We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Gem in Franconia, NH”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Franconia
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Horse and Hound Inn
Ranked #1 of 5 Franconia B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
College Park, MD
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A Gem in Franconia, NH”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2011

Recently traveled to Franconia with a friend to do some hiking and to see the sights. Ken and Ron, the new owners of Horse and Hound, welcomed us into their B&B as if we were family. The B&B has recently been renovated and is pristine: clean, fresh, uncluttered. Simply decorated rooms with new furniture and linens. Bathrooms are up-to-date. Great sleeping!
An excellent chef-prepared breakfast is served....offering plenty of choices. The tavern room and dining room are warm and inviting, staffed by friendly servers. We ate three dinners there: although the menu didn't change, there were sufficient choices of delicious, creative dishes.
We spent a lot of time in the very attractive and inviting library. Although they're only just beginning to build a collection of books, it does contain fascinating materials on the history of the inn.
We had a very comfortable three-night stay and hated to leave.

Room Tip: From my observation, all rooms seemed to have a nice view of the very lovely surroundings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rdomo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    21
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
108
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Vermont
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2011

We had dinner there on a Whim,We had the best time, Great service and staff.A welcomed restaurant to the area.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VermontSarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MA
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2011

The Horse and Hound was a boon of a find in an otherwise kitsh-hotel area. This is a place where sophistiicated adults will breathe a sigh of relief (no children allowed) and relax in it's beauty. The rooms are small and simple - with Thomas Moser-like beds, desks and chairs. They use the finest yummy linens to sleep in. Each room has a bathroom with a tub and shower. The new owners preserved the fixtures and tiling reliable to the 40's when the Inn was originally built. The Inn is like an old English hunting lodge with wide pine floors and a library to relax in and peruse their reading collection. The only thing missing were moose heads on the walls.

The Inn has an incredible bar and restaurant. The bartender mixes a mean cocktail and the restaurant is BETTER than any Boston/Cambridge eatery we've been to in years. The cuisine is simple, local, fresh and not pretentious. Even if you choose to stay elsewhere I HIGHLY recommend making the trip to this Inn for the incredible dining experience.

The Horse and Hound will attract a well heeled clientele. This will be an AWESOME place for an apres ski gathering and would make a magical wedding venue. The grounds are beautiful with a mountain, trails and brook across the street.

Room Tip: Ask and the owner Ken will guide you well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FamilyVacationersMa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2011

We didn't stay at the newly renovated Inn that Ken and Ron have masterfully reclaimed. However, we did eat at the restaurant on a busy Saturday night, and loved it so much we came back the next night. This was a fine dining experience in a sophisticated, yet simple venue, lovingly restored in the elegant but rustic spirit of the White Mountains.

The service was perfect, drinks generous and expertly mixed and the food was simply marvelous, using fresh, local produce and a creative touch. The vegetarian dish was prepared and presented as full equal to the meat and poultry options on the menu.

And the price? Dinner, drinks and dessert for two was about a hundred bucks.

Kudos to Ron and Ken. We'll be back.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Oscardood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2011

My husband and I stayed at this B&B for a romantic weekend away...and it did not dissapoint. It was clear upon immediate arrival that the new owners of the Horse & Hound have painstakingly paid attention to detail to conjure a sophisticated and modern elegance with the warmth you hope to get from a New England B&B. The grounds are gorgeous, with a lush green expanse in the backyard surrounded with trees and a babbling brook off to one side (which had a delightful little bench for 2). We stayed in room 6 which is the smallest of the rooms, but it was absolutely comfortable and big enough for 2. The Inn was very clean, and the linens on the bed were so soft! And organic cotton :).
At night my husband and I went down to the bar where the Inn's mixologist, Susan Champy; aka The Drink Diva worked her magic in conjuring extremely tasty cocktails custom made to our taste specifications. She made up a blackberry martini for us with her own hand picked organic blackberries from her garden to garnish the glass. My particular favorite was the French 75 martini that had a champagne float on top! Yumm! We ended up staying late at the tavern chatting with Susan as well as the Inn owners Ron & Ken. They were all delightful, and we had a blast! The next morning a plentiful breakfast menu was available to choose from. Homemade apple muffins, fruit & yogurt, fresh omeletes or scrambles with an array of fresh produch choices to be thrown in the mix, as well as french toast, home fries, bacon and sausage! We left with big smiles on our faces. The only point on which I could see perhaps this In could improve was...e went on a particularly hot weekend in theWhote Mountains (which mind you is rare)...and there was no air conditioning which left the Inn pretty warm. They did supplya window fan in our room, and they also offer outdoor seating! We would definitely go back there. The vibe is very homey and relaxing. Especially when you can sip cocktails in their library as you gaze across their lush green yard. If you enjoy walking/hiking, you can literally choose just about any direction from the Inn and enjoy a scenic and beautiful trail of some sort. Check this place out for sure. PS--the price was also extremely reasonable compared with other Inns in the area!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveler_Ma_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2011

Our driving excursion this summer covered 3500 beautiful miles. A definite highlight on our most excellent adventure was our stay at the newly renovated and restored Horse and Hound Inn. The new owners, Ron & Ken, have brought back the intimate charm and elegant simplicity of the Inn's 1940's start. It is warm and unpretentious, yet elegant and refined for all ages and interests. The Inn also operates an exceptional bar and kitchen. The food and drink are inspired by the heart soul of the staff and were obviously enjoyed by locals and visitors alike. We look forward to our next visit to the White Mountains, hopefully in the winter, and will definitely be repeat guests at the Inn.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patrick T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Media, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2011

My good friend and I went on a "girls weekend" to hike the lofty and challenging mountains of Franconia Notch, NH. While up there, we heard some locals speak about the healthy and wonderful food served by the new owners of the Horse and Hound Inn. We decided to check the restaurant out and were not disappointed at all! The interior design is open, airy and inviting. Open wood beams adorn the ceilings and looking outside, one is surrounded by lush wildflower gardens. However, aside from the incredible food, the staff at the Inn are the best! Kevin, Ron and Debbie made every effort to make us feel welcomed and comfortable. We enjoyed our dinner so much that after a long hike the next day, we came back again! The grilled asparagus with tomatoes starter is simply wonderful along with the eggplant specialty they served. The chocolate torte for desert is absolutely sensational! Their wine selection is also fabulous! The atmosphere is casual and warm and welcoming to all! A definite must if you should be up in the beautiful White Mountains of New Hampshire!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rirun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Franconia
2.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN White Mountain Inn
8.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Littleton
Hampton Inn Littleton
#1 of 5 in Littleton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 719 reviews
10.8 mi away
Village Of Loon Mountain
Village Of Loon Mountain
#10 of 20 in Lincoln
4.0 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Franconia Inn
Franconia Inn
#2 of 5 in Franconia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
3.2 mi away
Inn at Sunset Hill
Inn at Sunset Hill
#1 of 4 in Sugar Hill
5.0 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hillwinds Lodge
Hillwinds Lodge
#3 of 5 in Franconia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Horse and Hound Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Horse and Hound Inn

Property: Horse and Hound Inn
Address: 205 Wells Rd, Franconia, NH 03580-5148
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Franconia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Franconia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE RETURN OF A CLASSIC. The Horse and Hound, located in the rugged White Mountains of New Hampshire, first opened in 1946 as a tasteful inn, tavern and restaurant. With three fireplaces and knotty pine paneling throughout, the inn welcomed everyone from Hollywood stars to local outdoor enthusiasts and quickly established a reputation for great food, elegant lodging and warm hospitality. Now celebrating its 65th anniversary, the Horse and Hound was closed from December 2010 through June 2011 while undergoing a comprehensive restoration to its classic lodge style. Now completed, the cheerful tavern, gracious dining room, elegant lobby, handsome library/lounge, and nine restful guest rooms once again invite you to unwind and relax after an active day in the Great Outdoors. Thank you for your interest and we look forward to welcoming you back. FOOD, SPORT & STEWARDSHIP OF THE GREAT OUTDOORS. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Horse And Hound Hotel Franconia
Horse And Hound Inn Franconia, NH - White Mountains

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing