We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very hospitable owners, comfortable rooms and quiet surroundings”
Review of Lovett's Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lovett's Inn
Ranked #5 of 5 Franconia B&B and Inns
Bangkok
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Very hospitable owners, comfortable rooms and quiet surroundings”
Reviewed September 16, 2010

My wife and I stayed just the one night and were very well taken care of by the owners Jim and Janet. Within sight of the peak of Cannon Mountain, the main inn building is beautifully picturesque and contains a couple of sitting rooms/lounges, dining room, bar area and 5 guest rooms. Another 13 guest rooms are in small chalets spaced around a central garden. There is also a decent-sized swimming pool.

Our room was very spacious, spotlessly clean and very comfortable. There was a small TV and wifi, and being on a small country road there was no traffic noise. The breakfast was most acceptable and nicely presented - in fact the best omelettes we have had for quite some time. We will certainly return for another stay if we are in the area again.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1North
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    16
    8
    6
    4
See reviews for
15
59
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
boston
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2010

A simple but very clean, comfortable, welcoming inn. Owners Jim and Janet are warm and responsive. Breakfast is very nice, dinners are excellent and the dining room a friendly place. TV and a.c. in all of the cabins an extra. Cabins are exceptionally clean.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amosboston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed February 21, 2010

Just returned from a 2 night get away stay at the Lovett Inn and will deffinately go back! We had never been to the Lovett Inn before and chose this place on a whim, basically from other reviews and hit the jack pot! Upon arrival we were met by the owner Jim and he was very friendly and seemed as glad to see us as we were to be there after the 3 hour drive! We stayed in a cottage with fire place and it was very clean and cozy. Jim was very happy to provide us with firewood for the fireplace! While waiting for others to arrive, we went back to the main house and had drinks and really good salads and Baked Brie. Again, Jim was a great host and bartender!! His wife Janet does all the cooking and the homemade pizza was great, made with fresh ingrediants. After an outstanding breakfast we met Janet and she was as nice and friendly as Jim. She even shared her receipe for MudSlide Ice Cream Parfait's with us!!! All the food was delicious and the homemade scones were the best I have ever had!
( I am regretting not asking her for that receipe!!!) The Inn is charming and Jim and Janet make you feel like you are old friends!!!
We will deffinately be back and highly recommend this Inn!
Richard and Sue

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suezz911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falll River, MA
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2009

We really liked the Lovett's Inn. We had a fireplace cottage that was really cute and cozy. There was no wood at our room so we had to go search for where they kept the wood. We did find it and all was well after that. Our room had a nice covered patio with a couple of chairs which we liked. As for the food we paid $20 per plate and it was tasteless bland blah. We were dissappointed with that. ALso we didn't like the fact that they add 20% tip to the bill. Our watier was extremley slow with everything. I asked for more rolls and didnt get them until I was prfetty much done with my meal. I guess they don't really care because they know they are getting a 20% tip? breakfast in the morning was odd..a veggie omlet with fruit? no toast no homefries...just fruit. weird?? The owner Jim was very friendly and outgoing. We didn't meet the wife so we couldn't tell you about her. All in all we had a great time here and would go again.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank naturelover1870
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2009

We stayed 2 nights here and we loved it. Jim and Janet run a neat inn. Jim is front of house and Janet is the chef. The breakfasts were great and we ate here both evenings too. The menu is limited but that is understandable given the small clientele, and there is something to suit everyone. The food was delicious.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YorkshireLass42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
1 review
Reviewed September 15, 2009

We just stayed overnight at Lovetts Inn and had a wonderful time. No complaints!

We were warmly greeted when we arrived. The 2 rooms we had reserved upstairs were cozy and spacious, with attention to detail and décor. We had an alarm clock radio and free internet service for our laptop. It was nice not having a TV in the room. There was a big TV in the less formal eating area which had the Tennis Open playing for any sports fans. The grounds were spacious and clean. (The “cabins” had a modern look, so anyone expecting a Lincoln-Log Cabin might be disappointed, but the white, simply shaped cabins looked fine to us.)

We had a very enjoyable dinner with fine food, and a very nice, attentive server. We each ordered the appetizer “special “, a spring roll, before the salads, and it was delicious! The homemade warm bread came along with the appetizers, and we cleaned our plates of any leftover sauce. The two different fish dishes were tasty and large portioned, and the duck was good as well. We hardly had room for the dessert which was also yummy. We were glad the food was served at a leisurely pace so that we could enjoy the meal and some family time. Breakfast was top notch. We had omelets, scones, coffee and juice. Janet came cheerily out from the kitchen at breakfast to say hello to the guests, and was able to be thanked for her fine cuisine. I would recommend the meal package, it was so worth being able to stay at the Inn for our meals rather than drive around looking for a restaurant, dealing with traffic, crowds and parking.

I would highly recommend Lovetts Inn. I hope whoever goes there, has as nice a time as we had. Nice job, Jim and Janet!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smilingbuddha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2009

The inn is located in an ideal location, just outside the Franconia Notch National park, about 1.5 miles from Echo Lake. It's an easy drive to attractions in the notch, to Lincoln/Woodstock, Littleton or Mount Washington area. The property has views of Cannon Mountain. It is nicely landscaped, quiet and peaceful.

We rented a classic cabin (fireplace, no Jacuzzi tub). The cabin was decorated in a romantic Victorian style and the unit was impeccably clean when we arrived. The cabins have small porches/patios where you can sit outside and take in the view. They're not much to look at from the outside, but roomy and comfortable inside. We had a small TV (plenty to check the weather or baseball scores), a coffee-maker, a built-in chest of drawers, fireplace couch, and bathroom with shower/tub. One wall of the cabin is entirely windows, allowing lots of natural light and a breeze. (Mini-blinds for privacy.)

If you're traveling during hot and humid weather, I advise you avoid the Morning Glory cabin. Though lovely, it is the only unit that is NOT air conditioned. A ceiling fan was sufficient during our stay, but had temperatures reached predicted levels, we'd have been uncomfortable.

The only other negative comment I'd venture about the cabin is the insufficient hot water. This was only a problem on our first day, when our unit was full. Our building included three attached cabins. With six people taking showers after a day of hiking in the mountains (we were apparently at the end of the line), we exhausted the hot water supply. We advised Jim of the problem, but it was during the busy dinner hour. We gave up waiting and took cold showers. It was after 9PM by the time we were showered and ready to go eat.

Jim greeted us upon arrival at the inn, but we would have appreciated a more complete mini-tour of the property. Had I not remembered that cookies or pastries were provided in the sitting room in the afternoon, we'd have never found them. It seems odd to go to the trouble to provide this unique perk and fail to advise guests about it.

We didn't eat dinner at the inn because we were cutting costs on this close-to-home weekend get-away. We opted for more casual, less expensive dining options. However, I can tell you that Janet is a wonderful cook. The breakfasts were excellent and people who did dine there for dinner seemed to love it.

Janet is an amazing woman - extremely warm and friendly while at the same time being the most hard-working person I think I've ever met! She cooks, cleans, does laundry, takes care of the flowers and still finds time to make guests feel like friends rather than paying customers. Incredible!

While the owners are clearly working to cut costs (isn't everybody?), the inn is just beautiful and we'd definitely consider staying there again.

If you're looking for a casual, inexpensive dining option, just one mile up the road is the "Above the Notch" restaurant at the Cannon Mountain View Motel. It's a sports bar/restaurant that often hosts live entertainment. There is outdoor patio dining as well as indoor dining, a bar and pool tables. This seems to be a local gathering spot (it was recommended to us by our lunch waitress in Woodstock) and we loved it. We ate there twice. We'd have eaten there three times, but they are closed on Mondays.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaddlingFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Franconia
2.1 mi away
Best Western White Mountain Inn
9.2 mi away
Woodwards Resort & Inn
Woodwards Resort & Inn
#13 of 20 in Lincoln
609 reviews
8.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Littleton
Hampton Inn Littleton
#1 of 5 in Littleton
734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Franconia Inn
Franconia Inn
#2 of 5 in Franconia
212 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hillwinds Lodge
Hillwinds Lodge
#3 of 5 in Franconia
165 reviews
3.2 mi away
Inn at Sunset Hill
Inn at Sunset Hill
#1 of 4 in Sugar Hill
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lovett's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lovett's Inn

Property: Lovett's Inn
Address: 1474 Profile Road, Franconia, NH 03580
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Franconia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Franconia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lovett's Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1784, located two miles from the Franconia Notch State Park. 18 Rooms, restaurant and bar, close proximity to golf courses, biking, hiking, downhill skiing, 65 kilometers of cross country skiing from your room. Lovetts Inn the perfect location for wedding receptions, family reunions, birthday parties, corporate outings etc. Catering for all occasions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Lovett's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lovett`s Hotel Franconia
Lovett's Inn Franconia, NH - White Mountains

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing