We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good place to be”
Review of Hillwinds Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hillwinds Lodge
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Franconia
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very good place to be”
Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

Highly recommend
Good location near the river excellent wifi very nice continental breakfast the rooms conformable very clean and warm we stay here one night the service was wonderful very much recommended

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ronenyairi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    63
    21
    7
    1
See reviews for
50
72
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
169 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013

We stayed 4 days at Hillwinds and it was terrific. We stayed on the 2nd floor of the Riverview Bldg (rm 15) which overlooked a river (it had picnic tables and grills by the brook too). Our room was a good size with a comfortable King bed, a fridge, microwave, good wireless coverage, and free calls anywhere in North America! It was also very clean, had a nice shower and great towels. There was a nice swimming pool and a Badmitton court. We only had 2 breakfasts since they didn't serve until 8-ish, but on Sunday they had real NY style Bagels! We went again on Monday and the bagels were more like hamburger buns but as my wife said...give them a Break! Oh, the owners were wonderful people too...very friendly.

I only have 2 suggestions. One is that the desk had no light over or next to it so it was very difficult to read and prepare for the next day's hikes. And the other is that the parking for the Riverside Bldg was kind of a free-for-all. There would have been plenty of room if people had parked in a reasonable fashion and not like they were the only people staying at the Motel.

Room Tip: RiverView Bldg on the 2nd floor...Quiet with a nice view. We were in #15
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HikingFoolCincinnati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We were warmly welcomed at the Hillside, and enjoyed our stay so much we stayed an extra night.

We found the room clean, spacious and quiet. There was a small river just in front of the motel, and there were chairs where one could rest and soak up the quiet while enjoying a book.

The fridge and microwave in the room worked well, and there was WiFi. The most interesting feature was the free telephone calls to anywhere in North America. It allowed us to check home and our kids giving them updates on the progress of our trip.

The breakfast, as noted by other guests was limited to cereal toast and coffee, but it got us started in the morning.

What was outstanding was the helpfulness of the owners/front desk staff. All the suggestions you could want. And all quite useful/interesting.

Would gladly stay again.

Room Tip: We preferred the river view, but the pool view was also good. Depends on whether you want to spend...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 199Gerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

I just took my 5th vacation to the White Mountains, and this was my 4th time staying at Hillwinds! The rooms are super clean and comfortable. My last stay was 11 years ago so I was pleased at the many upgrades since then. There was a flat screen tv, fridge and microwave in the room. This time around, I came with my two kids and they loved it! Their favorite part was the pool and the free breakfast :). I look forward to many more years of adventures!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 121JenniferB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moncton, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013

This is a great place to stay . Very affordable , clean , and the owners are very accommodating . Complimentary breakfast was available and Franconia is a very nice little area. The only negative I would have would be the restaurant that was recommended to us called the Dutch Treat . We didn't find it very good at all and very poor service . Other than that Hillwinds itself no negatives at all . I would definitely recommend this place to anyone travelling in the White Mountains . :)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
511 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 256 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

In an attempt to find more affordable accommodations in the Franconia Notch area, we selected the Hillwinds, and then worried what we might find since their rates were much lower than other places we were looking at. No need to worry. To reach the hotel, you must drive across a one-lane bridge over the river that runs right in front of the hotel. Check-in was a breeze with very friendly staff who immediately asked us what we were interested in seeing and then providing us with tips. Our room was an absolute delight. Not only was it very large, but two nice comfy chairs with hidden ottomans were set up for a cozy reading area, the bed had a beautiful bedspread that appeared new and it covered an amazingly comfortable bed, and a flat screen TV was available. The drapes and wallpaper also appeared new. The whole area was just beautifully decorated. The bathroom was not neglected either with updated colors, vanity, lights, toilet and shower curtain. It really had a high end feel and was very spacious. If anyone wanted to cut points, it would be for the fact that the bed frame, side tables and dresser need updating as they appear to be the dark Spanish influenced 1960's or 1970's design. But that would be nitpicking. A microwave and fridge are also in the room. Be aware there is no hair dryer. Breakfasts are limited to muffins, bagels and cereal, with some commodities, like peanut butter and tea, running out some mornings. You can look out over the river as you eat breakfast. If the weather is nice, you can sit outside on picnic tables or in assorted chairs outside of rooms or by the pool. The interstate is very close, and you can see it through the trees across the road, but we didn't hear trucks going by once our door was closed. Located close to the interstate means easy on and easy off, so the hotel is ideally located. If you want to avoid the crowds that swarm Woodstock, Lincoln and Littleton, Franconia is a good choice. We will make this hotel our hotel of choice when we return.

Room Tip: Ask to have a 2nd floor room by the river for the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Babu2773
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Hillwinds is completely family owned and operated, and they take care of you while you're there. We stayed in a poolside room and it was very clean. We were surprised to find that they provide a continental breakfast in the mornings. We didn't know the area and the owners were happy to provide us with maps, restaurant suggestions, etc. The best part was the fire pit outside by the pool which the owners set up for us one night.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Franconia
0.5 mi away
Best Western White Mountain Inn
10.7 mi away
Woodwards Resort & Inn
Woodwards Resort & Inn
#11 of 20 in Lincoln
602 reviews
13.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Lincoln East - White Mountains
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Littleton
Hampton Inn Littleton
#1 of 5 in Littleton
725 reviews
5.9 mi away
Thayers Inn
Thayers Inn
#5 of 5 in Littleton
239 reviews
4.3 mi away
Arlington Hotel
Arlington Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bethlehem
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hillwinds Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillwinds Lodge

Property: Hillwinds Lodge
Address: 33 Dow Ave, Franconia, NH 03580-4915
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Franconia
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Franconia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hillwinds Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A traditional New England family-owned and operated motel featuring clean, comfortable, affordable and friendly lodging in the White Mountain region of New Hampshire. Located on the banks of the tranquil Gale River, Hillwinds is located near all major seasonal attractions and is only three miles from Cannon Mountain and the Franconia Notch State Park, home of the Flume Gorge and great hilking opportunities. Rates include complimentary continental breakfast, in-room coffee and fridge, free wi-fi, and guest computer and lending library. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Hillwinds Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hillwinds Hotel Franconia
Hillwinds Lodge Franconia, NH - White Mountains

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing