We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gorgeous B&B, strategic position”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Franconia
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Horse and Hound Inn
Ranked #1 of 5 Franconia B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
varese
Level Contributor
59 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Gorgeous B&B, strategic position”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

The b&b is superbly located near the white mountains park, few kilometers from Cannon Mountain Aerial Tramway.
The house is very very nice, the area is extremely quiet and peaceful in fact there is only this house in the area.
The rooms are small but cozy, very well furnished and decorated.
the innkeepers are highly kind and very careful of the needs of the clients.

We also had dinner in the beautiful restaurant inside the b&b and we ate very good, the menu has some specialities of the area mixed with some plates of the american cuisine.
also the breakfast is very good and you can eat it inside in the restaurant hall or outside in the very cozy garden.

Room Tip: take a room with king bed if available
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PietroVarese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    21
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
108
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

My husband and I have spent years vacationing in the Franconia area, and have known the Horse and Hound for decades, although we had never stayed there. Looking for a place not far from home where we could celebrate my retirement in December, we chose the Horse and Hound after reading about the new owners and the major restoration of the inn which they undertook after their purchase.

We absolutely loved the "new" inn, and it is now at the top of my list for a place to go for a short getaway (we live 1.5 hours away). Ken and Ron have furnished the inn in a somewhat "minimalist" way, in that unlike so many inns and B&Bs, it is uncluttered. This gives the place an elegance without taking away anything from comfort, and guests can relax in the library, lobby area or lounge. The bedrooms are also simply furnished, yet with everything a guest could want.

While I will agree with an earlier reviewer that we could hear the revelry in the restaurant from our room, we were there on Christmas week, and the fact that friends and family were gathering downstairs and celebrating the season together only seemed to add to the holiday spirit.

Ron and Ken and Sue could not have been more accommodating, friendly, and engaging, and we enjoyed talking with them and sharing our memories of the inn in past years.

We purchased the "nordic ski" package, whiich curiously did not provide any sort of pass to the nordic ski trails, which apparently isn't needed, but did include both breakfast and dinner. The meals were outstanding, and the package an excellent value.

I can't wait to come back in the warm season, and enjoy meals on the back stone patio, which is clearly a private, peaceful and physically beautiful spot. This will without a doubt be our choice of a place to stay in the Franconia area from now on.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roeburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Level Contributor
136 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Horse & Hound inn for 2 nights in the autumn. The inn is in a very beautiful setting, off the beaten track. The staff are all extremely friendly and helpful with advice on how to get the most out of the local area. We visited to experience the colours of the Fall and were treated to an exceptional display along the Kancamagus highway. We ate in the restaurant both nights and the food and service were both excellent. Our room was lovely with a double aspect garden view. There are no televisions in any room which is refreshing. There is also a lovely library area, perfect for relaxing with a pre-dinner drink after a day outdoors. We would recommend this B&B for anyone visiting the area.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank CardiffCharlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

After a recent stay, I have to agree 100% with the other reviewers here on cleanliness, character of the building, friendly proprietors, reasonable rates and the excellent restaurant, however, there is one big catch....NOICE! However, if you are the "late to bed, early to rise" type, please disregard my comments here since this is the place for you! Look no further.

But, if you're like me, and seek quiet solace after turning in a bit early (by 10pm) after a long day of activity - seek alternatives.

As all the rooms are located directly above the restaurant, bar/lounge and library areas and the building has no natural sound barriers (other than the structural framing and beautiful pinewood flooring) - you WILL hear everyone's conversations downstairs (in interesting detail I may add) from your room (not to mention your fellow guests walking up and down the narrow hallways, chatting in their rooms, slamming doors, etc.). So in summary - we will be back!....but only for the food.

I wish the proprietors continued success (and perhaps asking them to consider budgeting for some sound insulation retrofits :) )

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Art A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

This Inn is a real jewel and after having stayed there now for the second time, we are sure to come back. The rooms are bright, clean and very cozy, Towels are very soft and smell nice, the bed is extremely comfortable. WiFi works well all over the house and a lot of magazines and papers are displayed in the lounge, as well as games that you won't get bored on a rainy day.
We arrived in threes and thought one has to sleep on a cot. The owners told us they'd have a spare room with just one single bed and no bathroom if we would like to sleep separate. They didn't charge us anything extra, what we thought was very kind.
The food is really good, we loved the rich breakfast and would recommend this Inn without any restrictions, the owners just make it very special with their hospitality.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank poetna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northern california
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012 via mobile

This is a nicely located inn in a quiet area. When the restaurant at the inn is very busy it can be less than quiet, but overall a very nice experience. The food is excellent and breakfast buffet overwhelmingly great! Our room was very spacious and garden view beautiful with autumn color. Library is cozy.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ali1125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
189 reviews
161 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

We found the Inn a delightful surprise in a beautiful garden setting. The spacious common areas have an authentic country New England feel, furnished beautifully and full of character. Our bedroom was simple but stylish.Breakfast was great and Ken was a wonderful and helpful host throughout, Our only regret was that the restaurant wasn't open on the night we stayed there.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoRoBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Franconia
2.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN White Mountain Inn
8.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Littleton
Hampton Inn Littleton
#1 of 5 in Littleton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 718 reviews
10.8 mi away
Village Of Loon Mountain
Village Of Loon Mountain
#10 of 20 in Lincoln
4.0 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Franconia Inn
Franconia Inn
#2 of 5 in Franconia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
3.2 mi away
Inn at Sunset Hill
Inn at Sunset Hill
#1 of 4 in Sugar Hill
5.0 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hillwinds Lodge
Hillwinds Lodge
#3 of 5 in Franconia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Horse and Hound Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Horse and Hound Inn

Property: Horse and Hound Inn
Address: 205 Wells Rd, Franconia, NH 03580-5148
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Franconia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Franconia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE RETURN OF A CLASSIC. The Horse and Hound, located in the rugged White Mountains of New Hampshire, first opened in 1946 as a tasteful inn, tavern and restaurant. With three fireplaces and knotty pine paneling throughout, the inn welcomed everyone from Hollywood stars to local outdoor enthusiasts and quickly established a reputation for great food, elegant lodging and warm hospitality. Now celebrating its 65th anniversary, the Horse and Hound was closed from December 2010 through June 2011 while undergoing a comprehensive restoration to its classic lodge style. Now completed, the cheerful tavern, gracious dining room, elegant lobby, handsome library/lounge, and nine restful guest rooms once again invite you to unwind and relax after an active day in the Great Outdoors. Thank you for your interest and we look forward to welcoming you back. FOOD, SPORT & STEWARDSHIP OF THE GREAT OUTDOORS. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Horse And Hound Hotel Franconia
Horse And Hound Inn Franconia, NH - White Mountains

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing