We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect for families with small kids”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Misty Harbor and Barefoot Beach Resort
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Gilford
Reviewed October 23, 2013

First i have to say i was afraid with all the bad reviews this place had but for a family with small children it was okay. We rented a 1 bedroom suite with a whirlpool tub (for us hard-working parents) it was huge! i was expecting those crappy little bathtubs with jets but this was a surprise. Usually when you want a place with an in-room spa you have to rent a second room for the kids but this place was big enough. Also was surprised we had a full kitchen as well. this allowed us to wake up a little late and make our own breakfast instead of the usual foraging out into a strange lobby for the "continental" breakfast at most hotels. The bed was okay even though it was a murphy bed and the pull-out couch was acceptable for kids. These rooms are more like condos and are individually owned. We stayed in unit 122 which was decent. The tv wasnt great but who goes away to sit and watch tv. Our room did have a balcony facing the swings so we could watch the kids playing. The indoor pool was one of the cleanest pools i have ever seen and the changing rooms were immaculate. The staff at the front desk were very friendly and let us know they offered free coffee,cocoa, and tea as long as the lobby was open. This place was very quiet for being located on the main road. There is a beach across the street with larger units and even though it was cold we went for a walk. This place is perfect if you want to get away with the kids and not feel the "stale" hotel room feel after going to a cookie cutter hotel chain.

Room Tip: Rooms in back building were next to swings and forest
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MAMABEAR919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (89)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 89 reviews

Reviewed October 22, 2013

We stayed in one of their "motel" units which was very large, but lacking in comfortable lounge seating (i.e. easy chairs and/or sofa). The unit was clean and had a mini refrig. (temp. control knob was broken so everything we placed in the refrig. froze) and microwave oven. There was a table and two wooden kitchen chairs (the only seating in the unit). Beds were comfortable. A very quiet place during the off season.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Alan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We stayed for two days in the main building in a 1 Bedroom Suite, not the motel units. The staff was friendly and helpful, and it is a great location esp. if you are going to an event at Meadowbrook.
This room had a fully equipped kitchen with very old appliances and an ancient air conditioner. Surprisingly, everything worked okay.
The windows facing the parking lot had old vertical blinds, no drapes - you won't need a night light! Another surprise, the bedroom had a Murphy bed, very old and uncomfortable - no bed side tables possible, so no lamps beside the bed.
The room is divided by accordion doors. In the living area there was one outdoor wicker chair, a tiny tv, and a queen size sofa bed.
The bathroom was very dark and the shower and sink did not drain well. Serious updating is needed to justify the price. ... a Murphy bed???!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Enricacia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Nice, helpful staff, clean, no, it's not brand new, but well kept, near everything in the south shore Lake Winnipesaukee area, but on a much quieter road than the main drags. Will definitely stay again.

Room Tip: The third building from the beach is good deal farther from the road, in the trees, and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnahere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

The staff treated us well. Even though, we stated there were 3 of us, only 2 bath towels were left. I spoke to management and it was corrected the next day. We stayed in the motel part of the resort, across the street from the lake. The room is large. Seemed to be an older room. The rug had a stain. When the dehumidifier wasn't running the room had an odor. The pathway bricks are broken and need to be replaced. /We did like being on the ground floor when moving our luggage. Loved having a microwave in our room. Paper towels are supplied. Facial tissues are not. A fair nightly price should be not higher than $165. The pools and lake front was nice. Mini golf, decent restaurants, and tourist attractions are about 10-20 miles away. On day 1 we had lunch at Patrick's Pub. The food was over priced and the menu didn't have a lot of options. They do have a gluten free menu, but expensive. I did like the fact that Walmart & Hanneford wasn't too far away. I highly recommend going to Castle In The Clouds. Beautiful waterfall on the way up, many trails for families. Although the internet said hot dogs would be avail at their snack shack, there were none the day we went. Families should bring a picnic. Restrooms are in need of repair, but adequate. A trolly brings you up to the Castle and there are no restrooms at the Castle. It's about a 4 min walk down from the Castle or you can take the trolley down. We took a cruise around the lake on the Winnepausakee Belle. It was a nice, 90 minute, ride around the lake. The Captain pointed out different islands & homes. May want to bring something for young children to do.

Room Tip: May want to stay in a more expensive room. Check the Meadowoods schedule to see who's playing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eva9000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Spent one night here after seeing the Black Crowes with some friends. Rooms were expensive given the season. Kitchen was ok. Rooms in the suite were not overtly dirty, but not clean. There was a jacuzzi tub, but did not consider using it. Looked like it had seen better days. TV's worked fine. Was walking distance to the concert venue. Would not bring my family here. Perfect for 3 guys crashing after a concert with little expectations.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Liverneck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Made my first trip to Bike Week in Laconia. Found a room at this condotel when most other places were booked up. Should have been a warning but I didn't realize everything books a year ahead EXCEPT the Misty Harbor. Property is outdated and the furniture, fixtures and equipemnt are old and worn. The carpets, beds, bedding, furniture and appliances appear to be directly out of the last century, which was thirteen years ago.
Service with a smile would have been great, Service was expected but not to be found. The desk area was intermittenly staffed, the maintenance staff, if there was one, came in late and left early. People walked around with housekeeping equipment but didn't appear to be keepiig anything but track of time until they could go home. Calling the desk, when the phone was answered, received a grumble and a growl with no follow up. All I wanted was a place to lay my head after visiting the Bike Jam each day. What I got was noise, grundge, mold and mildew, stained linens, stained flooring and worst of all, no apologies for issues such as a lack of hot water, plugged toilets and a leaky dishwasher. I may never make it back to Bike Week, but I sure as hell will never go back to Misty Harbor if I do.

Room Tip: Bring a plunger for the commode and pillow for the bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kayla D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gilford
3.6 mi away
TownePlace Suites Laconia Gilford
11.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tilton
9.7 mi away
The Wolfeboro Inn
The Wolfeboro Inn
#3 of 6 in Wolfeboro
338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9 mi away
Econolodge Inn & Suites
11 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Tilton
2.2 mi away
The Margate Resort
The Margate Resort
#4 of 13 in Laconia
772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Misty Harbor and Barefoot Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Misty Harbor and Barefoot Beach Resort

Address: 118 Weirs Rd, PO Box 7362, Gilford, NH 03249-6663
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Gilford
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Gilford
Price Range: $134 - $226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Misty Harbor and Barefoot Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Misty Harbor and Barefoot Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Misty Harbor And Barefoot Beach Hotel Gilford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing