We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gale River Motel and Cottages

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Franconia
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gale River Motel and Cottages
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Franconia
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
South Hadley, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2012

I am writing this review from summer 2011.... just found the time looking up my next vaca.... Kevin, the owner, is a great host who is always looking out for his guests. The hotel was clean , located well, and priced right. I went with my young kids and they had a blast checking out Kev's rabbit....what can I say we had a great time.

Room Tip: The cabin is roomy , good for kids ect
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DLG0423
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    205
    43
    9
    3
    2
See reviews for
79
92
19
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Westborough
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed here a couple months ago and we decided that we have never been treated more respectfully than we did here. The staff is incredibly accommodating, the location is great, and dollar for dollar you cannot find another place that even comes close. 10 out of 10.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Russ H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New England
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2012

If you are looking for a clean and comfortable spot in the Franconia area, this is it. It is an older "motor lodge" style place....a little like going back in time, but most of the area lodging is like that! The host Kevin was very accomodating (and he makes great chocolate chip cookies)! The hotel and cottages would probably be better enjoyed during warm weather so that you could use the barbecue grill, pool, etc....but we were up skiing at Cannon and it was more than sufficient! We just wish Franconia-proper had a better selection of dining choices at night but the drive to Littleton isn't bad at all!

Room Tip: If you need extra room, the executive cottage is great for a family of 4! And you can make your own...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PBAndJ4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 29, 2012

We road trip every summer and never found a motel we would stay at twice. Gale river changed that. The room was spotless, service was great and friendly and the sights were awesome (mountains & giant yard to walk). There were always fresh cookies available and I am not even a cookie fan. The amenities were excellent especially having a stocked fridge of drinks when you get there. Pool and hot tub were also great in size cleanliness. Motel is in a good area to travel from as well as the discounts you receive to restaurants within the area. Only thing that needed some work were beds but definitely not a deal breaker by any means. We will definitively be stay there again this summer if not about every summer after that. Thank you to all of Gale river employees, it was finding a great motel with real customer service. See you soon

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Erin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2012

But even beyond that, the place is spotless; the owner and service is top notch. We've been going to the Gale for over ten years and it's never dissapointed us. Give it a try...you won't be dissapointed.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank roxxann_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2012

Sometimes a place visited is more remembered for an innkeeper's kindness than the lodging itself. We needed an early start so when the key to our car blew apart disgorging the computer chip-- without which the vehicle won't start--into the freshly fallen snow, (God knows where) a lovely week turned very ugly indeed. I was forced to wake Kevin up hoping to borrow a flashlight and rake to begin the impossible task. Reponding to my answer as to how he could help any further, somehow Kevin appeared by the side of our vehicle sporting a very jaunty pair of headphones attached to a metal detector! Then, with all the necessary patience, he swept the perimeter until he found the damned thing. Can you believe it? Off we went. I might still be out there scratching around the frozen tundra with my bare hands. Thank you, Kevin.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CubC0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
delaware
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2012

we recently stayed at the gale river motel. the views are amazing. Kevin is the a wonderful host to this establishment. Fresh cookies in the lobby. Helpful with resturant suggestions.
Yes, the room reminded me of my grandmother's apartment, but it was cozy. clean room. fresh towels. shampoo/ soap dispenser in the shower. very nice touches.
we had a great week stay and would consider staying again. Now, the weather was cold- but we are in skiing territory, not the beach. Very close to cannon mountain.
so, if you are looking for nice to place to stay that gives you what you need without all the bells and whistles- stop by and chat with Kevin and stay at the gale river motel.

Room Tip: sure any room would be fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank littlesunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Franconia
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN White Mountain Inn
11.4 mi away
Woodwards Resort & Inn
Woodwards Resort & Inn
#11 of 20 in Lincoln
3.5 of 5 bubbles 591 reviews
14.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Lincoln East - White Mountains
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Littleton
Hampton Inn Littleton
#1 of 5 in Littleton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 712 reviews
4.4 mi away
Eastgate Inn
Eastgate Inn
#2 of 5 in Littleton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
2.0 mi away
Stonybrook Motel & Lodge
Stonybrook Motel & Lodge
#4 of 5 in Franconia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gale River Motel and Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gale River Motel and Cottages

Property: Gale River Motel and Cottages
Address: 1 Main St, Exit 38 of I-93 to Rte 18 North 1/2 mile, Franconia, NH 03580-4801
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Franconia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Franconia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Breathtaking mountain views from every room. #1 Eco-Friendly Motel in New Hampshire. Recognized as an Environmental Champion by NH Sustainable Lodging Program. Spacious rooms with two full-sized beds, refrigerator, coffee-maker, A/C, and Complimentary Wi-Fi access in all rooms. Heated outdoor pool, indoor and outdoor hot tubs, playground, picnic area with grill. Cottages sleep up to six guests with full kitchen facilities. Pet-Friendly. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Gale River Motel And Cottages Hotel Franconia
Gale River Hotel
Gale River Motel And Cottages Franconia, NH - White Mountains

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing