We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“This hotel has gone downhill since last summer” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN White Mountain Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
BEST WESTERN White Mountain Inn
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Franconia
Amesbury, Massachusetts
2 reviews
“This hotel has gone downhill since last summer”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014

We stayed at this hotel last Memorial Day weekend and were happy. Things have gone downhill since. The electrical wires in our room were hanging out of the wall socket. The door trip to the adjoining room was broken. The heat was stuck on. When we entered the room it was unbelievably hot. We tried to call front desk, but the phone cord was connected to itself with a frayed cord. Went and told front desk of issue and we were told that maintenance would be sent down when available. It was time for my kids to go to bed. We slept with the window open all night and had to keep on getting up to close it or open it to get a comfortable temperature in our room. The bathroom walls and floor were filthy. The picture in the room had filth that had dried dripping down it. The pool floor has brown on it that can be clearly seen from the breakfast area overlooking it. The top step on the pool ladder is green. We reserved a pet-friendly room, but the rate was not final. There was an additional charge of $14 at check in. I booked through the Best Western website. Why not charge it all at once? Because they want the rate to look more competitive that those that disclose the fee up front. That was unfair advertising. We will not stay here again. We will go back to staying at the other chain in Littleton for double the price. It is worth it.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michele S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwfranconia, General Manager at BEST WESTERN White Mountain Inn, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
I’m very sorry to hear about your experience. I can assure you that our rooms are checked regularly to ensure the highest level of comfort. We encourage all guests to speak with the front desk if they do not find their room satisfactory. I hope you can give us another chance.

Sincerely,
Vinkal Patel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

531 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    191
    107
    60
    46
See reviews for
231
194
17
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Amesbury, Massachusetts
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014

We stayed at this hotel last Memorial Day weekend and we were impressed, so we returned. Big mistake. Electrical wires hanging out in room, door frame to adjoining room was broken, the heat was stuck on so we slept with the window open, bathroom walls and floor were filthy, picture on wall filthy, pool has brown on the bottom of it (can be seen from breakfast room), and top step of pool ladder is green. Dog charge is hidden charge not included in room rate and is paid upon check-in.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Michele S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Franconia hotels

Massachusetts
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

My family chose this hotel for its proximity to the White Mountains and skiing. It has a great location right off the highway that is very convenient for the local attractions. We had planned to stay here at a very decent hotel rate after a day of skiing. Unfortunately, due to an emergency, we had to cancel with extremely short notice. The hotel was very accommodating and understanding to our situation. We will definitely stay here again the next time we are in the area!

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank L C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwfranconia, General Manager at BEST WESTERN White Mountain Inn, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
I certainly hope everything was sorted out with your emergency. I greatly appreciate you sharing your experience and hope you come back soon!

Best Wishes,
Vinkal Patel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, Connecticut
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2014

Best location with good service. Rooms are clean and nice with good enough space for family of four. A very nice breakfast with plenty of choice. The pool was huge and nice, we had fun swimming with family. Penalty of activities for all the ages. Excellent staff and they are very friendly and helpful. we had fun and was nice stay. would recommend this hotel for everyone!!!

Room Tip: if you are looking for views and scenery, get a mountain view room. looking at two beautiful mountai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jack b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwfranconia, General Manager at BEST WESTERN White Mountain Inn, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
A delicious hot breakfast, excellent location, huge pool, what’s not to love? It sounds like you had a great stay and we look forward to seeing you on your next visit!
Best wishes,
Vinkal Patel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington, United States
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2014

The rooms were smaller than a usual BW room. They had economy size shampoo plus conditioner dispensers nailed to the wall, rather than individual mini bottles. The breakfast was not as good as it normally at BW, less selection. The pool was bigger though, 9 feet at one end, but the pool-room was SO cold!!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Alison D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwfranconia, General Manager at BEST WESTERN White Mountain Inn, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
I’m sorry you didn’t enjoy your stay. We encourage all guests to speak with the front desk if they are not satisfied with their accommodations for whatever reason. We do have small bottles of shampoo, conditioner and lotion available at our front desk for guests who require them. Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback and we hope you’ll give us another chance.
Respectfully,
Vinkal Patel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2014

My wife and I spent Valentine's/Presidents Day Weekend at this hotel and had zero complaints. Location is excellent, very close to Cannon Mountain, Loon and Bretton Woods. Beds are comfortable, rooms were a bit dated but clean and while we didn't have time to use the pool it certainly looked very nice.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JJMcC0rmick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwfranconia, General Manager at BEST WESTERN White Mountain Inn, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience. We pride ourselves not only on our excellent location and amenities, but our excellent customer service. We hope to see you again soon!
Sincerely,
Vinkal Patel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
natick, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2014

My husband and I are empty nesters. We sometimes ski at Cannon or Loon. When we do we ALWAYS try to stay here. It is clean, quiet, a good value with a good breakfast. the beds are confortable. Families with young kids will love this place; the pool is perfect for wearing them out. If you want good value in a pleasant, clean place go there. Plus, they have discounted ski tickets.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Deborah H T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwfranconia, General Manager at BEST WESTERN White Mountain Inn, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Thank you for being such a loyal guest! Your return visits are the highest form of compliment we can receive. We appreciate you taking the time to share your comments and give your recommendations.
Many thanks,
Vinkal Patel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Franconia
6.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Littleton
Hampton Inn Littleton
#1 of 5 in Littleton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 679 reviews
11.0 mi away
Woodwards Resort & Inn
Woodwards Resort & Inn
#11 of 20 in Lincoln
3.5 of 5 bubbles 577 reviews
13.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Lincoln East - White Mountains
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Eastgate Inn
Eastgate Inn
#2 of 5 in Littleton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
1.4 mi away
Stonybrook Motel & Lodge
Stonybrook Motel & Lodge
#4 of 5 in Franconia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hillwinds Lodge
Hillwinds Lodge
#2 of 5 in Franconia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN White Mountain Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN White Mountain Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN White Mountain Inn
Address: 87 Wallace Hill Rd, off I-93 Exit 38, Franconia, NH 03580-4900
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Franconia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Franconia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN White Mountain Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN White Mountain Inn is an outdoor enthusiast's dream! Located in Franconia, this New Hampshire hotel proudly offers the best in customer service and amenities at an affordable rate. Guests staying at this Franconia inn will be a short distance from Cannon Mountain Ski Park, Loon Mountain Ski Resort and the Wildcat Mountain Ski area. Other nearby outdoor activities include hiking, biking and golf. Favorite attractions in Franconia include the Mount Washington Auto Road, Mt. Washington Cog Railway and Santa's Village. This Franconia, New Hampshire hotel offers spaciously-appointed guest rooms, each complete with high-speed Internet access and cable satellite television. This 100% non-smoking hotel features a complimentary hot breakfast each morning. Additional amenities at this New Hampshire inn include an larhe heated indoor swimming pool and hot tub, fitness center, steam room and guest laundry. Business travelers will appreciate the hotel's business services and meeting facilities. Pets are welcome with restrictions. For superior customer service and a convenient location in Franconia, New Hampshire, make a reservation at the BEST WESTERN White Mountain Inn! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HotelsforEveryone, Travelocity, Odigeo and Orbitz so you can book your BEST WESTERN White Mountain Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western White Mountain Hotel Franconia
Best Western Franconia
Franconia Best Western
Best Western White Mountain Resort
BEST WESTERN White Mountain Inn Franconia, NH - White Mountains

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing