We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food, Beautiful Place”

Horse and Hounds Inn
Ranked #1 of 11 Restaurants in Franconia
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Cincinnati
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
“Great Food, Beautiful Place”
Reviewed September 19, 2013

The short but interesting menu changes often with the seasons. They also have extensive herb and vegetable gardens that create ingredients for many of the meals. We had the flat bread pizza as an appetizer which was delicious and quite filling. We also had the Beef Tenderloin in a yummy wine reduction sauce. Creme Brulee was our dessert choice. All was delicious. A great experience.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HikingFoolCincinnati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    20
    5
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great place, great food”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

We had a lovely dinner outside on the patio: great food, fine wine, very friendly staff. The 'wienerschnitzel' was excellent.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Josvanmeeuwen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newburyport, Massachusetts
2 reviews
“A Must for Dining”
Reviewed July 24, 2013

We went to the Horse and Hound Restaurant on July 14, 2013. There were 6 of us, four adults and two teenagers. We ordered 6 different meals, and there was not a morsal left on any plate. The food was outstanding, the server was attentive and very pleasant, and the owner even stopped by for a quick visit. We made sure we saved room for dessert, and those, too, were delicious. The menu is not extensive, but when two teens can find a dish they will eat, you know there is something for everyone. I would suggest you share you meals...we will definitely return often to this quaint gem in Franconia, NH.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Judie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, MA
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“The charm of a New England Inn”
Reviewed March 30, 2013

Recommended by a neighbor as a nice alternative to the restaurants of Lincoln, we made a Saturday night reservation for 4. The menu is not extensive but the food is good and reasonably priced. The staff was friendly and attentive and we loved the charm of this New England Inn. We will definitely return.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GROFREE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Weary Skiiers Rest”
Reviewed March 11, 2013

My wife and two friends almost missed out on eating at the H&H. Saturday dining stops at 8:00 PM, but we sweet-talked them into letting us in a few minutes after 8. We took a small table in the bar area. Very cozy. Soft light, fireplace, etc. Staff are welcoming and solicitous. Excellent local beer selection and wine list. I see in other comments a remark or two about priciness. That was not my perception. Most entrees under $20. Salads and desserts under $7. Preparation and portions were superb. I had the Schweineschnitzel ($18), a rare treat. The local hound was out-of-town that night, but the owner had pictures. We weren't staying at the Inn. I did get a look at the rooms and would stay there next time. The Best Western in Franconia is OK, but the Horse and Hounds is a reason to head north again soon.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BRHopewell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Horse and Hounds Inn also viewed

Franconia, White Mountains
Franconia, White Mountains
 
Sugar Hill, White Mountains
Franconia, White Mountains
 

Been to Horse and Hounds Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing