We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Are the cookies that important?”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Exeter
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Exeter
Certificate of Excellence
Lebanon, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
1,331 reviews
163 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 416 helpful votes
“Are the cookies that important?”
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Yes they are! I arrived at 730 and was told the cookies were all gone for the night. Very disappointing. While this was a typical Hampton Inn - with no real negatives - the experience was just not the same. I also was not welcomed with my newspaper in the morning. Plus - the price was quite high. Thus, this is average - whereas I usually rate Hampton's above average.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Morgan2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana S, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Exeter, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Thank you for choosing Hampton Inn & Suites Exeter for your recent stay . I appreciate the time it took for you to post a review. Your feedback is valuable and we will continue to work on making service improvements. I certainly understand how delicious the cookies are and we will strive to make more or figure out how to make the same batch last longer, we like a challenge.
Regards,
Dana Stair
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

617 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    421
    128
    43
    14
    11
See reviews for
249
118
41
152
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Amherst, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
298 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

We have stayed at Hampton Inns all over the country and this is one of the best. The hotel is clean, attractive, comfortable and a good value compared to similar accommodations in the area. We needed a location that was convenient to Portsmouth and Southern Maine and this hotel also met our needs with a quick trip to I-95. The Hampton Inn breakfast is standard but done well here and better than most. What I enjoyed most was a quiet good night's sleep and that was what we got. Our studio suite on the top 4th floor rear was a peaceful oasis.

Room Tip: Top floor rear is quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank merlinslap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana S, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Exeter, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Hi,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I sincerely appreciate the kind words and feedback associated with value. We work hard to keep this property in top shape and hope you will stay with us in the future.
Regards,
Dana Stair
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset NJ
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

We enjoyed our stay in the Exeter hotel very much. The staff was efficient and helpful especially Sarah.The hotel was very clean as always. We found the area to be beautiful and our visit to Portsmouth was great. We enjoyed the hotel and our visit to New Hampshire was wonderful.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Ross M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana S, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Exeter, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Hello,
The entire staff appreciates the kind words and your time for writing a review. I will let Sarah know that she made the headlines for great service. We are lucky to have her and hope you come back to visit soon.
Regards,
Dana Stair
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new hampshire, United States
1 review
Reviewed October 7, 2013

very nice and clean breakfast was awesome it was very quiet and the staff was very nice and rooms are very nice and very clean it was conveinet and close to alot of shops and ect and very easy to find

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Francis F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana S, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Exeter, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Good Evening,
The entire staff appreciates the kind words and your time for writing a review. I will give kudos to the breakfast attendants for a doing such a nice job with the breakfast lineup.
Sincerely,
Dana Stair
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dobbs Ferry, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed October 4, 2013

EXCELLENT! Love the hotel, the staff are great, very professional, polite and courteous. Great breakfast, and free coffee/tea 24/7. Cant beat the location and the rooms were super clean! I would recommend this hotel to anyone in the area. The value is excellent for the money you pay. In room internet, pool, hot tub, free cookies, etc.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Benjamin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana S, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Exeter, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Hello
Thank you for choosing Hampton Inn & Suites Exeter for your recent stay in Exeter. I appreciate the time it took for you to post a review. It is a pleasure responding to kind reviews like yours, we sincerely appreciate it!
Warm Regards,
Dana Stair
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

This hotel is beautiful, the rooms are spacious, the beds are comfortable, and the breakfast that is included is outstanding. The only complaint I have is we asked for an early check-in because we were attending a wedding that started at 1:00. Since check-in time is 3: when making my reservations I requested an early check-in so I could get dressed for the wedding. I called in the morning of our check-in date to see if we could check-in early and I was told our rooms weren't ready for early check-in because the hotel was sold out. I asked if our rooms, (I had reserved 2) were empty, I was told they were, but that the hotel couldn't promise they would be ready before 3:00. It was evident that whoever was in charge was making no effort to get our rooms ready for early check-in.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Calm_Waters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana S, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Exeter, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear Mr. Waters,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I appreciate your honesty regarding our early check in policy. Our housekeeping staff works really hard to get the rooms turned around quickly and efficiently. I will give the Front Desk some feedback on how to respond to special requests. “It’s our pleasure to accommodate requests but we can’t make guarantees”
Sincerely,
Dana Stair
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raymond, United States
1 review
Reviewed September 28, 2013

One of the best hotels I have stayed at during my 45 years of traveling. The staff was very friendly and quick to meet my requests. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to stay in this area. The rooms were clean, the breakfast offered a wide variety of choices, the entire grounds and areas in the hotel were clean.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Suzanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana S, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Exeter, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Suzanne,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I sincerely appreciate the kind words and feedback associated with value. We work hard to keep this property in top shape and hope you will stay with us in the future.
Regards,
Dana Stair
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Exeter
0.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Portsmouth Exeter
1.0 mi away
Exeter Inn
Exeter Inn
#2 of 3 in Exeter
216 reviews
5.8 mi away
Lamies Inn and The Old Salt Tavern
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Amesbury
6.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hampton South - Seabrook
8.1 mi away
Ashworth by the Sea
Ashworth by the Sea
#4 of 41 in Hampton
879 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Exeter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Exeter

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Exeter
Address: 59 Portsmouth Ave, Exeter, NH 03833-2104
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Exeter
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Exeter
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Exeter 2.5*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exeter's newest hotel is the Hampton Inn & Suites - offering a complimentary hot breakfast daily, HSIA, shuttle service, meeting room, indoor heated pool, fitness center and business center. The hotel staff is passionate about providing extraordinary service from arrival to departure. It is ideally located within walking distance to historic downtown Exeter and Phillips Exeter Academy; 8 miles to Hampton Beach and a twenty minute drive to Portsmouth. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Exeter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Exeter Hotel Exeter
Hampton Inn And Suites Exeter

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing