We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing Staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Fitzwilliam Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fitzwilliam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Fitzwilliam Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Fitzwilliam B&B and Inns
Fitzwilliam, New Hampshire
1 review
“Amazing Staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2014

We spent the weekend there for our honeymoon. Shelley and Dave went above and beyond to make our stay special. The food was delicious! There was an Irish band there on Saturday and we had so much fun. The place was clean and comfortable, the atmosphere is very cozy. I highly recommend going to the inn to sleep, eat or be entertained!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Natasha K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    7
    1
    1
    2
See reviews for
11
26
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2014

We stayed here October of 2013 and have an upcoming visit planned for February. The new owners have done a wonderful job or bringing back the charm of an Old World Inn. The staff is very friendly. The Inn offers home cooked meals that are above expectations. The Inn offers a restaurant, pub, and live entertainment. The accommodations were clean, homey, spacious, and inviting. I highly recommend The Fitzwilliam Inn and all the charm if has to offer.

Room Tip: ..note that the only negative comment was from a visit prior to the new owners!!.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

We stopped by on a snowy night and enjoyed some wood-stove pizza and local beers. The pizza was excellent and the beers flowed. The building has great charm, as does the whole little town. Next time we're passing through we'll surely stop by.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TedP82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, MA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

Although we live in MA, we spend much of the summer in the Monadnock region of NH. This inn was always a wonderful destination for family meals, celebrations, and putting up guests. But the inn passed through some marginal years with a series of owners that just didn't understand what the inn was all about or were in over their heads. Now we are blessed with couple from Fitzwilliam who are reinvigorating the place and doing a fabulous job. Gone are the shabby furniture, bizarre entrance, lousy food, and confused and/or absent management. Shelly and Dave are doing a great job and they only just opened. They are an incredibly dedicated couple - dedicated to giving their guests a wonderful welcome and dedicated to having the inn be a an active member of the community. The restaurant is still working out its staffing and menu but already there has been wonderful things coming out of the kitchen.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DottoC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

We thought we were booking a room at a quiet country inn. Wow, were we wrong. From their website: "Fitzwilliam Village has changed little over the last 150 years, allowing our inn to accommodate visitors from around the world for an authentic antiquated experience." Imagine our surprise when there was an all night rock concert directly under our room. No, it was not on their calendar. We had no idea, and were not told when we reserved the room. We also had dinner in their restaurant, which was convenient in the pouring rain that day so we didn't need to go out, but it is mediocre at best. When I asked the management about the rock concert under our feet we were offered ... ear plugs. "There's nothing I can do", said the owner. No attempt at accommodation, no sympathy, just Sorry, too bad, tough. Needless to say we will never go back.

Room Tip: The rooms here have no amenities - not even a box of kleenex. They expect you to use toilet paper I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mskarky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marchellet2014, Owner at The Fitzwilliam Inn, responded to this review, February 1, 2014
So sorry for your less than satisfactory experience here. Please know that the Inn is under new ownership since August of 2013. We have made many changes and hope you will give it another try. We look forward to accommodating you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamaica Plain, MA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

The Fitzwilliam Inn is a beautiful old Inn from the early 1800s. The common areas are charming and beautiful, with exposed beams and a fireplace in the restaurant that are lovely. Really amazing and beautiful.
We arrived to an odd service interaction...no one was at the front desk, or in the building that we could see, so we peeked around a bit until we could find someone to check us in. The staff is young and kind, but seemed to handle things without any routine. Everything was fine (we got the wireless password and checkout time, and breakfast time). There was also no one at the front desk when we checked out. I got the impression that there isn't always someone in the building in charge of it, which is concerning!
The room was very nicely decorated and clean, although the floor slanted (understandable because its a really old building), it had three nice big windows and a couch.
Breakfast was DELICIOUS, but small quantities of everything ran out quickly.
I gave 4 stars because it is such a beautiful, historic, and clean place that was the value I would expect from the price, not 5 because there was an odd feeling with no staff around!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Maria F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marchellet2014, Owner at The Fitzwilliam Inn, responded to this review, February 1, 2014
Thank you for your review and compliments on our Inn. Please know that the Inn has changed hands since your stay and is now fully staffed and eager to accommodate you with fine service and ample breakfast fare. We hope you check us out again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

We had a function in Troy, NH and decided to spend the night at the Fitzwilliam Inn. We knew it was under new management, but were not prepared for the total lack of service. When I went to check in, it took about 5 minutes of yelling "hello" before anyone came out to acknowledge my presence. After a courteous check-in, there was not much interaction. When asked, I was told breakfast was from 8-10 in the morning.

The room was very clean, but there was no shampoo, conditioner, soap or hair dryer (there were 2 small pieces of soap in a dish at the sink). It also took a really long time to get hot water in the bathroom.

We came down for breakfast at 8 in the morning, and again no one was around. We had to find the kitchen and knock on the door. A few items were brought out by a young lady about 10 minutes later, but there was no greeting or explanation as to what to do or what to expect. About 15 minutes later, more food items were brought out and the person left without saying a word - there were now two other couples also waiting at tables in the parlor. We finally figured out that what we saw is what we got. The food was actually delicious - peach cobbler (no serving utensil), home made bread, peanut butter, jam, granola, milk, yogurt, hard boiled eggs and fruit. The coffee was also delicious but when it ran out, no one came to replenish it.

At check out, there was no one around so we just left our key at the desk, as did the couple that left before us.

It seems like a strange way to do business not to interact at all with people that are staying at the Inn.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank sistertwo52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marchellet2014, Owner at The Fitzwilliam Inn, responded to this review, February 1, 2014
Thank you for your candid review. Please know that the Inn has been under new management since August of 2013 and many things have changed. We now have friendly full-time staff. Our rooms are stocked with high-quality organic amenities including shampoo, conditioner, soap, body wash and moisturizer, and each room has hair dryers, kleenex and top-quality linens.
Our breakfast is bountiful, wholesome and served by our attentive staff. We look forward to accommodating you in the future and hope you'll give us another try!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fitzwilliam
12.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Keene Downtown
12.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Keene Hotel
8.2 mi away
Benjamin Prescott Inn
Benjamin Prescott Inn
#1 of 4 in Jaffrey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Monadnock Inn
Monadnock Inn
#2 of 4 in Jaffrey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
15.7 mi away
Hancock Inn
Hancock Inn
#1 of 1 in Hancock
5.0 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
12.4 mi away
Jack Daniels Motor Inn
Jack Daniels Motor Inn
#1 of 1 in Peterborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fitzwilliam Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fitzwilliam Inn

Property: The Fitzwilliam Inn
Address: 62 Nh Route 119 W, Fitzwilliam, NH 03447-3321
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Fitzwilliam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Fitzwilliam
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fitzwilliam Inn is nestled on the Historic Common in charming Fitzwilliam,New Hampshire. An Inn since 1796, it offers fine accommodations, great food and spirits, and lively entertainment. Conveniently located in the Monadnock region of southern New Hampshire, the Inn is two hours from Boston and five hours from New York City, making it the perfect spot for an enjoyable weekend of antiquing or a romantic getaway. Breakfast consisting of homemade specialties included in room rate.Function parlor available for small parties. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing