificent. Nice and quiet except for passing boat traffic. Children are not permitted and there is no smoking anywhere on the property.
The rooms are very clean, however if size is an issue they are rather small, especially the bathroom and shower. Parking was a major turnoff. There is a steep hill down from the road and tight parking at the bottom. No space for turnaround meant you had to back out to get to the up ramp to exit the property. Often times there were vehicles from the neighboring property which made it more difficult then need be. Overall we did have a good time but the parking would be a major factor in making a return visit.

Room Tip: The two end room are larger and room #1 has the best parking spot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Almar62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2011

great location by the lake. The rooms needs some TLC, the room furniture and decoration are old. The bathroom is small and not cleaned to high standard. You can hear the footsteps of your neighbours. Over whole it is good escape place if you don't have high expectations.
the place has small private beach which is great.

Room Tip: there are rooms on the lake, ask for these ones and not the main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TVisrael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
concord,nc,usa
Level Contributor
142 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2011

We stayed here on the way to the White Mts.Based on the glowing reviews, were we disapointed. We only saw the owner at check in. They are closed until check out at 10:00 a.m. We stayed in a room on the hill as the water rooms were booked. The photos on the web site make it look like the hill rooms are right behind the water rooms. They are not. There is a looong road to drive to get to the water. The rooms are tiny, beds, about 100 years old, no coffee, and a teeeny bathroom.Have to agree with the post about spiders. Webs were in and out of the room. Views were quite nice, but probably wouldn't return

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarolinaTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gilford
4.8 mi away
TownePlace Suites Laconia Gilford
8.2 mi away
The Wolfeboro Inn
The Wolfeboro Inn
#3 of 6 in Wolfeboro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
12.4 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Tilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Fireside Inn & Suites at Lake Winnipesaukee
3.7 mi away
The Margate Resort
The Margate Resort
#3 of 13 in Laconia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 697 reviews
2.1 mi away
Gunstock Inn & Resort
Gunstock Inn & Resort
#2 of 3 in Gilford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belknap Point Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belknap Point Motel

Property: Belknap Point Motel
Address: 107 Belknap Point Rd, Gilford, NH 03249-7608
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Gilford
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Gilford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Belknap Point Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the west shore of Lake Winnipesaukee in the heart of the Lakes Region. Wonderful views of the lake and mountains. Swim, boat and fish our waterfront. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Belknap Point Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belknap Point Hotel Gilford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing