We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay away from this place”
Review of Franconia Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Franconia Inn
Ranked #2 of 5 Franconia B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Randolph,NH.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Stay away from this place”
Reviewed June 11, 2008

Stay away from this place. They are the most rude people on the face of the Earth. Guy even hung up on me, is that really how to run an inn?

  • Stayed June 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank EricJ73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    72
    23
    7
    11
See reviews for
45
127
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Providence, Rhode Island
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2007

My husband and I went here for Christmas dinner on the evening of 12/25/07. When we arrived we were surprised to see a horsedrawn sleigh out in front of the hotel which takes guests for sleigh- drawn carriage rides.Wow!
The dining room itself was lovely and our meal was delicious .We started with two very good homemade salads with an excellent goat cheese, roasted pecans and dried cranberries. The wine list was reasonable. We had a bottle of Smoking Loon Chardonnay. For main dishes we both had an excellent roast duck which was served with black quinoa and roasted golden beets.For dessert we split a delicious bread pudding with coconut, dried cherries,etc. Overall a wonderful meal in a romantic setting. Highly recommended.A perfect meal after a day of skiing!
Barbara

  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
Helpful?
1 Thank BHB1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Level 6 Contributor
219 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2007

We stayed here over Thanksgiving on one of their special plans (lodging, MAP (breakfast and dinner)), and had a wonderful time. The staff is very accomodating and the meals are fantastic. There are various plans, ranging from lodging only, to B&B to full MAP.
We arrived at 3 PM on Thanksgiving day, and had rented a standard room. Rooms come in 3 types; cozy (a small double), standard (a queen) and spacious ( a large queen). We were quite comfortable in the room; note the rooms are heated by radiators, but there was also a heater in the room we could plug in for extra heat if needed.
The room was clean, the inn quiet (no TV in the room, but there is a TV and game room), and we were quite happy to sit by the communal fireplace and read in the afternoon.
They have plans that run through the year; we're anxious to come back when it snows to take advantage of the cross-country ski package.
The inn also is kid friendly; there were several families staying there with kids ranging from babies to teens.

  • Liked — good location; quiet, scenic
  • Disliked — parking across the road from the Inn
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank finegael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed October 7, 2007

Although situated in a beautiful location, this Inn was a tremendous disappointment. The room, although pricey, was small and filled with dead flies, as was the screen porch. Everywhere you looked in the room there was chipped and flaking paint...it was badly in need of some loving care.

It was also the only inn we visited out of 5 in New Hampshire where there was no breakfast (even continental) included in the price.

Pass this one over, you can do MUCH better!

  • Liked — Location and views
  • Disliked — Cleanliness, value for money
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank SilvRN1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middleton, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed September 8, 2007

We stayed at the Franconia Inn for just one night before Labor Day weekend (8/30/07) the night before a planned hike up Lafayette Mtn. We were surprised to find the place so warm and cozy. The breakfast was wonderful with hearty and healthy options. With the bkfst included, you could order as much as desired. The breakfast room was beautiful We're just sorry we didn't stay longer to enjoy the clay tennis courts, check out the gameroom and hang out at the bar. We will definitely be back and bring the kids next time!

  • Liked — Comfortable
  • Disliked — Small bathroom
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelforFun12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mirfield, West Yorkshire
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2007

When we booked this hotel in the White Mountains we did not know what to expect. But what we did find was a little bit of the English Lake District in the USA. When we arrived there was a minor inconvenience with regard to no stopper in our sink. No problem, they asked if we wanted the honeymoon suite , which of course we accepted, which is our best upgrade to date!!!. A very laid back approach which we liked but seems to irk some American tourists. Tucked away from any facilities you do need to make your own entertainment on an evening, which mainly consists of using the bar area. This actually was the only flaw, you never knew when the bar was to open or shut and could not plan accordingly. Apart from this the food, accomodation standard and staff were very good. I would definitely return to this establishment.

  • Liked — The food and friendliness of staff
  • Disliked — No published opening hous for bar!
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnGMirfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2007

Location
Just outside Franconia in rural location with wonderful forest and mountain views. Handy for downhill skiing at Cannon Mountain and other resorts

The hotel
Wonderfully relaxing and laid-back even when the Xmas rush is on. If the presence/absence of such things are important to you do be aware that rooms do not have TVs or phones and mobile reception is patchy to non-existent depending on your network. The hotel does have a large screen TV room, pay phone, local courtesy phone and games room. Plus a range of outdoor activities such as horse riding in summer and sleigh rides in winter.
Rooms are all individually decorated - no chain blandness here! They are attractive and extremely comfortable and as an added bonus all the ones I've stayed in have had big walk in wardrobes. Most have lovely views.
Noise may be a small issue for some. No traffic noise but age of the building means that sounds can be heard from within the hotel (not to an excessive extent) and radiators can be noisy.
Both the lobby and the bar are fabulous places for a relaxing afternoon/evening and the latter has an open wood fire.

Catering
Fabulous breakfasts of the fruit salad + pancakes/omlettes/ham etc variety. Consistently high quality
Bar meals available for lunch & most evenings. These vary in range and quality and speed of service. At time of writing, they are on a slight "low" but have always been perfectly acceptable
Dining room: full evening meals available. These vary in range and quality and again are currently on a slight "low" but have always been perfectly acceptable. Range of options for vegetarians are limited

Staff
Universally friendly and helpful

Overall
Great place to unwind and put your feet up! I love it!

  • Liked — Relaxing atmosphere
  • Disliked — Eccentric timing of bar meal delivery
  • Tips/Secrets — Try nearby town of Bethlehem for eating & shopping
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ptahsuti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Franconia
2.4 mi away
Best Western White Mountain Inn
9.1 mi away
Woodwards Resort & Inn
Woodwards Resort & Inn
#13 of 20 in Lincoln
620 reviews
11.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Lincoln East - White Mountains
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Inn at Sunset Hill
Inn at Sunset Hill
#1 of 4 in Sugar Hill
168 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hillwinds Lodge
Hillwinds Lodge
#3 of 5 in Franconia
168 reviews
1.6 mi away
Lovett's Inn
Lovett's Inn
#5 of 5 in Franconia
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Franconia Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Franconia Inn

Property: Franconia Inn
Address: 1172 Easton Road, Franconia, NH 03580
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Franconia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Franconia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Franconia Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our lovely 3-story white clapboard, colonial-style Country Inn features 29 beautifully appointed, cozy guest rooms, 3 luxury suites, a living room, library, 2 dining rooms, a Rathskeller Lounge, and 2 spacious verandas. And Oh what a view! Feast your eyes on the White Mountain landscape in all of its resplendent beauty! The Franconia Inn has much to offer guests visiting the White Mountains. Whether you are seeking the enriching experience of hiking high on mountain peaks, to thrilling kayak adventures, skiing, scenic bike trails, horseback riding or memorable trips to popular attractions such as Clark's Trading Post, The Cog Railroad and more. You and your family will return home with memories to cherish for a lifetime. Each season has unique possibilities - many from right out our front door. At the end of the day The Inn beckons with relaxed, gourmet dining, an outdoor hot tub, movies, game room, or a nightcap in the Lounge. Whether your interests are antiquing in the area, scenic drives, active sports, family attractions or just sitting by the pool with a good book, we strive to help you make the most of your precious leisure time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Franconia Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Franconia Hotel Franconia
Franconia Inn NH - White Mountains

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing