We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Among the best in NH”
Review of Cannon Mountain

Cannon Mountain
Book In Advance
More Info
$129.00*
and up
Full Day White Mountain Tour with Cannon Mountain Aerial Tram
Ranked #4 of 17 things to do in Franconia
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Named for its gun-like appearance.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
42 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Among the best in NH”
Reviewed March 3, 2014

It's really hard to choose another mountain in NH where I'd rather ski. I've skied at various area around NE a number of times over the past few years, and coming off a great day at Cannon the other week, here's how I'd summarize it. Pros: great terrain (groomers, steeps, glades, bumps, terrain park), crowds (very rare), vibe (laid back, skiing/boarding focused, friendly staff), snow quality (Franconia Notch seems to get more than the rest of NH), top to bottom tram, solid family area (Tuckerbrook), all natural area (Mittersill), views (beautiful on clear days). Cons: weather (wind can close the lifts, colder/windier than some other areas, top can be fogged in), trail convergences (there are a couple of places where everyone seems to get funneled, and it can get skied off somewhat quickly), slow upper quad (the only other way to get to the top vs. the tram) - and that's about it.

If you want to wait in lift lines and fight for tables at lunch, head elsewhere. But if you want a great NH ski experience, Cannon is the place...just check the weather first.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank philryan835
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    214
    109
    17
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Arundel, Maine
Level Contributor
54 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Closed?”
Reviewed February 23, 2014

We just wanted to go up and watch the skiing and have a snack. The whole mountain was closed at 2:30 on a Monday. WHAT?

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank weble56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great time”
Reviewed February 12, 2014

We had a great time at Cannon Mountain this past weekend. The staff was very helpful on finding a forgotten helmet. We love the Mountain, but after the first night we switched hotels. Littleton is not far away, and less of a party atmosphere. If you are young and want to party, stay around the mountain, if you want to spend the evening checking out great restaurants stay in Littleton.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sally M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amherst, NH
Level Contributor
319 reviews
83 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Free skiing for NH seniors”
Reviewed February 11, 2014

Hard to beat this price - free skiing during the week for NH seniors. It's one of NH's premier ski areas as it is, great trails, varied terrain, and for $0 lift ticket, how can you go wrong?

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank NH_Joe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saugus, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Not just challenging, but great family area !”
Reviewed February 11, 2014

I have been snowboarding at Cannon for 26 years and always considered it a great challenging mountain, so I was hesitant to go there to teach my 8 year old how to snowboard. Wrong ! It turn out they have a special area designated as a "family skiing" area. It was perfect, nice open groomed trails that sloped perfect for lessons. Nice and calm with no agressive skiers. Perfect for learning or family skiing. And don't forget, all you have to do is hit the other side of the mountain for some of the funnest, most challenging terrain in the state, plus the super cool tram !

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Doug M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cannon Mountain also viewed

Franconia, White Mountains
Franconia, White Mountains
 
Lincoln, White Mountains
 

Been to Cannon Mountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing