We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place in southern NH mountains”

Inn at Crotched Mountain
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Francestown
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Inn at Crotched Mountain
Ranked #1 of 1 Francestown B&B and Inns
Needham, MA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great place in southern NH mountains”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

We spent one night at the Inn and had a very nice time. The rooms were spacious and clean. The hosts were very welcoming and helpful. The view from the outdoor pool is spectacular. The breakfast was very good. It is located in a very quiet, scenic area. Being able to take our dog along was a big bonus.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ARKSLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    4
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
6
19
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

We arrived to a very warm greeting by a bunch of neighbors enjoying cocktails and appetizers in the sitting area and bar. It was 730 pm on a Saturday night and as we were told things wrap up at 8 pm we really only expected to get a few scraps of food and maybe a drink. On the contrary we sat down and chatted with the ever- so- friendly owner and his neighbors for about two hours. There was a turkey chilli, veggie pizza, a veggie platter and spicy chicken triangles.

The room was fairly simply furnished, but cozy and clean. The property was beautiful with great views even from our first floor room.

The most impressive aspect of our stay was the service. We received such a warm welcome and the owners were very accommodating to a few special requests. Additionally we received great driving directions to local sights and hikes.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elaughlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

My husband and I have been visiting this resort now for five years on our anniversary....quiet, peaceful and pleasant ! The ENTIRE staff are so accommodating and so very pleasant that we have come to know some of them by name.....makes us feel at home and always welcomed. Rooms are very clean and comfortable! New makeovers are LOVELY ! This is where WE will be staying on our "little vacation" from now on....so glad we found it...wouldn't go anywhere else! Can't wait to get their for New Year's !!

Room Tip: Any room you choose is going to be PERFECT for you!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, GA
Level Contributor
55 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012

Spent only one night at Inn at Crotched Mountrain. Pluses included: 1) Good location with long-distance views. 2) Nice swimming pool 3) Pleasant and helpful innkeeper. Negatives included:
1) Very small and spartan room and public areas. 2) Remote situation...nearby village of Francestown only had a few houses and nothing else. 3) Nearest restaurant for dinner many miles away. Overall, an average experience.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pollydick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Golden, Colorado
Level Contributor
104 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2012

Discover a quiet wonderful New Hampshire inn - with a view that goes for miles. This inn is is not only a pleasure to experience, but solid, in good working order, and comfortable (including the bed). The owner, John, is super competent - an excellent cook (breakfast), beautiful gardens and spacious lawns, a swimming pool perfectly located to see for miles, plus two clay tennis courts. Coffee is ready at 6:00 a.m.; breakfast is between 8 and 9 a.m.

This Inn is in the middle of the country (trees and meadows) away up on a substantial hill, yet with access to a great well-mailntained beautiful country golf course (<10-minute drive), fine country dining at several locations within twenty minutes, plus swimming at Purgatory Falls (<30-min drive, plus a 15-min easy hike on a good trail; best in late spring or early sumer). Despite having 13 excellent rooms, the inn is quiet. John's marketing efforts (he appears to be the owner) appear to be minimal. Do not be turned off by John's abrupt manner; he runs a first-class establishment, means well, and beneath his somewhat gruff exterior is super friendly.

The nearby Hancock Inn serves an excellent dinner. The golf club does a fine job for both lunch and dinner. The internet WiFi (no charge) is responsive. Our three-night stay was thus a class act. John know the area, and goes out of his way to clearly answer questions, including drawings and concise directions

Best Day: A slow relaxing breakfast, bag a lunch at Wilton, swim at Purgatory Falls (just east of Wilton), drive to Peterborough, browse at bookstore (0n School Street), a quick nap in the shade at the adjacent park next to the river, dinner adjacent at the Waterhouse Restaurant (riverside table; fine dining), an evening show at the Peterborough Players playhouse, then return the The Inn at Crotchet Mountain via the Hancock Inn in Hancock, where we stopped for a nightcap.

Enjoy,
Paul and Jeannie

Room Tip: You and your gal... Go for room #7 (ground floor). Mom and Dad with kids... Go for rooms #8 and 9 (g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pqueneau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2012

Our room was lovely and clean. The owner is a great host, and excellent bartender. We met local folks in the tavern and had interesting conversations about the area. It is very convenient to the mountain. Our dog was welcome and that meant a lot.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jib2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2011

Before we booked our reservation, I read the reviews - all but one of rated the Inn as excellent. I was struck by the one from JReid74, whose a rude and intentionally damaging tirade described her stay as "horrific." Our experience was quite different. We arrived just after Hurricane Irene had knocked out power to much region. The Inn at Crotched Mountain had a generator, but the pump for their well was not working properly, so before we arrived, our hosts and thoughtfully arranged for us to stay at another inn nearby. Fortunately, the next day we were able to return to Crotched Mountain and had a wonderful stay. We found the hosts to be charming and gracious, and the food the prepared was delicious. The buildings, grounds and scenery were if anything, even more picturesque than the photos on the website. I especially enjoyed the spring-fed solar-heated pool with its view of the distant mountains - and couldn't help chuckling about how the spoiled damsel who wrote that review had been upset that there was a bug or two in an outdoor pool!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Francestown
0.9 mi away
Crotched Mountain Resort & Spa
9.4 mi away
Jack Daniels Motor Inn
Jack Daniels Motor Inn
#1 of 1 in Peterborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
6.4 mi away
Hancock Inn
Hancock Inn
#1 of 1 in Hancock
5.0 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.6 mi away
Benjamin Prescott Inn
Benjamin Prescott Inn
#1 of 4 in Jaffrey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
4.0 mi away
Greenfield Inn
Greenfield Inn
#1 of 1 in Greenfield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
10.0 mi away
Little River Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Crotched Mountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Crotched Mountain

Property: Inn at Crotched Mountain
Address: 534 Mountain Rd, Francestown, NH 03043-3913
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Francestown
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Francestown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 13

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing