We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful walk through nature” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Flume Gorge

Flume Gorge
Ranked #2 of 17 things to do in Franconia
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: An 800-foot gorge that extends from the base of Mount Liberty. It is open from May 8 - October 25.
Vermont
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful walk through nature”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

My hubby and I hiked this recently and loved it (although we're both a bit out of shape, lol)... It was a long walk, but there are some rest/rain shelters along the way. Beautiful scenery so bring your camera. A must see and do if your in New Hampshire.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank GreenMtRaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,089 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    745
    269
    54
    15
    6
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
quincy
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Nice hike, please take your time to enjoy on way up”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

This is a beautiful place. Please make sure you enjoy the walk up the stairs as that's the main attraction. There are other view points on the way back and it is a beautiful little hike.. approximately 2 miles long. it is worth the fee and good place to go..

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank lucky_lak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Wow something to see”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

This is definitely not to be missed although I think $15 a person is a bit much. It was quite a hike to get to the flume but they do have a bus that will take you up to it but then there is still a lot of walking and stairs to climb once you get there. You really find out how in or out of shape you are after this little excursion. I am definitely out of shape. We went in the fall but would love to visit in the spring when all the snow is melting. I would imagine the waterfalls would be spectacular at that time. Whole hike takes over an hour and there is a gift shop at the main visitor center with lots of souviner dust collectors to buy if your interested. There was also a small place to get food.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank kittan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Roxbury
2 reviews
“Definitely worth it: mid-week is the way to go”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

We hiked Flume Gorge on Wednesday, September 25th and it was the way to go. As it's prime foliage season there were still quite a few tourists but not nearly as crowded as it would be on a weekend. We didn't have people right behind us on the boardwalk so we could take our time and not feel rushed. The hike itself is fairly easy. There are three steep sections to walk up but it's not bad. I had heard people say start to the left so you don't have to climb the stairs through the Gorge...this would be a major mistake. If you start to the left, you'd be walking mostly uphill for at least a mile and a quarter before you even get to the flume. The stairs are the easiest part actually as they are not steep stairs, they are spread our between boardwalks and you can take your time taking pictures, etc.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Andrea S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
46 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

This is a must see if you are in New Hampshire. The Flume is beautiful. The walk roundtrip is about 2 miles but it isn't a difficult walk. We visit NH a lot and we have been to the Flume many times, it never gets boring and it's always just a pretty as the time before.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank TLeOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Flume Gorge also viewed

 

Been to Flume Gorge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing