We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a place!”
Review of Maria Atwood Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Franklin
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Maria Atwood Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Franklin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 28, 2013

The Innkeepers, Sandi and Fred are some of the nicest people you ever find. They were awesome! The B&B is one of the best I have ever stayed in. I would recommend the Maria Atwood to anyone.
Thank you for making my stay one of the best I have ever had!
MoonPie was great also.

Room Tip: All the rooms are wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ariel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (124)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

77 - 83 of 124 reviews

Reviewed January 4, 2013

My wife and i had a great stay at the Maria Atwood Inn. The room was comfortable, the breakfast delicious. The owners were very friendly and we enjoyed our time with them. Moony the dog was a real treat! Highly recommended.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Lawbooks01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

We had such a WONDERFUL stay at this bed and breakfast. The owners gave us such a wonderful balance of personal customer service and privacy! It is obvious that Sandi and Fred have been running this business for 16 years. They definitely have worked out every kink you can think of! All of the little thoughtful touches make this place outstanding. I would recommend this place to anyone who is going to be in the area. I just wish we had the money to make the trip again! We would absolutely be staying in the same place : ) Thank you for such a wonderful stay!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Franklin room and loved it. It was the perfect amount of space for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Fred & Sandi were great hosts! I especially enjoyed the fabulous breakfasts around the table with the other guests each morning. Great scones, great converstaion, in a beautiful dining room. Sandi is a quilter and gave me great recommendations for shops in the area. Our room was very clean & comfortable. This inn is only 30 minutes from the Canterbury Shaker village... which was a beautiful drive & very interesting. I will be staying there again on my next trip to New England.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debthequilter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Fred & Sandi make you feel so welcome from the moment you step thru the door. Moonie, their dog takes over where they left off and will win over the most reserved guest with his quiet, friendly greeting. Just like at home, a selection of snacks & drinks are available before you retire. The little thoughtful extras are in place in your spacious room/spotless bathroom. Some rooms even have working fireplaces for a cosy, relaxing, romantic evening. You meet the most interesting people from all around the country, all enjoying the great breakfasts that Fred & Sandi serve. No breakfast would be complete without Sandi's scones. There is a great variety of day trips to take in a very scenic New Hampshire. The leaves are beautiful this year--fall in New England.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flmarg1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Sandi and Fred are ideal innkeepers who make you feel like a special guest in their home. Much thought has gone into the furnishings and special touches in the rooms (e.g. candles in the windows). We have been to many B&B's and have had many good breakfasts, but the Atwood Inn ranks very high with treats few people would serve at home. Perfect spot for leaf peepers.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 403rww
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We stayed at Maria Atwood for our anniversary and had a wonderful visit. The owners are delightful, the breakfasts are delicious and the rooms are great. Little touches like free drinks and wireless internet are great additions. And as others have noted, Sandi's scones are incredible, truly the best I've ever had. I would highly recommend this B&B to anyone who is looking to stay in this area.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Maria Atwood Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maria Atwood Inn

Address: 71 Hill Rd, Route 3A, Franklin, NH 03235-1108
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Franklin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Franklin
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Atwood Inn is a romantic 1820's brick Federal colonial. Seven large, comfortable guest rooms all have private baths - 4 with working fireplaces. A delicious breakfast is served in a warm, friendly atmosphere. Located in the very center of New Hampshire, you may drive to Boston, Maine, the seacoast or Vermont within an hour+. The Lakes Region offers uncounted opportunities for hiking, shopping, swimming, skiing and fishing plus Keepsake Quilts, Canterbury Shaker Village and New Hampshire International Speedway. In this lovely rural area you will take a step back in time to a more peaceful and considerate existence. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing