We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hunt this one down!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Franconia
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Horse and Hound Inn
Ranked #1 of 5 Franconia B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Encinitas, California
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Hunt this one down!”
Reviewed October 11, 2011

My wife had stayed at a place nearby many years ago and really wanted to stay there. Luckily, that place did not have a suitable room so found the Horse and Hound. And what a find it was! Comfortable, clean, quiet; great bar and food that makes you want to just up and move there! Ron and Ken not only run a great place, they make it. Their warm friendly welcome, their eagerness to help, to make sure that everything about your stay is as good as it can be make them the best hosts we have found. We will be back, of that there is no doubt.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tommciver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    22
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
113
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2011

When we checked tripadivsor for the restaurants in Franconia, NH for a good place to eat, the choice was pretty meager and this inn was not even mentioned. Thank goodness we asked at our front desk if there were any other restaurants in the area and were told that even though they had not eaten there, they had a menu to the newly opened restaurant at the Horse and Hound Inn. After we glanced at the menu-even though there was no tripadvisor review under the restaurant section- we decided to take a chance and have dinner there. And are we glad we did!

The food is sophisticated and delicious. It is reasonably priced. The presentation is thoughtful and the service warm and gracious.

I ordered an asparagus and heirloom tomato appetizer and for the main course, rolled eggplant. My husband ordered the soup of the day and pasta Carbonara . We both thought our dishes were fabulous and would definitely order them again. The portions were large, but we couldn't resist ordering the the apple cobbler for dessert. It had a touch of cherry in it which was delightful.

If possible we would recommend making a reservation. My husband and I arrived without having one and they were completely booked, however, Ron said we could wait for a table in the library. Since it was dark and rainy outside, we thought the library looked pretty cozy. In fact, when we were told there would be a seat in the tavern, we chose to stay in the library and have dinner.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UptownGirl123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, Minnesota, United States
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2011

This Inn is perfect for the person(s) wanting an authentic White Mountain experience. It is located a few minutes from Franconia down a scenic country road. A great base to explore the local area in any season. We based our selection on other Trip Advisor reports for this Inn which we found to be accurate.
Ken and staff were most welcoming. We explored the beautifully restored rooms. It is worth a visit just to see the Inn 's craftmanship and collection of hard woods. The Inn's restaurant served up wonderful food at a very reasonable price.
Without a doubt it was the nicest lodging we stayed in on our 3 week New England road trip.

Room Tip: All the rooms have been restored to a beautiful condition. We were given the choice of 3 rooms upo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2011

We had such a lovely stay at this gorgeous inn and would thoroughly recommend it. The hosts (and Susan) were friendly and attentive, the decor super stylish, the food delicious, the bedrooms cosy - everything was lovely. Perfect in every way!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LOLion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
College Park, MD
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2011

Recently traveled to Franconia with a friend to do some hiking and to see the sights. Ken and Ron, the new owners of Horse and Hound, welcomed us into their B&B as if we were family. The B&B has recently been renovated and is pristine: clean, fresh, uncluttered. Simply decorated rooms with new furniture and linens. Bathrooms are up-to-date. Great sleeping!
An excellent chef-prepared breakfast is served....offering plenty of choices. The tavern room and dining room are warm and inviting, staffed by friendly servers. We ate three dinners there: although the menu didn't change, there were sufficient choices of delicious, creative dishes.
We spent a lot of time in the very attractive and inviting library. Although they're only just beginning to build a collection of books, it does contain fascinating materials on the history of the inn.
We had a very comfortable three-night stay and hated to leave.

Room Tip: From my observation, all rooms seemed to have a nice view of the very lovely surroundings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rdomo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermont
1 review
Reviewed September 23, 2011

We had dinner there on a Whim,We had the best time, Great service and staff.A welcomed restaurant to the area.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VermontSarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MA
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2011

The Horse and Hound was a boon of a find in an otherwise kitsh-hotel area. This is a place where sophistiicated adults will breathe a sigh of relief (no children allowed) and relax in it's beauty. The rooms are small and simple - with Thomas Moser-like beds, desks and chairs. They use the finest yummy linens to sleep in. Each room has a bathroom with a tub and shower. The new owners preserved the fixtures and tiling reliable to the 40's when the Inn was originally built. The Inn is like an old English hunting lodge with wide pine floors and a library to relax in and peruse their reading collection. The only thing missing were moose heads on the walls.

The Inn has an incredible bar and restaurant. The bartender mixes a mean cocktail and the restaurant is BETTER than any Boston/Cambridge eatery we've been to in years. The cuisine is simple, local, fresh and not pretentious. Even if you choose to stay elsewhere I HIGHLY recommend making the trip to this Inn for the incredible dining experience.

The Horse and Hound will attract a well heeled clientele. This will be an AWESOME place for an apres ski gathering and would make a magical wedding venue. The grounds are beautiful with a mountain, trails and brook across the street.

Room Tip: Ask and the owner Ken will guide you well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FamilyVacationersMa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Franconia
2.4 mi away
Best Western White Mountain Inn
11.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Lincoln East - White Mountains
1.4 mi away
Franconia Inn
Franconia Inn
#2 of 5 in Franconia
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Inn at Sunset Hill
Inn at Sunset Hill
#1 of 4 in Sugar Hill
160 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hillwinds Lodge
Hillwinds Lodge
#3 of 5 in Franconia
165 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lovett's Inn
Lovett's Inn
#5 of 5 in Franconia
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Horse and Hound Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Horse and Hound Inn

Property: Horse and Hound Inn
Address: 205 Wells Rd, Franconia, NH 03580-5148
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Franconia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Franconia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE RETURN OF A CLASSIC. The Horse and Hound, located in the rugged White Mountains of New Hampshire, first opened in 1946 as a tasteful inn, tavern and restaurant. With three fireplaces and knotty pine paneling throughout, the inn welcomed everyone from Hollywood stars to local outdoor enthusiasts and quickly established a reputation for great food, elegant lodging and warm hospitality. Now celebrating its 65th anniversary, the Horse and Hound was closed from December 2010 through June 2011 while undergoing a comprehensive restoration to its classic lodge style. Now completed, the cheerful tavern, gracious dining room, elegant lobby, handsome library/lounge, and nine restful guest rooms once again invite you to unwind and relax after an active day in the Great Outdoors. Thank you for your interest and we look forward to welcoming you back. FOOD, SPORT & STEWARDSHIP OF THE GREAT OUTDOORS. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Horse And Hound Hotel Franconia
Horse And Hound Inn Franconia, NH - White Mountains

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing