We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Four year in a roll Christmas week”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Mittersill Alpine Resort
NJ
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 395 helpful votes
“Four year in a roll Christmas week”
Reviewed January 1, 2013

We stayed for a week between Christmas and New Year every year for four years now. The snow condition is fantastic this year. We exchange through RCI into a one bedroom unit this time. I would consider this a ski in and out resort and there is not many in the New England area within the timeshare network. Unit 222 is on the second floor above the check-in office. We arrive at four PM and the staff have our keys and check-in package ready.

Our one bedroom unit was nice and clean. My only complain was the carpet look old. The unit has a nice but small balcony facing Mittersill trail. It would be nice in the summer to sit out there. All furniture are old and made of old thick wood and they hold up over the year. The resort is full but it feel very quiet. The living area has large flat screen TV, dining area and sofa bed. The fully equipped kitchen has full size refrigerator, stove, oven, microwave, toaster and blender. It also has all the pots, pans, plates, bowls and utensil you will need to fix a good meal. There is many storage area in this unit, including a large closet and many shelf and chest. The one bedroom has a king bed and smaller tv. The is the first time we have a king bed in Mittersill. The bedroom is very large but the bathroom is small with tub.

There is no laundry facility in the unit. It is at the basement near the pub. Washing and drying a load cost $3.75. There is always a line in the evening. The pub serve drinks, light meal and have a nice pool table. They have updated their menu this year and the selection look better. The bar can get busy and there is one guy running it. The food is okay. They offer a few micro brew including the Cannon Brew which is excellent beer for very reasonable price. Check-in offer a free chip and salsa coupon. The pub is a good thing for this resort. There is few restaurant around and very difficult to get to in bad weather. Luckily all units in Mittersill has nice kitchen facility. We cook all our meals in the unit and make our lunch to take to Cannon. For grocery there is a Walmart, large grocery and small country shop in Littleton. NH State run liquor store is very reasonable in price is also in Litteton. Five miles out of Mittersill to the left is Mac's Supermarket. It is also a good idea to get your weather sport gear in Walmart. It is very expensive at Cannon. Our favourite breakfast and lunch place is Coffee Cup in Main Street Littleton. They make their own bread. The place is small and it is always full. Franconia also have a few restaurant.

The resort has a indoor pool, 2 hot tubs, sauna , game room and fitness facility. There is towel exchange Monday and Wednesday. You can get towel at the front desk for the pool with a $5 deposit. Resort has an assortment of activity including morning social, karaoke and evening drink and cheese. Free Wifi is at the lobby or near the pub. There is a large sitting area for Wifi use.

Room Tip: Most of the room in Mittersill is one bedroom unit. All is good but the layout varies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank schong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    19
    16
    1
    3
See reviews for
21
16
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Western MA
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012

This is an older resort that has had additions over the years and lots of character. Our one bedroom condo was located in the main building and elevators were available. The condo was generously sized, so that a full size air mattress also fit after the couch was pulled out. Not modern, but necessities were there and we used the full kitchen. The walk to the pool was interesting with long hallways, steps up and down and turns here and there. We did use the jacuzzi, but the pool (older/smaller) was too cold for the kids. Big library section for books, movies or games. Large casual room with wi-fi next to the bar area. Decent rec room with ping pong and arcade games.

Room Tip: Wish we knew to ask for condo near the free wi-fi room, so maybe we could have had wi-fi in condo.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ccja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Located just off the I-93 at Junction 34c, the Mittersill Alpine resort is ideally situated near the White Mountains, about 2.5 hours drive north from Boston

The resort is based on an Alpine lodge and offers one and two bedroomed units. We stayed in a one bed unit which was more than adequate for the two of us, but may have been snug for four. We had a separate fully equipped kitchen with fridge, dishwasher, microwave, cooker, coffee machine etc, then a lounge with dining area, a settee (which converted to a bed), chair and flat screen TV with over 40 channels.
The bed was enormous, good storage and a small bathroom with a very powerful shower.
The unit had fans in all rooms but did not have aircon, and I have a feeling it would be very warm in summer.
Within the resort is a very small pool, Jacuzzi, hot tub, gym, games room and launderette. There is also Barons Pub which is open just 3 nights a week and serves sandwich type food. WI-FI Internet is available in the Alpine Lounge which also had lots of books, jigsaws and other games. The communal areas felt very old fashioned in décor and furnishings.

Around the resort are various tourist places, the outlet stores in North Conway, the Conway scenic railway, Mount Washington where you can reach the 6288 foot summit by foot, by car, by cog railway or by minibus. There are lots of hiking trails, waterfalls, and skiing in season, you can also go on moose sighting trips. We came to see the scenery in the Fall (end Sept/beg Oct) and the reds oranges and yellows of the trees were amazing. A drive along Camcamagus highway is breathtaking.
Nearest large supermarket (Shaws) is at Littleton about 8 miles away, whilst 2 miles away in Franconia is a smaller supermarket and a nice place to eat called Dutch Treats. A number of the local restaurants have limited opening of 3 nights a week, so be prepared to cook some of your own meals.

In the reception area is a history of Mittersill Alpine resort and in 1951, a certain Princess Elizabeth whose address was Buckingham Palace stayed here, - - what’s good enough for royalty is good enough for us.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank djl44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2012

We have stayed at Mittersill twice now, once in the winter and once in the summer, and the place has really begun to grow on me. The lodge was built in the 1930's by a Swiss baron who was looking to avoid the oncoming war in Europe, and it was a very stylish and exclusive retreat for many years afterwards. There is a photo of Lucille Ball in a fur coat standing out front, and there's an old guest register on display signed by Princess Elizabeth before she became the Queen of England. The resort has changed significantly since that time, and is now a homey condo timeshare, a little worn around the edges but just great for a relaxed family trip. The furnishings are fairly 80's style, which I kind of like, and there are relics of the old days everywhere. There is a relaxed and friendly atmosphere, and while I definitely caught myself wishing that the place still held some of the excitement and refinement of the old days, it was a nonetheless a nice and relaxing place to spend a week. If you are able to get a unit with a balcony that faces the mountain, the view is spectacular. In the winter when we were there all we had were little windows, which did face mountains but didn't let in very much light or view. The soundproofing in the units isn't excellent, at least not in the second one that we stayed in, but this was the one with the amazing view, so we were willing to just let that go.


The area is surrounded by gorgeous parks, and Mittersill is very close to the White Mountain National Park, so it's an ideal spot to take day trips from if you like hiking or skiing. The small towns in the vicinity are charming and friendly. We would happily go back.

Room Tip: Ask to see if you can get a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mikhaela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Its an oldie but a goodie. Don't expect beautiful furnishings. This place defines homey. You also need to be pretty self reliant since service is minimal. There's a lot to do nearby. Don't miss Polly's Pancake Parlor, the town of Littleton, the Flume and all the hiking trails. Don't go if u are handicapped or are physically unable to do stairs or hills. Restaurant does only bar food but lots close by so it doesn't matter much.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BuffaloTraveler60974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warren, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
276 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2012

Mittersill Alpine Resort is just off Exit 37 on I-93 and is a great start-off point for visiting the White Mountain sites. The Resort is clean, comfortable, and has great views of the Presidential Range. For winter sports fans, it is minutes from Cannon Mountain. All rooms are suites with modern kitchens. Mittersill Alpine Resort is a great place to bring the family.There is no dining room, but there is a bar which serves a few "fast foods" and is open most evenings. Outdoor and indoor pools, exercise room, sauna, hot tub, DVD/VCR lending library, outdoor grills, picnic tables, and Wi-Fi make for a great place to get away and enjoy the mountians.

Room Tip: Higher floors offer a better view of the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank larryrneal2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2012

Friends invited us to join them for a few days of spring skiing. Mittersill is close to Cannon Skiing, with an interesting Austrian theme & history. Our room was spacious and clean with a fully equipped kitchenette. It is an RCI timeshare property, so rooms are only cleaned on checkout, but that worked well for us. Also close to hiking and other skiing.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GraftonSpaGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Franconia
3.8 mi away
Best Western White Mountain Inn
7.5 mi away
Woodwards Resort & Inn
Woodwards Resort & Inn
#13 of 20 in Lincoln
620 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hillwinds Lodge
Hillwinds Lodge
#3 of 5 in Franconia
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Franconia Inn
Franconia Inn
#2 of 5 in Franconia
220 reviews
6.8 mi away
Indian Head Resort
Indian Head Resort
#7 of 20 in Lincoln
1,125 reviews
1.7 mi away
Lovett's Inn
Lovett's Inn
#5 of 5 in Franconia
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mittersill Alpine Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mittersill Alpine Resort

Property: Mittersill Alpine Resort
Address: 193 Mittersill Rd, Franconia, NH 03580-5128
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Franconia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Franconia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mittersill Alpine Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mittersill Alpine Resort - a four-seasons lodging, vacation rental & ownership resort in scenic Franconia Notch, New Hampshire. Hiking - Biking - Golf - Skiing - Great trails - All nearby! We are uniquely poised to offer great timeshare experiences. The Best way to ensure a good vacation is to own it! A great family get-a-way! Your home away from home! Relaxing and quiet, a perfect location for a quality and affordable vacation. Nestled in a unique mountain side village, experience the beauty of Northern New Hampshire in the heart of the White Mountain National Forest. Something for everyone - enjoy the nature of all seasons and many other area attractions nearby. Mittersill Alpine Resort has been devoted to vacation ownership since 1979. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Mittersill Alpine Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mittersill Alpine Hotel Franconia
Mittersill Alpine Resort Franconia, NH - White Mountains

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing