We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A home away from home” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Maria Atwood Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Franklin
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Maria Atwood Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Franklin B&B and Inns
Sterling
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A home away from home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012

My wife and I recently spent a night at the Inn and it was as if we were visiting old friends. From the moment Fred and Sandy greeted us, along with the resident dog , Mooney, we felt as comfortable there as we would at home. Sandy gave us our choice of room, a choice which became difficult to do as each room as it's own charm. We chose a third floor room with cathedral ceilings, large bath and closet. Slept like a baby. They reccommended a local
Italian resturant which to me, at least, was not what I wanted. My wife prevailed and we went.
It was by far one of the best meals I have had in an Italian resturant in awhile. The meals and wines we had there would have cost in the range of $95.00 to $120.00 in our area. Ready for this? $55.00 and everything is made from scratch. Take their advice, they know where to go.
After dinner we sat on the deck overlooking a large field, sipping the wine we brought and saying goodnight to New Hampshire. The next morning's breakfast was cooked to perfection, the innkeepers joined us and along with another couple from Chicago, we spent the better part of two hours eating and talking. We will be back soon.

Room Tip: They all offer something
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StriderSterling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
55
7
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Randolph, NJ
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

My wife and I and our 11 year old daughter recently stayed at the Maria Atwood Inn for a night. Our niece lives nearby and has a small house, so we usually stay at the Holiday Inn in Tilton but it was full this time, so we thought we'd try a Bed and Breakfast. What a pleasant surprise!
It was just like being at home. Sandi and Fred seemed feel more like old family friends than innkeepers!

We stayed in the third floor White Mountain Room, with had a queen size bed and two twins, a nice clean bathroom with tub/shower, and air conditioning. The large room had a mountain getaway feel with a vaulted beam and post ceiling, shelves of books, and simple but charming
decor. There was a living room to relax and dining room on the first floor with snacks on the
back table and refreshments in the fridge.

As the other reviews indicate, the included breakfast was phenomenal, served family style around the table with the other guests. Ours included scrambled eggs with cheese, sausages perfectly browned, fruit cup, great coffee, toast, and fresh out of the oven home-made maple walnut scones served with butter and preserves on the side.

We plan to return there soon!

Room Tip: The Maria Atwood website has full descriptions and some videos of the rooms.The White Mountain room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Randolphtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Maria Atwood Inn for a night recently, and we really enjoyed our staying there, it is our favorite inn among other eight that we stayed in our two-week trip to Maine, New Hampshire and Vermont. The room was very charming, cozy and spacious. Sandy and Fred were very helpful with any questions that we had. We also enjoyed the delicious scones and coffee in the morning.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank upsetinplaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2012

Me and my sister were in NH for a friends pigroast and bonfire. We arrived a little late to the B&B but Sandi greeted us with a warm smile and an offer of scones - we had arrived! Their home is comfortable and warm and beautifully kept. She asked if we had any allergies for breakfast becasue she likes to cook with "real" ingredients like buttermilk and whole eggs. We knew we were in for a treat for breakfast when she told us we'd be having fresh scones, french toast and bacon for breakfast. Not my usual breakfast but what a treat. It was so delicious. Her daughter and grandson were visiting and they ate with along with Sandy and her husband Fred. What amazing people, what a wonderful time. I will recommend their Inn to anyone who is in the area.

Room Tip: Sandi will help you choose the best room for your needs. I was with my sister so she had a wonderful...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank qt314Boston_MA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

What a wonderful find! The Maria Atwood B&B is a lovely experience. Charm and character abound from the setting, to the rooms and to the hosts, Sandy & Fred. We had a marvelous time lingering over a breakfast of warm yummy scones, fruit cup, bacon and french toast. Yummy! Fred and Sandy are great hosts and knowledgable about the area. Our room was on the third floor and was comfortable, clean, well appointed with big fluffy towels and bath amenities. I can not wait to go back in the Fall!

Room Tip: Any room would be a delight.....although we were on the third floor the stairs had railings and were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pauline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somersworth, New Hampshire, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2012

This was our favorite Inn by far. Fred and Sandy were very hospitable and inviting. We especially enjoyed our greetings from Moonie, their special dog. The rooms were beautiful, and it was a very peaceful stay. Breakfast was delightful with Sandi serving her famous Scones, french toast with pear and fresh fruit. Scrumptious!!! This was a memorable place and we enjoyed our Easter Sunday morning conversing with other guests, as well as with Fred and Sandi. Ten Stars, and can't wait for our next journey to The Maria Atwood Inn B&B.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2012

Great Inns have great Inn Keepers and the Maria Atwood have Fred and Sandy. We felt like family from the moment we arrived. This was our second visit and all of our previous positive experiences were confirmed. Whether we needed local information, suggested activities or a congenial conversation by the fireplace in the evening with other guest, Fred and Sandy are great facilitators. Scrumptious customized breakfast (Fred's baked apples or Sandy's scones) including Mooney, the English Spaniel, warming your feet under the table, large beautifully appointed rooms, great company and unsurpassed service make for a very memorable stay, as well as, a much anticipated return.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Energy13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Franklin
5.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tilton
5.3 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Tilton
3.8 mi away
The Tilton Inn
The Tilton Inn
#2 of 3 in Tilton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Super 8 Tilton/Lake Winnipesaukee
3.5 mi away
Black Swan Inn Bed and Breakfast
8.2 mi away
The Lake House at Ferry Point
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maria Atwood Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maria Atwood Inn

Property: Maria Atwood Inn
Address: 71 Hill Rd, Route 3A, Franklin, NH 03235-1108
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Franklin
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Franklin
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Atwood Inn is a romantic 1820's brick Federal colonial. Seven large, comfortable guest rooms all have private baths - 4 with working fireplaces. A delicious breakfast is served in a warm, friendly atmosphere. Located in the very center of New Hampshire, you may drive to Boston, Maine, the seacoast or Vermont within an hour+. The Lakes Region offers uncounted opportunities for hiking, shopping, swimming, skiing and fishing plus Keepsake Quilts, Canterbury Shaker Village and New Hampshire International Speedway. In this lovely rural area you will take a step back in time to a more peaceful and considerate existence. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing