We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location near great outdoor activities”
Review of Franconia Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Franconia Inn
Ranked #2 of 5 Franconia B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 3, 2012

This is the second time my husband and I have stayed here. It's a lovely inn in a beautiful location -- views of mountains and fields. Especially pretty during the fall colors. Positives: near easy and challenging hiking trails, tennis, bicycling, horseback riding, swimming in summer, downhill and x-country skiing in winter. Pretty sure you can't run out of activities for the outdoor active person. Very good restaurant. Clean simple rooms. Very friendly helpful staff. Negative (only one that I can think of): wafer thin walls between rooms -- yes, you can hear everything going on in the next door bathroom and room! Yikes! I had forgotten about this after our first visit, so clearly it wasn't a deal-breaker for us, but I wish the walls and floors had much better sound insulation. I would still recommend the inn because of the beautiful location and lovely staff and food, but bring your earplugs!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LabsTimesTwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (230)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

137 - 143 of 230 reviews

Reviewed September 4, 2012

Honestly, I am not much for the typical B&B. We were however looking for a one night stay in the White Mountains over the Labor Day weekend and most properties were either booked or would not accept a one night stay. The Franconia Inn was more than happy to accommodate us.

We stayed in room 31 which is on the ground level and nicely sized (king bed, beautiful triple dresser, two full sized side chairs, full bath. Everyone at the Franconia Inn was incredibly pleasant.

Having 34 rooms (I think) they can and do offer more than most B&B properties. The had an outdoor pool, hot tub, bar & pub restaurant, dinning room with an excellent chef (breakfast and dinner were fantastic), library, tennis courts, walking trails, a small swimming area on the river, stables with horseback riding and more. I was sad that we were only staying one night.

There is a grass airstrip across the street and while we were there a group of gliders were in town. It was very neat to watch them catch thermals above the mountains.

I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Not sure of the other rooms but we enjoyed room 31. First floor, good sized.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MtnHiker54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

my wife and i ventured to new hampshire recently, and wanted to stay at a b &b type inn....we "discovered" the franconia on line and after reading many of the reviews decided to give it a try...we spent 2 nights there and wish we had time for more ...the staff was most pleasant and courteous, and made you feel at home....the food was excellent, the room was spacious and clean, and it even took us a little while to realize we did not have a tv, which we didn't even miss! you could tell they have been on top of their game for many years as many of the other guests were not "first timers" there..we would highly recommend this establishment....a pleased texan.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank texasmike52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

We have been going to NH for vacation for many years and stumbled on to the Franconia Inn a couple of years ago and continue to come back. Restaurant is always delicious with lots of local ingredients and nightly specials. Breakfast is also good and sticks with you for a long day of hiking or lounging by the pool. The staff goes out of their way to accommodate you and make you feel like family. Our 11 year old loves it (especially the Hot Tub and game room in the cellar). If you stay there, get a local to tell you where Slippery Rock is-great swimming hole, but don't tell anybody.

Room Tip: Do your homework as the rooms are all different sizes and can accommodate different size groups. Ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geoffrey y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

This old Inn located 2 miles from Franconia has beautiful views all around. I spent two nights there and I wish I could stay longer. People spend evenings there like in good old times - together on a porch, reading, talking, playing, walking around (There are no TVs in rooms - true vacation from media and news). There is pool, bar, dinning room, beautiful meadow outside, horses, gliders... Enough to have pleasant time during the day and night.
Even though the furniture looks old, sheets and towels smell and feel clean. We changed our room from 2nd floor to 3rd to get quieter side and enjoyed our stay very much.
The breakfast was really good and filling. Breakfast menu is very good and includes almost anything you would expect from normal american breakfast. It is also prepared much better than in any chain hotels where they offer hot breakfast. Service at breakfast was inconsistent.
In general, the staff is very friendly and helpful. I would recommend this Inn for families with kids and without.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tasted_tested
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2012

Yet another fantastic summer vaca at Franconia inn. Where the air is pure. The nights are cool and the mountains are waiting. True relaxation. Not fancy but very beautiful. The Morris family has been running this property for years and always goes out of their way to welcome our family.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank akazin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

Just stayed at this Inn during the height of summer tourist season in July. Loved it. Visited with a family member following a long hard hike over Lafayette Ridge. The Inn was the perfect place to unwind and rest, including the lovely outdoor pool, beautiful scenic setting with horses grazing on the grounds, and comfortable authentic New England atmosphere of hewn beams and quiet corners. Loved the lending library, the basement pub (had a great ceasar salad for dinner and some fantastic drinks), the adjoining rooms (2 and 4) with shared bath and delicious, hearty breakfast. Will definitely recommend to friends.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alisono190
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Franconia
2.4 mi away
Best Western White Mountain Inn
11.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Lincoln East - White Mountains
2.5 mi away
Sugar Hill Inn
Sugar Hill Inn
#1 of 4 in Sugar Hill
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8 mi away
Bear Mountain Lodge
Bear Mountain Lodge
#1 of 8 in Bethlehem
568 reviews
2 mi away
Inn at Sunset Hill
Inn at Sunset Hill
#2 of 4 in Sugar Hill
176 reviews
2 mi away
Hillwinds Lodge
Hillwinds Lodge
#3 of 5 in Franconia
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Franconia Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Franconia Inn

Address: 1172 Easton Road, Franconia, NH 03580
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Franconia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Franconia
Price Range: $150 - $183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Franconia Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our lovely 3-story white clapboard, colonial-style Country Inn features 29 beautifully appointed, cozy guest rooms, 3 luxury suites, a living room, library, 2 dining rooms, a Rathskeller Lounge, and 2 spacious verandas. And Oh what a view! Feast your eyes on the White Mountain landscape in all of its resplendent beauty! The Franconia Inn has much to offer guests visiting the White Mountains. Whether you are seeking the enriching experience of hiking high on mountain peaks, to thrilling kayak adventures, skiing, scenic bike trails, horseback riding or memorable trips to popular attractions such as Clark's Trading Post, The Cog Railroad and more. You and your family will return home with memories to cherish for a lifetime. Each season has unique possibilities - many from right out our front door. At the end of the day The Inn beckons with relaxed, gourmet dining, an outdoor hot tub, movies, game room, or a nightcap in the Lounge. Whether your interests are antiquing in the area, scenic drives, active sports, family attractions or just sitting by the pool with a good book, we strive to help you make the most of your precious leisure time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Franconia Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Franconia Hotel Franconia
Franconia Inn NH - White Mountains

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing