We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic B&B”
Review of Kinsman Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Franconia
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kinsman Lodge
Ranked #4 of 5 Franconia B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 4, 2010

We stayed in the Kinsman Lodge with our two young daughters (9&6) for three nights in the new family suite - 1 double room joined to a twin room via a private bathroom connecting the two rooms - perfect. Chet and Sue are wonderful, warm and friendly hosts and our daughters loved chatting with them and generally wandering around and exploring. The breakfasts are outstanding. We spent each evening relaxing on the front deck looking out for bears but sadly didn't see any.. If we visit Franconia again we will definitely stay here, it is a true gem of a place and very very easy for families with young children. Our SatNav tried to take us the wrong way down 116 away from Franconia when heading from Sugar Hill, just make sure you head towards Franconia. Also highly recommend Mojo's bagels in Franconia, a great place for take away bagels plus has hundreds of vinyl records - it is an interesting find.. A tip, if you visit The Basin, walk the extra 0.5 miles to Kinsman Falls - they are simply breathtaking and worth every step.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CCokes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (59)
There are newer reviews for Kinsman Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 59 reviews

Reviewed June 2, 2010

It's hard to pick the best thing about the Kinsman lodge: lovely lovely hosts Chet and Sue, gorgeous location in Franconia National Park and a short drive from all the main sights and walks, peace and quiet but excitement from moose and bears nearby and the best breakfasts ever!

Stayed for 3 nights and wished it could be longer - so much to see and do and Chet and Sue are brilliant at recommending walks, restaurants and sights. They are welcoming and friendly without be instrusive and will be involved as much or as little as you like.

Trying really hard to think of something negative to say but the only thing I can come up with is that the lodge is a little way out of town which was exactly what we wanted for the peace and quiet but I guess some people might want to be withing walking distance of a supermarket for example.

If you are coming to the White Mountains look no further, I promise you will have a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 4MR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2009

-clean and tastefull furnished rooms; huge breakfast including homemade specialities; very kindly hosts

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CrickMuenchen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2009

Great location
Beautiful scenery
Wonderful breakfast

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mozelstein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2009

Decided to stay here based on other excellent tripadvisor reviews and we were NOT disappointed. Instantly felt at home after our warm greeting and tour of the facilities. Our hosts absolutely made us feel like part of the family. Accommodations were clean, well-kept and we discovered the house and grounds to have incredible old house charm.
The location offers amazing views of the surrounding mountains from every room in the house, or from the fantastic front porch.
Breakfast was fabulous--obviously the result of many years of practice! The number of breakfast choices were almost overwhelming; but nothing disappointed. You will absolutely get a great value by staying at the Kinsman Lodge.
Our hosts struck a great balance of being warm and inviting, but not over-bearing...something not all B&B hosts do well.
Our only regret was that we only planned to stay one night--we would have loved to stay longer. Our stay was in the summer, but can imagine it's a great winter get-away as well.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joshua515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2008

Quaint -, Friendly - Huge breakfast - Family atmosphere - A step back in time !

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Celtique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2008

This Inn offers comfortable beds and a sense of warmth and hospitality. The breakfasts offer choice and variety and generous food portions. The host and hostess go out of their way to make each guest feel truly comfortable and "at home". There are lots of extra items in the bedroom and bathroom in case you have forgotten anything. There is a very comfortable lounge for relaxing and for meeting other guests. I would definitely choose to return to "The Kinsman" when I am hiking again in New Hampshire.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank RowenaDavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Franconia
4.5 mi away
Best Western White Mountain Inn
9.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Lincoln East - White Mountains
2.1 mi away
Franconia Inn
Franconia Inn
#2 of 5 in Franconia
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Lovett's Inn
Lovett's Inn
#5 of 5 in Franconia
101 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hillwinds Lodge
Hillwinds Lodge
#3 of 5 in Franconia
173 reviews
3.4 mi away
Inn at Sunset Hill
Inn at Sunset Hill
#1 of 4 in Sugar Hill
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kinsman Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kinsman Lodge

Address: 2165 Easton Rd, Franconia, NH 03580-5115
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Franconia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Franconia
Price Range: $55 - $255 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An 1860's farm house in the Easton Valley of Franconia. "As comfortable as your old slippers" said one guest. 3 single rooms for one person, 7 double rooms with either a queen bed or 2 single beds and a family suite consisting of 2 rooms and central bath, 1 with queen bed and the other with 2 twin beds. Nearby to Cannon Mountain ski area and Franconia Notch State Park. Children and pets welcome. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kinsman Lodge Franconia, NH - White Mountains

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing