We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More of a memorial now to the Old Man than anything”

Old Man of the Mountain Historic Site
Book In Advance
More Info
$129.00*
and up
Full Day White Mountain Tour with Cannon Mountain Aerial Tram
Ranked #5 of 17 things to do in Franconia
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Formerly New Hampshire's best known landmark, this rock formation resembling a man's profile collapsed on May 3, 2003.
West Warren, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
173 reviews
56 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“More of a memorial now to the Old Man than anything”
Reviewed September 2, 2012

This is more of a memorial to the Old Man than anything. You walk about 1500 down to a lake where you look up to see where the Old Man was. There are blocks/tiles that you can stand on according to height and look at a board that will provide the illusion of the Old Man. This is free, but I wouldn't make a special trip to see this.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Eric0099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    53
    43
    11
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Old Man”
Reviewed August 31, 2012 via mobile

I saw this as a child growing up. I was up in the area so I stopped by to find an great little park dedicated to the Old Man. Much thought has gone into the construction here. A great stop if ever traveling by!

Helpful?
Thank TimmyR6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Castle
Level Contributor
71 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Was a great view”
Reviewed August 24, 2012

I saw the old man when I was very young when my grandfather took me up here before it fell. I wish they would rebuild the old man even though it wouldn't be the original. It's a shame the symbol of New Hampshire had a bad fate.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Craig K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Voorhees, New Jersey
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Still inspiring”
Reviewed August 15, 2012

I'll always remember the first time I saw the Old Man. He may be gone, but what is not forgotten is how beautiful this site is. A must see site, wih plenty of Old Man reminders. Live free or die.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MA
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Pleasantly Surprised!”
Reviewed August 10, 2012

Remembered stopping here before the Old Man disappeared, didn't expect to see too much. Boy were we surprised! They have constructed a memorial site for the old man, complete with a tiled area (you can purchase personalized tiles) and stone benches and a viewing area (of how it used to be). There are areas designated by height and strategically placed poles with the ability to see how the Old Man used to look. Over heard another guest refer to as Old Man on a stick! Beautiful lake as well and many lovely wild flowers. Worth a stop.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank MamaMo2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Man of the Mountain Historic Site also viewed

Franconia, White Mountains
Franconia, White Mountains
 
Franconia, White Mountains
 

Been to Old Man of the Mountain Historic Site? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing