We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great find” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Loaf & Ladle - CLOSED

Loaf & Ladle
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: American, Soups
Dining options: Lunch, Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Seating
North Reading, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
41 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great find”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

Sandwiches made to order with fresh baked bread. I had the chicken salad sandwich and tomato blue cheese soup. You can order whole or half sandwiches, and bowl or cup of soup. They also have a salad bar and desserts. Food was very fresh and light.

We arrived with a large group of 20 people and the service was fast and friendly. Looks like a whole in the wall, but lots of seating inside, nothing special but clean. It was a beautiful day so we took advantage of the outside seating.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank grdn33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    15
    11
    8
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Punta Gorda, Florida
Level Contributor
312 reviews
147 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
“Get the soup and bread lunch.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

My favorite is the chili soup. There are many choices made fresh everyday. With each soup you get your choice of a slice of homemade bread. Then you get to choose a seat inside or outside with a view of the river. You can't go wrong.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Hobomonty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
196 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 425 helpful votes
“Chili-fest!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

All that I can say is that they have the best chili! Try it! You won't be disappointed. You'll love the old, wooden floors that creak as you walk. Great atmosphere.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Bills_Journal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
83 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“great sandwitches”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

and soups and stuff I love the decor and the view overlooking the water, old time feel rustic I love it

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Matthew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epping, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
41 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Phenomenal soups and great atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2012

We really enjoy the soups here and go out of our way to visit. There are always several soups to choose from and I haven't had a bad one yet. I highly recommend this restaurant for lunch or dinner. Home cooked food that can't be beat.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank blkcat7160a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Loaf & Ladle also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing