We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AMAZING value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Crotched Mountain Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Francestown
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed July 30, 2012

Was passing through the area on business / family trip and needed to find a hotel for one night. Ive paid more for a holiday inn before and this place is fabulous! Wonderfully appointed room with kitchen (granite counters) bathroom, laundry, bed room, pull out bed, fire place, DVD player / LCD TV, deck over looking property, etc. Very nice people. Toll House restaurant on location is fantastic and inexpensively priced. The golf course looks great (wish I had time to play) and is CHEAP! Tennis courts were very nice. Great pool. The location is off the beaten path - takes a while to get to from the hwy... but that is part of its charm. if you are looking for a great place to spend a few days that is very affordable and really nice - this is the place. Especially if you are an avid golfer. I guess there is skiing here in the winter too LOL.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mosfet32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LisaForbes, General Manager at Crotched Mountain Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2012

Thank you so much for your positive comments. I am pleased you found our resort enjoyable and that our staff was hospitable. I would love for you to come visit us again and have sent you a link for a discount on a future stay.

Sincerely, Lisa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (208)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

94 - 100 of 208 reviews

Reviewed July 22, 2012

My husband & I stayed overnight on our way up to the White Mts. Only room available was the 2-bedroom, 2 Bath suite - which I must say was rather large, very modest & plain decor, had a nice sitting room area, a stereo, a sizable/clean kitchen and my favorite --a deck upon which sat a jacuzzi. Amazingly difficult to find, the directions for out of towners were extremely bad, especially if you're traveling at night. We arrived late from NYC so it was like a ghost town. We drove exceeding fast to the next town, 20 minutes away, Hillsborough, so we could get the equivalent of 7-11 like food. But we were grateful to get anything at all because this place is in the middle of nowhere.. with not even a vending machine to frequent. You would have to desire a VERY quiet vacation and if that were the case I'm sure you'd enjoy. Check out was exceedingly slow, but the staff was pleasant. We had breakfast in Bennington, (a one-horse town) just down the road, because there is nothing in Francestown.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KMacNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LisaForbes, General Manager at Crotched Mountain Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2012

Thank you for your positive posting. We are a bit off the beaton path but I am happy that you found us and that your enjoyed your stay.

I have emailed you a link for a 15% discount for a future stay should you find that you are in our area again in the future.

Sincerely,
-Lisa Forbes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

My friends and I were "blown away" with the quality of the accommodation, cleanliness of the area, friendliness of the staff and the excellent restaurant. We loved the view from our private deck which looked out into the woods and contributed to our ability to unwind after many days on the road. I whole heartedly recommend this resort - not only do I intend to return but will consider giving a weekend getaway as a gift.

Room Tip: We enjoyed the quiet second floor room with the deck.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nancy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2012

Crotched Mt. Resort is a perfect place to enjoy a quiet and peaceful vacation. There is enough to do, yet simply sitting on your private deck with a hottub nearby makes this place amazing. We stayed in a 2 bedroom 2 bath unit with another adult couple. The onsite golf course was challenging for the men and created a beautiful backdrop outside of our unit. The onsite restaurant has a lovely deck,(under renovation) and good food. The pool is old but fits the ambience of the location. On a rainy day we played pool, pingpong and other games in the activity center. There was noone else around yet the resort was 100% occupied. Our outings included Peterborough for lunch and again for dinner and shopping, it is a quaint MUST see village. We also visited Keene for a ladies day out. Amazing restaurants and shopping. The drive to anywhere is breathtaking. Rolling hills, covered bridges, farm land and animals and beautiful country homes.

Crotched Mt. Resort and Spa is not a spa! The name is deceiving. It is owned by the Shell Corportation and is a timeshare resort. The golf course and restaurant are privately owned. The partnership seems to work well. We have never and I mean never met staff so willing to help,chat and behave in such a genuine friendly manner. This resort tops the list for courtesy.

We will return when the renovation is complete.

Room Tip: Building C has private hot tubs and is an RCI building. They are also 2 bedrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BubblesLaRu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2012

Cheryl at the desk is friendly and really seems to enjoy her job. She was well informed and helpful. The unit is comfortable and clean. The food and the restaurant is very good and reasonably priced. I give this resort a 4 only because the pool was not open.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2012

We rented a 2 Br 2 ba condo and had plenty of space for 5 people. The only reason I did not give it 5 stars is because the last two nights there was a party on the floor above us, we had trouble sleeping, and could hear everything. Definately try the restaurant on site (Toll Booth Tavern), the clam roll is the BEST! I went back twice for it. Having a washer and dryer in your room was a huge plus! All the furnishings are current, and there is even dishes there. You could cook a dinner for 8 people and not run out of dishes. Yes, there is a dishwasher. No breakfast in the onsite restaurant, you have to go out-( I would recommend Parkers Maple Barn), or cook your own. This place is deceptively called "Crotched Mountain Resort and Spa", but the only spa amenity is the hot tub. No massages here or true spa treatments. There is also some old dilapidated buildings uphill from the condos that are just falling in, and you can't see them in the pictures. I am originally a native of the area, and travelled back to see family. I would recommend Kimball's in Jaffrey for ice cream and hamburgers, Merry Berry in Jaffrey for the best frozen yogurt. Places to see? Cathedral of the Pines in Rindge- It was built as a memorial to a son lost in WWII, the views are awesome, and there is a small museum on site. Pizza Haven in Rindge has good pizza. If your feeling energetic, climb Mt. Monadnock. You'll be sore, but not regret it. Peterborough is also a nice little NE town to spend the day. Visit Peterborough Diner, and spend the day just browsing downtown. Keene is a lot more developed - Lots of little shops downtown there to visit too. We ate at Pappagallo's in Keene. The food was good. I bought a GC on restaurant.com from there. I would go again. The lasagna was huge, 2 people could have shared it.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that has no one above you. A 2 br 2 ba has alot more room to spread out..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank P S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2012

The condo was clean and had all the comforts of home. Plenty of space and decorated nicely.The staff was friendly and attentive. The food and the service was great at the Tavern. Cheryl at the front desk was well informed and very helpful. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would definately return.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GGPBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Francestown
20.4 mi away
Centennial Hotel
Centennial Hotel
#3 of 8 in Concord
347 reviews
22.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Keene Hotel
21.5 mi away
Courtyard Concord
Courtyard Concord
#6 of 8 in Concord
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.7 mi away
Residence Inn Concord
Residence Inn Concord
#2 of 8 in Concord
226 reviews
19.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Concord/Bow
24.3 mi away
Mountain Edge Resort & Spa at Sunapee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crotched Mountain Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crotched Mountain Resort & Spa

Address: 740 2nd Nh Tpke N, Francestown, NH 03043-3003
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Francestown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Francestown
Price Range: $92 - $173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Crotched Mountain Resort & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crotched Mountain Resort is a timeless retreat where once a toll was collected from traveling stagecoaches and wagons located just 60 miles from nearby Boston. 24 spacious one and two bedroom suites are like your home away from home, featuring fully equipped kitchens and fireplaces in the living area. The resort also features an outdoor swimming pool, two Har-Tru clay tennis courts, a community hot tub and casual dining at the on-site restaurant Toll Booth Tavern. Experience the most charming location in New England. Designed to be your own private hideaway, Crotched Mountain Resort is absolutely perfect for romantic getaways, family vacations, ski trips and golf outings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Crotched Mountain Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crotched Mountain Resort And Spa
Crotched Mountain Hotel Francestown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing