We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“poor service and cold”

Wendle's Delicatessen & Cafe
Ranked #7 of 11 Restaurants in Franconia
Cuisines: American, Cafe, Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Seating, Takeout
Oregon
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“poor service and cold”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

This restaurant used to be better, but it has deteriorated. I went in December 2012 for breakfast and the food was cold, and the young person behind the counter was not welcoming or friendly. She served the bacon straight from the spatula onto our plate after walking through the restaurant after we reminded her that it was not included in our order. We spent 40.00 for breakfast for three that really wasn't that good. It was so cold in the restaurant that the owner was walking around in a vest and sweater. I don't think they even had the heat on. I hope they improve because the location is nice, and the place does have potential. Lunch may be better if there were better wait staff and you took the lunch out.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank rvictoriaroe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    25
    13
    12
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Traveling thru, don't stop here.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

Quaint place where locals go. However, coffee cold, eggs and bacon greasy, water glass dirty inside, salt & pepper shakers filthy, music so loud for breakfast we couldn't talk and make plans for our day. Pass them by to Polly's Pancakes up the road.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenathetraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rowley, MA
Level Contributor
63 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Excellent food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

What a fun little restaurant! Great atmosphere, lots of choices. Absolutely delicious chicken salad -- don't know what was in it -- pretty simple recipe but wonderful with their spinach salad. My husband had a specialty sandwich, which he thought was terrific. This place is aiming for healthy choices so no Diet Coke or Cheetos in sight -- just natural sodas and juices. (OK, I love Diet Coke, but I aimed for an iced tea instead.) Also, the staff is very friendly and helpful -- recommended a local singer that was performing that night next door (we went, she was great, and we had a good time). Highly recommend a stop here.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LabsTimesTwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Salem, New York
Level Contributor
70 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A must stop for Eats”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

A hidden gem in the small town of Franconia. Serving breakfast and Lunch. Breakfast served fast ( try the French Toast ) Lunch menu has lots of specialty sandwiches daily specials and home made sides that are just out of this world. Fast friendly service . Great atmosphere. A must see,must do

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank NHflyfisher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Salem, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

Search out this spot and go there for lunch. Not the same old same old. The specialty sandwichs and fresh made side are hard to put into words . It just has to be tasted. They serve breakfast too. French Toast UMMM . Its got great atmosphere , fast service and the food undscribeably Delicious . A must stop if your in Franconia

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank osmadhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wendle's Delicatessen & Cafe also viewed

Franconia, White Mountains
Franconia, White Mountains
 
Franconia, White Mountains
Sugar Hill, White Mountains
 
Franconia, White Mountains
 

Been to Wendle's Delicatessen & Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing