We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Two fantastic sandwiches”

Green Bean On Water
Ranked #2 of 49 Restaurants in Exeter
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Soups, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Brunswick, Maine
Level Contributor
227 reviews
166 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Two fantastic sandwiches”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2012

Comfortable location, good selection, outstandingly professional and cordial staff, we were happy to have lunch here today.
Our selections were the turkey cobb wrap and turkey club. The bread and ingredients were well prepared and cleverly assembled.The iced tea of grand flavour and the cashier a gem of an individual.
Press on, if in Exeter we shall return.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Keydet72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    61
    18
    6
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Marina Magic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2012

Green Bean now has an open to the public dockside restaurant at the Wentworth Marina in Newcastle (Portsmouth NH)

The setting is in an open pavillion. You order from the counter. I began with a summery chilled strawberry soup. Refreshing. Tuna salad sandwch on multigrained bread was fresh and served promptly.

You dine overlooking the Marina and the etraordinary collection of yachts and yes mega yachts.

Beer and wine available

Resaonable priced as well.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HMGT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, MA
Level Contributor
42 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Soup and Sandwich Shop”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

Soups (usually at least four, including vegetarian and non-dairy), salads, and sandwiches. Nice variety of sandwiches. Very, very good and fresh. Not as many bread varieties as they used to have, but always several, always good. They do half sandwiches. Can be crowded. Recently redone the indoor seating. A few tables have a view of the river behind the restaurant. The cookies are excellent!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank zathras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Crosse, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
286 reviews
164 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Good food, nice view”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2012

Had breakfast here, thought the menu provided enough options for everyone. I had the Greek omlet which had just the right amount of feta and other add ins. The place was quiet as they had just opened. Prices seemed fair. The view of the river below was great in the morning. Overall, not a bad place to catch breakfast. Have not had lunch here, but can see it being busy. Outdoor seating was available as well.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nursetraveler87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
156 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“Great breakfast, nice staff, average lunch...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2012

I ate here twice, once for breakfast, once for lunch.

Breakfast was really good!! I had some type of mexican scrambled thing, which consisted of scrambled eggs, cheese, black beans, tomatoes, cilantro, potatoes and I'm sure some other stuff. Anyway, no matter what was in that, it was fresh and very tasty. Also had a side of bacon, which was good - but it's totally hard to screw up bacon, so take that for whatever it's worth.

I was so impressed with breakfast that I went back for lunch the next day. Lunch was so-so. I had a really good grilled cheese with ham and tomatoes - again, fresh ingredients and very flavorful. Since I was in New England, I opted for the New England Clam Chowder. That stuff was not so good - too much sage (didn't know sage was in clam chowder, learn something new everyday), very small potatoes, and just an overall funky taste. If that's authentic New England Clam Chowder, then I'm going to see what the chowder in Manhattan is like.

The location was great, in the heart of Exeter's downtown and on the river.

The staff were also great. They seemed like a fun, hard-working bunch. I've found over the years that you usually reap what you sow. Be nice and it usually comes back to you. When I'm in the area again, I'll definitely eat there.

The only reason I didn't give them the highest rating was due to that chowder - I'm sorry, "chowdah" for those New Englanders.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank TrentFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Green Bean On Water? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing