We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious diner”
Review of Steve's Diner

Steve's Diner
Ranked #17 of 49 Restaurants in Exeter
Restaurant details
New York
Level Contributor
269 reviews
213 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Delicious diner”
Reviewed August 8, 2014 via mobile

Stopped here for breakfast on the advice of the front desk at the Hampton Inn. Really good breakfast. I had an omelet with vegetables and cheese and a dish of beans. The waitress was really nice too!

Helpful?
Thank Tileman1213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    20
    11
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boston - Mass.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“If it owned by a Greek, it is the crucible of quality”
Reviewed July 21, 2014

The only reason this is not a five star rating is because you do not go that high in restaurants which do not serve Dinner. Steve's is open only for Breakfast and Lunch. Some of the other comments I read with anything unkind were obvious people who judge by one sitting and are obviously not big travelers.

I am from a heavy Greek populated town, and we had an expression: "When two Greeks get together,they open a restaurant." I found Steve's restaurant having great quality in the meal I had, as well as exceptional value! Also, since I had lunch, I walked around a few tables to look at the Breakfasts, and defy anyone who made a derogatory remark on breakfast to look around as they no doubt ordered 2 eggs and toast. The breakfasts I saw were the most unique I have seen and drive from Hampton to Exeter to breakfast here now! (10 Miles). Kudos to Steve (Stavros to be correct) on having one great Breakfast and Lunch place!! We could use him for Dinner someday, too!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MichaelMentor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
269 reviews
163 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Just ok ... and a bit disappointing”
Reviewed May 6, 2014

I wanted to like this, but have to admit that we were disappointed. Even though there were very few other patrons in the restaurant, our breakfast was lukewarm by the time it was served to us. Not so good! We prefer our eggs and pancakes to be piping hot. It's more understandable if the restaurant was packed and the servers were stretched, but this was not the case yesterday morning. Next time, I'll just have the buffet at our hotel. The only good point is that the portions were generous.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank swannygal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton
Level Contributor
236 reviews
208 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Decent diner in a great little town”
Reviewed April 9, 2014

Stopped in at Steve's while visiting Exeter. I think it is the only diner in this small upscale town. Had breakfast along with a lot of other folks. A little noisy but who cares, it shows the place is popular. My eggs, bacon and home fries were fine. My wife's breakfast sandwich and my son's waffle with strawberries were fine also. Coffee great. Service fast and friendly. It is typical diner food in a typical American diner like you find all across the country. Not gourmet but then again, not gourmet pricing.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank miltonman196
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biddeford, Maine
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent breakfast and service.”
Reviewed December 26, 2013 via mobile

Quite a surprise in the town of Exeter N.H.. Wonderful little diner with pleasant staff and fast service.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dobsob207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Steve's Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing