We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Quiet Place for Getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Crotched Mountain Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Francestown
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed July 14, 2009

We stayed at this resort from July 6-9 2009 as part of a Shell Vacation Time Share points redemption. The main reason was its proximity to Boston and availability for peak period just after July 4th.
We were pleasantly surprised by this resort.
Pros:
1) Exceptionally friendly and helpful staff at check in, housekeeping and golf course
2) Nice 2 bedroom unit - recently renovated it appears
3) Great golf course with very reasonable rates - we paid $60 for 2 people to play on special Tuesday with cart for $60!!!!
4) Very quiet place - kind of in the middle of "nowhere", but beautiful countryside in mid-south portion of New Hampshire

Cons":
1) Small resort, not very many rooms (only 20 I think, more being renovated next year) and not much to do if you dont hike, ski or play golf. Having said that, if you just want to chill out, cook you own food in your well-equipped kitchen or eat at the on-site restaurant, it is a great place to go.
2) No activities program that I could see.
3) Outdoor pool was OK, but not heated.

Overall, we were very pleased with our 3 night stay at Crotched Mountain Resort. It was great value for the money and people in this resort (and all of New England for that manner) were very friendly and always willing to help.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank J-Roc123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (208)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

199 - 205 of 208 reviews

Reviewed July 14, 2009

Stayed in a two bedroom with our two teenage boys, plus each of them brought a friend. There was plenty of room. The rooms are well appointed and we especially enjoyed the BBQ outside the room. We look forward to coming back as there are big expansion plans for this resort. Be prepared to drive about an hour to different places ... this is both the PRO and CON of the resort. Highly recommend the Polar Caves and hiking up Mount Monadnock.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brooksy824
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2009

Second stay here. A week last July and 5 nights this year. Lovely, spacious suites - with large decks. Kitchens have all you need and there are 2 TVs as well as a CD player and fireplace. Well-maintained, nicely landscaped grounds in a beautiful, quiet setting in southwestern New Hampshire. Restaurant on site has decent and sometimes excellent food for lunch and dinner. Very friendly staff. Construction starting soon on indoor pool/fitness center as well as additional accommodations. Only complaint would be too cold pool which will be remedied when the indoor one is completed, but not too nice for summer w/o a heated outdoor pool. I'm not wimpy - I swim in Lake Superior, but I think the pool might have only been about 68 or so. The price for the hotel can't be beat. $150 plus tax for a 2 BR suite.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TAtripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2009

This is our 2nd time to Crotched Mt and we love it. Place is very well stocked and very nice. Played golf 1 day and that was wonderful, stayed 4 days, rained alot but still enjoyed ourselfs. Had a 2 year old with us and she loved the playground, would recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dije3949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2009

Booked CMR for our daughter, son-in-law and two grandchildren (we live in Francestown). The condo was as advertised, which is rare. It was in perfect condition, everything working and well decorated. The deck was huge and added living and play space for the girls, who were also treated to a nature show...mother Robin feeding her birds just outside the windows. The grounds and playground were well kept. The on-site restaurant served good food, at a reasonable price and was very convenient. The staff at the Resort and the restaurant were very attentive and helpful. I would recommend the Resort for a family, couple or golfers looking for a quiet but beautiful place to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EstuaryPilgrim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2009

Staff were amazingly friendly and helpful. Frontdesk service was perfect! Our room was spotless and beautiful. Fireplace was a wonderful feature. They thought of every need! So cosy and wonderful. The furniture and fixtures are all new. Great place. I like antiques and this was not special and unique like that, but for a new place, it was great.

I would come back. Oh and try Malarky's chicken dinner! YUM!

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank naturegirlcitygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2009

Great place, Great Prices! My husband and I and his brother and girlfriend booked a two night weekend. They had the upstairs unit and we had the downstairs. We had so much fun. Perfect for skiing, relaxing in the hot tub, many laughs. Malarkeys is a great place for a few drinks. It was a pleasant atmosphere. Crotched mountain was less than a mile away. Great, easy mountain. Would recommend to groups of friends or family during the ski season. On site they had skating, sledding (huge hill), provided sleds, great bar and restaurant, very friendly staff. Would recommend an early check in and late check out so you can make the most of your days.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank kphinney185
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Francestown
20.4 mi away
Centennial Hotel
Centennial Hotel
#3 of 8 in Concord
347 reviews
22.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Keene Hotel
20 mi away
Comfort Inn Manchester Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Executive Court Inn & Conference Center
21.5 mi away
Courtyard Concord
Courtyard Concord
#6 of 8 in Concord
188 reviews
20.7 mi away
Best Western Concord Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crotched Mountain Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crotched Mountain Resort & Spa

Address: 740 2nd Nh Tpke N, Francestown, NH 03043-3003
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Francestown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Francestown
Price Range: $92 - $173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Crotched Mountain Resort & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crotched Mountain Resort is a timeless retreat where once a toll was collected from traveling stagecoaches and wagons located just 60 miles from nearby Boston. 24 spacious one and two bedroom suites are like your home away from home, featuring fully equipped kitchens and fireplaces in the living area. The resort also features an outdoor swimming pool, two Har-Tru clay tennis courts, a community hot tub and casual dining at the on-site restaurant Toll Booth Tavern. Experience the most charming location in New England. Designed to be your own private hideaway, Crotched Mountain Resort is absolutely perfect for romantic getaways, family vacations, ski trips and golf outings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Crotched Mountain Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crotched Mountain Resort And Spa
Crotched Mountain Hotel Francestown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing